We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Suites on Malta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saint Julian's
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Diamond Suites on Malta
Save
You added Diamond Suites on Malta to your Saves list
St Georges Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

After reading some of the reviews we had some misgivings about booking here but were pleasantly surprised. Maybe we were lucky to get a refurbished apartment. Having to take two lifts with a walk in between is a bit strange but all in all our stay was very good. The accommodation is spacious and the Intercontinental has very good facilities although I have to say we didn't use any of them! The garden and outdoor pool areas are very nice but the weather wasn't really good enough for sunbathing. We were there over the New Year but were not troubled by revellers at all - the only sound that got a bit annoying was the Christmas CD on continuous loop at the bowling alley opposite. Paceville is very lively and downmarket but there are nice restaurants in a pretty setting at Spinola Bay which is only 10 minutes walk. Excellent island bus service though crowded at times. Loads of things to see in Malta whatever the weather.

Room Tip: Overlooking the garden would be nice and can imagine the rooms overlooking the road would be noisy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We are really pleased to read that stay at our resort has exceeded your expectations. We regret to read that you did not have an opportunity to use all of or facilities and that the weather was not very favourable, yet we hope that you will decide to pay us another visit and make the most of what our resort and the Maltese climate has to offer. Till then we wish you safe travels!

Sandrine Hell
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    9
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Diamond resorts, suites on Malta, where do I begin? The "suite" is located in the intercontenental hotel. The reception area was nice and so were the employees. Once we got our room key we proceeded to our room. We had to get on 1 elevator and then walk down another hall and get on another elevator. Once you see the diamond resorts logo down the hall its all down hill from there. Once you get to the diamond elevator its like walking through a musty, moldy dungon. Most of the bulbs are burnt out so you can hardly see. Seems like 2 seperate hotels to me. Why is the intercontenental hotel clean, smells nice, and the diamond wing not kept properly when its maintained by the same people?Its all 1 hotel!

The smell once we opened the door to our room was overwhemlingly musty. If the central air is turned off and the windows are open its not as bad. Standing on a chair right in front of the AC vent is where the musty, mold problem is. The venalation system is horrible. Not clean, we had to call because there was over an inch of crap on the filter. Not good for anyone and extremly bad for me because I suffer with asthma.

Spoke with diamond rep and they said the humidity causes it, even though the smell isnt in the intercontenental wing. The manager took us to 3 other rooms on the diamond wing, but they ALL smelled the same. We talked to intercontenental and they couldnt change our room to one of their rooms. Spoke with the regional manager Angelo, located in Italy, who told me hes never been to the property. He told me "just open the windows, thats all he could do for us". He was getting annoyed with us and was not very friendly at the end of the phone call.

How are we supposed to sleep when the street noise, which usually isnt a big deal, but you have people drag racing down that strip all night. Nose was to be expected as I received an email, but it was REALLY loud ALL night.

Intercontenental offers free wifi for their guests, but diamond doesnt. We got 1 small travel size body wash for myself and my husband for 1 week, never replaced. We asked for more but never received any. Mold in the cabnets, water damage on all of the lamp shades, dirty floor, cabnets falling apart, and old dirty furnature.

I am an owner of Diamond resorts and booked this though interval international. I understand Diamond doesnt own this property like most others, but they should be ashamed to have their name on this resort and so should Interconenental. Its disgusting!!!!!!!!!

This isnt the only complaint they have heard about the same issues, and I like how Sandrine comments on the negative reviews and makes it seem like theres a renovation or some other b.s. This place has never been renovated. Look at the paint chipping, nasty carpet, old pictures and musty smell.

Dont waste your money on this place, trust me. Its the worst place I have EVER stayed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are sincerely sorry that you were so disappointed with the Diamond Suites on Malta. We are aware that there can be issues with humidity at certain times of year, and we are very sorry that this had a negative effect on your stay here.

The resort is undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment (floors 5 and 7 were refurbished during 2012, with soft refurbishments taking place this year and further refurbishments planned for 2014 onwards), and we are sincerely sorry that it wasn’t possible to offer you a refurbished apartment on this occasion. As Diamond Resorts only owns part of the property, we do not have access to any of the apartments owned by the intercontinental Hotel itself, and as such we unfortunately can’t offer these apartments to our guests.

Please be advised that although the Diamond Suites on Malta are located within the Intercontinental Hotel, they are essentially a separate property. The Wi-Fi is supplied through the same service provider as at our other resorts, and as such the same charges apply.

We are genuinely sorry that you did not have a more enjoyable stay on this occasion, but we must advise that your experiences do not reflect those of the majority of our guests. We really hope that you’ll give the Diamond Suites on Malta another chance in the future, and we feel sure that if you do choose to return here, your experiences will more than exceed your expectations.

