We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off by booking direct
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Great choice to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

I don't usually take the time to review the places I stay but this one deserves it. I've been to Malta several times and this was defintely my best hotel experience. It's a great hotel that easily acommedated myself, husband and 2 young children. Facilities are really nice, location is great and the staff was very helpful. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    254
    108
    27
    7
See reviews for
57
302
20
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

Recent reviews seem to sum this hotel up pretty well. Fortunately our experience wasn't nearly as negative those of some previous reviewers. Perhaps they were unfortunate, or maybe the hotel management and its staff are making steady improvements.

We stayed here between 10 and 20 October. Our room (on the sixth floor, large and with a large balcony) was nicely furnished. On arrival there were a few minor problems, but once reported the hotel staff responded immediately. Really excellent service. The room faced the livelier side of Paceville but noise was never a problem. The standard of cleaning in the room iself was good, although the bathroom could have done with a little extra attention (although nothing worth making a big deal over). One issue though, of a potentially more serious nature, related to our balcony doors which were often left unlocked by the housekeeping staff who cleaned the room. This wouldn't have been so bad if the balcony was inaccessible to others. However, on the sixth floor the balcony area is shared with a number of other rooms, with no fence to divide each one. Clearly, leaving a door to a shared balcony unclocked is something of a security risk. We raised this issue the hotel staff on a couple of occasions. Hopefully housekeeping have taken this on board as it would be unfortunate for any guest to discover something missing from their room as a result of the hotel's carelessness.

Fortunately, all our other experences of the hotel were excellent. The breakfast selection was varied and plentiful, the lobby was smart and relaxing and the pool areas (on the roof and in the spa in the basement) were clean and relaxing. Moreover (and notwithstanding the issue with the balcony door) the hotel staff were friendly, attentive and very helpful.

On balance we would certainly return to this very good hotel in a lovely part of Malta.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

If you like to try nice new modern hotels, then this one is probably for you.

The George Boutique Hotel is located on Paceville Avenue - just a short walk from the lively nightlife of St Julians (and if you have visited this part of St Julians before, you will know how lively it can get at night).

We found a good deal on Octopus Travel's website (although I believe Thomson are also featuring it from next summer). We booked a 'Courtyard Room' for our weekend in Malta. The taxi driver from the airport knew it was 'the new one' in St Julians, and he dopped us off oustide a lovely modern building, and we entered a a big, shiny reception area and were immediately welcomed 'To The George'.

Our air-conditioned room was located on the first floor; it was really quite large with an enormous comfortable bed with a memory foam matress & soft sheets. Free electronic safe in the room! The room had ample wardrobe space & drawers, a large LCD TV with a selection of UK/European channels & pay movies. Being the cheapest 'Courtyard' room, our large window overlooked an atrium-type feature which had some natural daylight but never any sunshine due to its position. Strangely, this also provided natural insulation from the hustle & buslte of the area at night, so we got a decent night sleep as well. Other more expensive rooms had balconies overlooking either Paceville Avenue or Ball St.

The hotel has a lovely rooftop pool & terrace (pool towels are free from reception). We also used the heated indoor pool & jacuzzi in the spa area, open all day. The sauna & steam room are freely available from 4.30 to 8.30pm.

We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant facilities - but it all looked very nice.

The only criticism was with the bathroom. It was large & airy - nice soaps & shampoo etc. - but there was no light over the mirror which made shaving difficult, and the shower was slow to drain which meant a 10 minute gap between the two of us being able to freshen up. I reported this to reception at check-out and they logged it for the maintenance guys to investigate. I am sure the hotel will fix these kinds of niggles in teh course of time.

Overall, we were really impressed and will definitely stay here again. There are plenty of bars & restaurants nearby - one nearby bar/restaurant complex was open 24 hours, so you will not be stuck for somewhere to eat or drink even if you arrive late at night.

Hope this helps you make a decision!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

We organised our incentive together with Hotel The George and included all the aspects such as the total package Food and Beverages, the excursions and a Sailingtrip. We stayed in The George for 5 days with a large group and everything was taken care off. Especially the extra service at the poolterrace, friendly personel and the extra attention we received was very good. All 70 ladies will recommend this hotel! We would like to thank The George again for the total organisation and good service of our group. We hope we can make a reservation to a sister-hotel of The George in 5 years.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

We stayed seven (7) nights at The George Hotel in mid-September 2010. We selected this hotel after much consideration based upon the TripAdvisor, location and price. Comments as follows:

AIRPORT PICKUP:

- We selected an airport pickup transfer on our online booking and the driver was at the airport as expected. Unfortunately, the driver was not friendly as he did not utter a single word to us until asking about payment upon final arrival to the hotel. Maybe this is because the hotel contracts this service out to another company? He was not a hotel employee.

