We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food speaks volumes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1927

1927
St. George's Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 2135 4361
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 211 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Food speaks volumes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had to wait for a day or so before discovering this wonderful local restaurant. Hidden in at the edge of a local bar with specials on chalk boards it is just what it appears to be - a non-touristy honest locally run place to eat. The menu is very limited with a varied and fresh selection of specials that change daily. The service is good and knowledgeable with wine by the glass, including Italian wines as well as local (a rarity in this area) all very reasonably priced. The ravioli is to die for, the best I have ever had, the spaghetti Bolognese is huge and tasty - steak is HUGE and comes with the best selection of tasty vegetables and garlic herb coated chips that are actually lovely sautéed potatoes. Go where the locals choose to eat - but beware, at around 20 covers maximum capacity you need to be quick and book.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    58
    20
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Rustic charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We are not long back from a week in St Jullian's Malta. While there, we where fortunate to regularly eat at this restaurant. We have been 'regulars' here when we visit the island and have always enjoyed the experience. Once again the chef Kevin, ably assisted by his wife Lynn produce exquisite rustic meals which are delivered smoothly and efficiently by Ruben and Martin. I sampled woodcock, swordfish and veal chops while my wife enjoyed pasta dishes. This small restaurant is proof that you don't need to pay big prices to enjoy a great meal in a frontline holiday resort. 1927 is far from flash in appearance, being attached to the local band club, but in our opinion this adds to charm. Take my tip, book either before travelling or as soon as you arrive in Malta if you don't want to miss this gem.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Maltese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

If you want to eat dinner with a Maltese flavour you will not do better. We have just had lunch with Calamari to start and Rabbit, Pork chop and Veal chop being the main courses. I cannot fault anything. The meat was cooked to perfection and the one of us that does not eat Calamari was sopping up the sauce with bread. Excellent meal, fabulous service.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
2 reviews
“Never lets down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Been going to this restaurant since Chef Patron Kevin took over. Always served genuine, freshly prepared food. The best Rabbit in the area and the homemade garlic chips are to die for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I'll keep this review simple probably the best restaurant in Malta cracking. The food is cooked to perfection the portion sizes are generous the staff are friendly and prices ok. If your in the area just go

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1927 also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to 1927? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1927, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.