Sandrine Hill
Area manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at Diamond Suites for two weeks. We are Starwood members, but stayed there as we had family staying on the island at Iklin and spent most of our days there. Yes it is in a separate wing from the Intercontinental Hotel, however the staff at the hotel were excellent, we were treated as a guest of the hotel and they were all very good. We ate twice at the restaurant on the poolside and found the food to be very good. Also used the gym which is very well equipped and free to guests. My only gripe in relation to the hotel is the charge of 9 euros per 24 hr period to park your car. Other hotels in the area do not do that. We stayed in room 776 for our first week, this was overlooking the street and opposite the EFschool and a cinema. I have to say that the street was busy, but the main noise was further down the road and we found it okay, there are two double glazed units. You could hear the odd boy racer, but then you would have heard them a quarter of a mile away.
There was a slight damp smell coming from the air con. We went and spoke to the Rep who was readily available in their offices and very helpful. This was just before our second week and we had to move rooms. She made sure our move was only two rooms away and liaised with the cleaners and made sure on the changeover day everything was okay and went smoothly, that room was. 774. You do lose the wifi into the Diamond section, however if you went out onto your balcony, you could pick it up very easily. Tv channels limited to news , but then you are on holiday. All in all an okay place to go, don't be afraid of it, just be aware what you are going into. The intercontinental complex is very good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Diamond Suites on Malta. We’re sorry that you had cause for concern about the original apartment you were allocated, but we’re very pleased that our rep was able to arrange for an alternate apartment for you, and that this didn’t cause undue disruption to your holiday. We hope you’ll consider us for future visits to Malta, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sandrine Hill
Area manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L'Aquila, Abruzzi, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent. At the diamon a week as an exchange with Hapimag sharing options. The suite was very large and confortable. The suites were part of the intercontinental hotel. The hotel was on the main "movida" Saint Julian's road ,close to St Anna steps.It is notable that so many saints name are for streets full of club, disco's and night bar. We had not problem for the noise ,except for some night roaring of sportcar as Ferrari or Lamborgghini, but it's part of the play. The roofswimming pool is very beatyful . All the hotel people was kind, professional and gentle. Apart the problem that a safe was unavailale. (neithera safe service at concierge) we have been satisfied. We found a warm atmosphere at the Water biscuit for the dinner and daily breakfast. The hotel's address is in the heart of mvida, if you are looking for a calm sea and beach hotel it would be not the first choice. But they compensated this defect with a partculary attention to all your needs, an you feel at home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
We are pleased to read that you were satisfied with the standard of our accommodations and service, and we are happy that you have found your apartment comfortable and the resort well located in relation to various attractions found in the area. We are looking forward to seeing you and your family in the future! Thank you for your words of appreciation!

Sandrine Hill
Area Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here on an exchange week. St Julians is noisy at night, but the bedroom was separated from the street by the living room, so we didn't have any trouble sleeping. Lots of restaurants and pizza places are nearby, so we didn't use the kitchenette much. It takes some planning in advance, but we did all our sightseeing by public bus. The hotel's beach is nice and the water very clear and clean. The Diamond rep is only onsite a couple hours each morning and we never met them. However, the Intercontinental staff were very friendly and helped us with anything we needed. The hotel is fine, but I don't think I'd stay here again, because I didn't enjoy the crowded bar scene at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed in the Diamond Suites which is part of the Intercontinental Hotel. The room had a nice view of the hotel gardens in one direction but a view of derelict buildings if you looked the other way. The room was very quiet despite the area where the hotel is situated being very busy especially over the weekends. All the staff at the hotel were very nice and room cleaning service was excellent. The Intercontinental Hotel is massive and can be very busy catering for numerous companies using the conference facilities. The roof top pool is excellent and there is a nice small sandy beach situated at the end of the street. If you are reasonably fit the walk around the coast from St Julians to the ferry at Sliema is an excellent walk.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the garden are quieter and get more sun than the ones overlooking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Diamond Suites on Malta, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time at the Diamond Suites on Saint Julian's and we do hope to have an opportunity to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, ON
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed at Diamond Suites with another couple and found the room provided almost every thing we needed.

We were given suite 777. This suite had a large living/dining room, 2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, a large balcony that spanned the entire suite and a kitchenette. The kitchen included a small fridge, 4 burner hob, coffee maker, electric kettle, microwave, pots & pans and all the dishes and utinsils. There were TVs in each bedroom and the living room but the english stations were limited to 3 news stations. If you want free internet then go to the 7th floor pub on the first day and get the wifi code because the suites don't provide wifi.

While other people complained about the noise we didn't hear a thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Diamond Suites on Malta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Suites on Malta

Address: St Georges Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 3310, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Malta > Saint Julian's
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Saint Julian's
Number of rooms: 46
Also Known As:
Diamond Suites On Malta Hotel Saint Julian`s

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diamond Suites on Malta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.