We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Split feelings!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The George Hotel to your Saves list
The George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free WI-Fi offer
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Split feelings!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

For the most part this was a very good place to stay, with just a couple of downsides which may or may not be forgiven!
To start with the cons:
- €12 for a breakfast that doesn't have properly cooked scrambled eggs was not good value.
- as much as the concierge tried to help us, they weren't helpful. We asked one about booking a trip and he wasn't sure where we wanted to go to. It was simply a day trip to Gozo....so we walked up the street to the sightseeing company and did it that way. Also, we asked them to call a restaurant to see about booking a table...didn't hear a thing back so we had to call and use cell phone charges.
- we had ants in the room on the final day. I'm unsure if this was from the outside patio of our room or not, so I don't want to put this as a headline as such.
- our room safe wasn't working. Not that this made any difference in the end!
- I visited the indoor pool late afternoon and although there were only 2 people in there, all 10 of the loungers had used towels on. I would have thought these should be removed if people leave?

Pros:
- Upon upgrading the room, we were given a complimentary bottle of Moët. Can't complain about that right?!
- room was really nice with a good outside private deck area (just was a bit windy to use all the time!)
- location was fantastic to get to a lot of places - yes, there was a bit of street noise but being from a city that didn't bother us at al.
- very modern surroundings and nice facilities in general!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George and we are glad that you had a good stay with us.

We have taken note about your comments and indeed believe that they are constructive and will help us improve our service levels.

If you are ever returning to Malta, please contact me directly at ma@thegeorgemalta.com, we would ensure your next stay is an even better one.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    232
    96
    24
    7
See reviews for
50
280
16
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Bay, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A friend suggested this hotel to my boyfriend for our trip to Malta and we fell in love with the place. The room was large, clean, and with good water pressure. We had a room facing the street and the noise level was acceptable considering the location. After a day sightseeing around the island we looked forward to relaxing by the pool and enjoyed the free Wi-Fi. The staff are very pleasant and go the extra mile to help out when needed. The only negative thing I have to say is not about the hotel but about the public transport in Malta that made us hire a car to get around. Thank you for the peaceful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi Rachel,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The George.

We really do try our very best and our staff will be equally happy with your comments.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

I stayed here for a couple of days recently on a business trip. It is a very pleasant hotel, but as others write, the staff are what make the difference here. Basics are all there - clean, very spacious comfortable rooms, free wifi in the lobby area, I had ample amenities in my bathroom etc etc. The staff, with no exceptions, were very professional, cheerful and willing to help. It is a 4* with 5* service. I did an event and it went very well, from the booking of it to the conclusion. Very stress free and very relaxed indeed. A few other things I really did like - the slippers which were proper flipflops, the TV which had a very easy to use control, the 2 bars of soap, the coffee. I think it is a very good business hotel and depending on what one wants from a holiday, it could be an ideal place for holidays, although the sea is not outside the front door. We really enjoyed ourselves and a very big thankyou to all involved, both with our event and our stay. I am sure we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

The George hotel staff is what distinguishes it among many other hotels not only in Malta. My boyfriend and I celebrated both birthdays during our stay in Malta and the staff of the George hotel did their utmost to assist each of us to surprise the other one while keeping the secret. Special thanks to Antoine, the hotel Operation's Manager who personally went to buy and procure a surprise gift for my boyfriend on my behalf on an Easter Monday morning!
The hotel enjoys perfect location and accessibility, the rooms are light and very spacious. Housekeeping service is impeccable, whereas the waiters in the hotel bars and breakfast facilities could not be more helpful and friendly, treating every guest with a smile and personal approach.
Overall, we greatly enjoyed our time in The George hotel. If again in Malta, that would be a no-brainer choice!

Room Tip: The higher the room the better due to the lively nightlife in St.Julian
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The St George is a nice enough hotel, however we found the service to be slow and at times the staff didn't seem to care. Although there are managers walking around, however they don't seem to pay attention to detail. The reception staff are switched on, BUT there are certain points that we didn't appreciate. The TV channels are poor unless you pay to get some decent ones, the bed mattress was not very comfortable, they over charge for wife, in fact a rip off. So we had Molton brown toiletries. The food in the restaurants was ok can't complain, however I wouldn't rave either. All in all a good week. We may return??

Room Tip: Go for a corner Suite, and be cautious they hit you hard with wifi charges!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I was very excited about this hotel. But I was soon disappointed as the bed clothes were dirty. They were not changed during our 4 day visit. Also, the room was very hot with central heating and we couldn't sleep with the amount of noise there was coming from Paceville. You have to pay for the TV and the wifi did not work at most of the time and when it worked it was very slow. I wouldn't recommend this hotel at all considering the price you have to pay. Its expensive and definitely not worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thanks for taking your time in reviewing The George. We are very unhappy we your experience at The George and would like to reassure you that we always do our very best to exceed our guest expectations.

We do have free TV channels in the hotel, however we also have a PAY TV option and this was probably not explained to you in a proper manner. We also offer free wi-fi in all our public areas and extend this service to all guests who book directly with the hotel.

As regards to linen changes , we change our bed linen every 2 days , we do however change daily upon request.

If you would like to contact me directly, please do so at ma@thegeorgemalta.com.

Regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We Stayed in The George for one week early in March. We found the location useful for busses, restaurants and parking the car we had hired (car-park in basement, at the cost of about £50 for the week). However, the area is noisy, even in low tourist season. The rooms are clean and of a very good size. The beds were likewise large and comfortable. The breakfast was fresh, varied and nicely presented. My only complaint would be the Coffee-machine.(Tiny cups of coffee, only one machine, so queues formed.) We found the staff friendly and helpful. We had booked in for B and B only and were very glad that was the case, as we tried COMPARUCCI RISTORANTE (in the hotel) once- and were glad we did not have to return. Neither the food, nor the service was up to standard. However, the neighbourhood has several excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the further you are from the street-noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmMT, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hi Anne,

Thanks for taking time in reviewing The George. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and as you correctly noted , we are in a very central location and with lots of restaurant and entertainment facilities around . This may at times generate more noise than is expected and in these instances we recommend that our clients ensure that the balcony doors are well closed. Our apertures are well suited to deal with the external noise and all rooms are air conditioned.

We can also confirm that we have added a coffee machine at breakfast to ease the waiting time. We now have various options of Illy coffee for breakfast. If you do have some time please contact me at ma@thegeorgemalta to explain what was not that good at Comparucci as we would be pleased to improve this too.

Kind regards,
Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Triq Paceville Ave, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ3103, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Luxury Hotel in Saint Julian's
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Julian's
#10 Romantic Hotel in Saint Julian's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in the heart of Paceville St.Julians, the foremost entertainment and leisure area on the island. Just a short stroll away from the sandy beach at St.George’s Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Malta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.