We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in St Julian's by a long way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peperoncino Restaurant

Peperoncino Restaurant
8/9 Bay Street | Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta, Malta
+356 21388872
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 212 Restaurants in Saint Julian's
Price range: $14 - $24
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Situated in an old town house in St Julian’s, Peperoncino has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere.Inside is decorated in a traditional manner with limestone walls and elegant décor, while the outside terrace area offers fantastic views over Balluta Bay.The food is a blend of Maltese, Sicilian and Italian with other international flavours merged, so combinations are both varied and interesting.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best in St Julian's by a long way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I ate here with my family on Monday night after seeing some positive reviews on this site.
I love my food, work in industry and have experienced every level of restaurant from fast food to 3 Michelin star all over the world.
Peperincino really impressed me. The food is honest and rustic with clean, balanced and proven flavours. The chef(s) here know how to cook well and the front of house know how to host guests. They are very well informed and knowledgeable both of their own food and wines and that elsewhere.
Their catch of the day is brought to the table, very fresh with nice suggestions on how to cook it.
I found Bernardo (I hope that's right) really helpful, always there to catch your eye when needed but in no way intrusive of an evening out.
As some other reviews have said, book an outside table if possible.
I rarely eat at the same place twice while I travel, I will eat here again before leaving.

You will not be disappointed. If you are, it's your fault not theirs. Try Pizza Hut.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    104
    29
    15
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have just spent a lovely evening at this restaurant. The staff were very friendly and very attentive. The food was excellent. My daughters had the pasta with duck and I had the chicken with figs -absolutely delicious. Not badly priced. €65 for two courses plus drinks. The bruschetta appetiser was excellent too. Would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just above average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Food was nice and some of the waiters lovely although one of them was a little scary! I had the suckling pig and was really nice. Wine was good however.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner at Peperoncino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Decided to spend our last night at Peperoncino based on its excellent TripAdvisor rating. When we arrived there were only a handful of other diners and we did wonder why, given its apparently outstanding reputation. However, by the end of the meal the place was packed and even having to turn away customers.

The staff were all super friendly and very welcoming. We felt as if it was a family-run restaurant. Very tasty main courses and we chose the passion fruit creme brulee for pudding based on other TripAdvisor recommendations, which was excellent although one portion is more than enough for two people.

Highly recommended, but worth booking ahead if you want to eat outside.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Lovely place - excellent food and superb service! Very reasonable prices too ( €50 for two mains, 2 desserts and bottle regional white wine). Highly recommended to try passion fruit creme brulee! Not surprise is nbr 3 of Tripadvisor's St Julian's restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peperoncino Restaurant also viewed

 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Peperoncino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peperoncino Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.