HOTEL FIRST IMPRESSION & CHECK-IN:

- The hotel lobby is nice and new with all new furnishings and décor of a modern, boutique hotel. It’s very spacious and the style is very pleasing to the eye.
- Check-in was quick and efficient. Ms. Csilla was pleasant and welcoming which was nice. The following morning, we received helpful information from a friendly gentleman working as the concierge. Professional and courteous service received.

HOTEL CASH / CREDIT DEPOSIT SYSTEM:

- It was not mentioned anywhere in our booking / confirmation (nor anywhere on the hotel website at the time of booking) but we were informed upon check-in that there is a €15 per day “deposit” to be paid upon check-in to cover extra expenses incurred during the stay (drinks at the bar, snacks from the snack room, etc).
- Payment may be made either by: (1) payment of cash up front - or - (2) charge on your credit card. Thus, for 7 nights, we were obliged to pay up front an additional €100.
- At the end of stay, the hotel either deducts what amount is left over or you pay any additional amounts upon check-out.
- We were surprised by this system and opted to pay the deposit in cash up front (with cash to be refunded at the end) since issuance of credit by credit card is not always guaranteed or timely. Better to be safe than sorry.

BEDROOM and AMENITIES:

- Our bedroom was on the 3rd floor and facing the interior so not much natural sunlight in the room unfortunately.
- The bed was large and soft and was very comfortable to sleep in. There was a sofa, a chair, a mini-fridge, a large safe (big enough for an iPad, laptop, netbook) and plenty of closet space and storage space for luggages, suitcases, etc.
- The bathroom was clean and modern, with a hairdryer and a very nice walk-in shower. It’s big enough for two!
- Oddly enough, there were no bedside table lamps so you cannot read in bed.
- Air con system was efficient and worked well though there was no remote control as typically provided by hotels which would have been helpful.
- The telephone system does not come with much instruction, no telephone extension for maid service or housekeeping or even an extension to call the front desk. This would have been useful.
- Only shower gel is provided for hand washing, but no hand soap. Hand soap would have been nice, as well as a box of Kleenex tissues. (There is combination shampoo + body soap provided for in the shower though.)

TV SYSTEM:

- The TV system is rather complicated and not very “user friendly” nor very intuitive. Every time you turn it on, you must select a TV entertainment package (which includes TV, movies, and internet) either for the next 24 hours or for a week. This is a bit cumbersome.
- Although at the start of our stay, the TV entertainment package was free of charge, we noticed that beginning on our 3rd day, the hotel had implemented some changes to their TV offering and prices charged henceforth. Here are new charges as follows:
* €15 per day for full TV, internet and movies; OR
* € 9 per day for TV only; OR
* €50 per week for everything; OR
* No charge to view 8 “free” channels. Note that only BBC World News is the only English free channel (the other “free” channels were EuroNews in Arabic, Al Jazeera Children in Arabic, Chinese news channel, etc.)

BREAKFAST:

- We did not opt for a breakfast to be included in our stay so we have no opinion as to the quality of the breakfast. There are plenty of breakfast options near the hotel and with a fridge in the room; it was easy to self-cater (the Arkadia food market around the corner). Breakfast at the hotel costs €15 per person if you do not reserve / pay in advance and €12 per person if you reserve / pay in advance for one week.

POOLS, SAUNA, STEAM ROOM, JACUZZI (INDOOR & OUTDOOR) and ANNOYING TOWEL SYSTEM:

- The pools (unheated) are quite nice and refreshing to enjoy after a long day sightseeing. There are amenities like showers, changing rooms, restrooms, etc. located both the rooftop pool and in the basement pool areas.
- Lots of sun and deck loungers available which was nice.
- Note that the basement room area including Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room are only open from 16:00 onwards.
- The sauna and steam room in the basement pool area are nice as well though they run on timers so you must turn them on and keep them on manually for the duration of usage. - There were no instructions provided for the steam and sauna rooms, these would be helpful for guests.
- The towels for the pools are provided free of charge but you must request them from the lobby and after usage, you must return them back to the lobby. If you do not return them straight to the lobby, you will be charged accordingly.
- This towel system is very inconvenient; we ended just using our own towels instead of having to go up and down to fetch and return towels all the time.
- The hotel should have a towel attendant on the rooftop pool as well as an attendant working in the basement pool area to provide towels for the guests.
- After all, if they can have an employee on the rooftop to sell ice cream, surely they can have an employee give out towels at the same time without requiring guests to go back and forth to and from the lobby.

