We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ambience and service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maltese Mama

Maltese Mama
19/21, Paceville Avenue, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
27377024
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 202 restaurants in Saint Julian's
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Ambience and service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Saw that it has great review and popped in. The atmosphere was welcoming and the service providers friendly. When seated, I was given recommendations for the catch of the day. But I was bent on having an authentic Maltese cuisine. So I ordered beef Bragioli and a red wine to accompany it. I felt the red wine was good and value for money. While waiting for my main course, bread and butter was served and to my surprise, a platter of olives, cheese and toasted bread with tomatoes was served. And the waitress said it's complimentary. That certainly had created a huge impression. When the main course finally arrived, it was very neatly presented as well as the side dishes of grilled potatoes and grilled vegetables. I felt that the portion was huge for one person. It's certainly value for your money. Will be back again to try other dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    162
    96
    24
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, ON
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Busy little spot with good food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went to Maltese Mamas on a Friday night and were warned that they were busy so it may take 30 minutes for service so we decided to try it the next night. We came back saturday and were seated right away. We asked about the specials, one of which was fresh red snapper. We both decided to have the snapper along with a bottle of red wine. About a minute later the whole fish was brought out to us to see before it was cooked - I think this was so we were satisfied the freshness of the meal to come. Before the main course came we were provided with some free appetizers consisting of cheese, bread and mashed beans . The snapper was cooked to perfection and the staff outstanding.

I would recommend this place to anybody looking for a quiet restaurant off the beaten path.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Sicilia, Italy
2 reviews
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Maltese Mama is a wonderful little restaurant, a tucked away little gem.
The food was fresh and the service was perfect!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great local family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is not a high-brow place. Instead, it is a family-run restaurant with great food and attentive service. My family tried the local dishes and they were excellent. Reasonable prices, too. The decor is cluttered but homey, with lots of things to look at. Kid-friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“very good food and reasonable price /friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

visited here twice on my 5 day break in Malta, pasta was excellent and I dont normally order pasta outside of italy, my wife had king prawn risotto which tasted fantastic.. as seems to be the case in Malta we were also given complimentary starters consisting of Bruschetta, maltese sausage, goats cheese, olives etc.. basically cant find much to fault.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maltese Mama also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Maltese Mama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maltese Mama, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.