We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smile and the customer leaves happier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shiva's

Shiva's
8 Dragonara Road, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
21384399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 227 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Mellieha, Malta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Smile and the customer leaves happier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Food: Very good but abit on the salty side. Nonetheless it was very tasty. Service: The foreign waiter needs to smile or at least pretend he enjoys working there cause it's what customers notice straight away. He gives you the impression you are a burden for him. In all fairness service was quick however. Food wise it is definitely one of the better Indian's in Malta. Price: Average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    12
    6
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Balzan, Malta
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian restaurant... one of the best in Malta!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Visited this one without much planning for a Sunday lunch and i feel that its one of the best Indian restaurants around. Staff are really warm and helpful, the guy that takes order remembers everything apparently as he does not use any note book... not even on a table of 6 or more people. Food is perfectly done with that Indian touch. Portions are quite good and price wise its good value for money. The only drawback is the lack of desserts since only ice creams were available however i recommend it to anyone for a tasty Indian food experience. Will visit it again in the future for sure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Malta
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Visited shiva's with a friend today, was expecting great indian food after reading very good reviews. We weren't very lucky. As soon as we entered we weren't greeted by anyone and had to walk inside to find a member of staff. The restaurant was half lit and we actually got to know later that they were having problems with regards to lighting. Menus were given 5 mins after we sat down and actually our order was taken half an hour later! The man who took our order came without paper and pen and when the food was served we realized that he had made a mistake mixing up the naan and one of the main dishes. I found it very unprofessional; if you're going to take an order without actually writing anything down you need to make sure that the order is right. The food was ok; I'm a big fan of indian cuisine but I must say I've tasted much better. We actually took are starter in the dark, during maincourse the lights just kept going off and back on.... at least they decided not to charge us for our drinks for all the inconvenience. Overall not a very pleasent experience.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, u.k
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Check the bill ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Visted this restaurant on the spur of the moment, about 8.30 recently to a empty restaurant which quickly filled. Staff were rather aloof that we had not booked but seated us none the less. Food delivery was slow, and small in quantity but enjoyable. A biryani came without vegetable curry as we would normally expect and so harder to digest. Tiny quantties of chutneys and pickles barely enough to cover one popadom let alone two. The last surprise came when reviewing the bill and at least 3 or 4 items were priced higher than stated in the menu. Small amounts but inflated the billl somewhat, souring our dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Curry Curry Curry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went out for a nice curry, food was nice, but got cold v quickly, (I always thought the hotplates you get in Curry Houses were more for show) and they brought the main out before our starters (The waiter committed the order to memory rather than a notepad) but they were very apologetic and knocked some money off the bill, so all in all a good experience, lots of locals eating in that night, so they must get some repeat business, rather than going for the tourist buck.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiva's also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Sliema, Island of Malta
 

Been to Shiva's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiva's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.