HOTEL CHARGES:

- It is useful to keep a ledger or expense log of the food and drinks you charge to your room because the hotel employees do NOT always have you sign for charges like a drink at the bar or a bottle of water or can of beer from the snack area for example. You do not always get a receipt.
- The hotel bar needs to have a menu of drinks as well as price list. We ordered a double espresso and a cup of tea on two occasions and on both occasions, the total price was different (only by one or two Euros but nevertheless.) Maybe this is due to changes in coffee and tea prices (?) from one day to the next but this is not appropriate. At a minimum, prices for such drinks like coffee and tea should be consistent and clearly indicated.
- It is also recommended that when requesting towels from the lobby and upon return, make sure the employee duly records that you have returned your pool towels to the lobby.

INTERNET ACCESS

- There is no Wi-Fi access in the bedrooms and for a new hotel, this is a surprise. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby and it is stable and the signal is strong so bring your iPads, iPods, iPhones, netbooks, etc.
- There are also 4 or so computers in the lobby that are free for guests to use but there are no “courtesy policy” for use of the hotel computers so you may end up having to wait.
- We noticed that the Russian guests in particular tended to monopolize the computers for lengthy periods of time, even “holding” a computer for others while the absent friends were busy elsewhere in the hotel. This occurred even though it was clear that other hotel guests were standing by politely and patiently waiting.

IDEAL HOTEL LOCATION

- The hotel is ideally located, with the post office and bank at the corner (a mere 10 second walk) and plenty of restaurants, food shops, bars, souvenir shops, pharmacy, dive centers, etc. all located within easy walking distance. Bus stops are within easy walking distance as well.

LOCAL RECOMMENDATIONS:

- Pastizzerias: located all over Malta and Gozo and the place to get hot snacks like meat pies, flaky savory pastries, drinks, etc. Very cheap and very tasty!
- Il Rokna Restaurant: delicious and reasonably priced Italian and Maltese food with great service.
- Arkadia Food Market: across from Il Rokna for self-catering needs.
- Zest Restaurant: excellent Asian and Mediterranean fusion cuisine.
- The Gozitan: traditional Maltese cuisine.
- Divewise at the Westin: thanks to Vivienne, Howard, Jacqui, Fran and the whole Divewise team for excellent diving in Malta!

HOTEL PLUSES:

+ Ideal location, close to all necessities and public transport
+ Quiet and peaceful for relaxing stay
+ Indoor and outdoor pools, sauna, steam room
+ Pleasant and welcoming staff
+ Tastefully appointed, nice new furnishings and nice décor throughout the hotel
+ Reasonable room rates and comfortable rooms with good amenities

HOTEL MINUSES & SUGGESTIONS FOR IMPROVEMENT:

- Include bedroom tableside lamps in the rooms
- Include a remote control for the air con system
- Simplify the TV entertainment system and provide more channels for free in English.
- Include privacy window shades / drapes so you can allow some natural light inside the room during the day (otherwise, closing the main drapes cloaks the room in total darkness)
- Include some hand soap and a box of tissues in the bathroom
- Improve the pool towel system for guests so they don’t have to run back and forth to and from the lobby
- Improve the hotel charge system for guests
- Include drink menus at the bar so guests know exactly what the correct price should be for drinks and ensure that the pricing is consistent from day to day
- Provide free Wi-Fi for guests in hotel rooms
- Provide a hotel welcome sheet or welcome booklet in the rooms with telephone instructions as well as extensions for housekeeping, front desk, management, etc.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at The George Hotel and would stay there again and recommend it to our friends and family in the hopes that it improves its service and hotel processes and procedures for the future. We realize that it is a new hotel and that there’s room to grow and improve and we sincerely hope that it continues to get even better and better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

The George was a great place to stay. A good location in the heart of St Julian's, moments from the nice restaurants by the harbour and the more lively 'strip' of bars and clubs. The hotel itself was very nicely presented, and some of the staff were amazing, so helpful and friendly (especially Josef)! The roof-top pool was beautiful - great views to the sea and all around the city. Easy drive out of town to lots of nice beaches too. Gozo is particularly lovely as it is not built up in the same way parts of Malta are. Our room was nice, very clean and the cleaning staff were exceptionally prompt every day. There were a couple of teeny problems - the shower was blocked on the first day (but fixed immediately) and there was no ventilation in the bathroom which made drying swim stuff a bit difficult. However we were in a courtyard room, most of the other rooms had nice balconies - definitely worth a few pounds more a night to stay in one.
All in all a great place to holiday!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#7 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Julian's
#11 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, T4B, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.