We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bianco's

Bianco's
St. George's Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21 359 865
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Attentive staff, lovely food and a great atmosphere. Right next to the sea, couldn't fault it! There may be better restaurants around particularly at the marina but this is a great place!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    93
    28
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“All round excellent experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Firstly the staff were great (although that's a character trait of most of Malta's people); very genuine and warm. Then the pricing was very reasonable (with a basic pizza at 6euros even small budget's could afford the restaurant experience), especially considering it's location right on the bay.
Then, the ambiance was great; music played was upbeat and at the right volume level which are both good for conversation; the interior was tasteful with stonework and original comtempory artworks; it was well patronised, as who likes sitting in an empty restaurant?; it wasn't too cramped; and had large 'people watching' windows right onto the busy street that's on the bay.
And of course! The food and wine we had were excellent. The basic cheese and tomato pizza, at 6euros, was delicious, large and served well. The rabbit pasta dish was just excellent, rabbit bing a national dish there (but be aware the meat was on the bone) and was yet a cheaper price than other places that were nowhere near as good on taste;The 'light' pizza was without cheese so you had a choice to cut out the heavier fat. They do a range of pasta and pizza... a sea food selection and other meals which we didn't try.
The wine we chose was, again, reasonably priced for a restaurant at 12 euros and was excellent. A fabulous chenin blanc. Especially considering a poor bottle is often sold in England for equivalent of 17euros! It was served chilled, placed in a cooler in holder beside the table, poured to taste and poured fully.
I and my friend went back and would recommend Bianco's.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stotfold
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good food and good service at a reasonable price. Would happily return here again. Try the farmhouse pizza with figs and Maltese sausage - it is very nice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Service let this visit down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is nice inside, the food was good however the service was a big let down. We only required a main course. After 40 minutes the waiter decided the kitchen had lost our order, therefore it took an hour for us to get our meal . On the reorder no side dishes came. Whilst waiting they did present us with a free Brushetta. We asked for a tap water to have with the meal and were told it was no good so a bottle of water was brought. At the end of the meal on the bill the water was charged, this was either€3.50 or €3.90, we disputed this also. Please be careful when ordering water. Such a shame the service was poor as I'm sure this could have been a better review.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Friendly service; good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We found this restaurant on our first night of seven and were so pleased we returned on 4 more occasions. Good selection of food; excellent local wine, topped with good service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bianco's also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Bianco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bianco's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.