We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lulu Restaurant

Lulu Restaurant
31 | Church Street, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ10, Malta
+35621 377211
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Valletta, Malta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great quality food and service. Food was very well prepared, cooked and plated and service was very helpful. Definitely a great dining experience and it won't be my last at Lulu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    387
    124
    32
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxeels
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“A place you should not miss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very tasty cuisine, a reasonable choice of food, fresh fish, fantastic desserts, nice wines and very friendly staff.
Certainly our best experience in Saint Julian and not a tourist trap like some of the restaurants in the neighbourdhood.
Good price / vaue.
The friends I brought the second time were equally impressed.<
I hope this restaurant will still be there when I go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“First time visiting, great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This excellent restaurant is located in a quiet area (further down the Portomaso carpark).
For €25.95 you can get a set menu – including a starter, main course and assorted sweets + still water. I suggest that a kid’s menu would be introduced to make this restaurant a perfect venue.

I advise visitors to visit this restaurant’s website since it is very explanatory. This restaurant has a lovely indoor and outdoor seating. The staff/waiters are very helpful. The presentation was excellent, the service was even better and the food was absolutely delicious.

Should you wish to give a gift voucher for someone special, this restaurant offers gift vouchers.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Great meal - AGAIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We first visited in 2011 after following a tripadvisor review and had a great set price meal for two back then.
SO, we booked again for 2 on a (quietish) Tuesday night in early October 2013 during our stay at Fortina in Sliema. A very warm greeting was followed by friendly chat from Charlie, our host. My wife chose the salad style (pumpkin, feta salad) starter together with a grilled Salmon for main., her favourite.
I could not decide and Charlie suggested the (creamy, pastry) Mushroom Mille Feuille starter followed by braised pork cheeks in prune sauce. Whilst waiting, we were served with a special appetizer with the chef's compliments. I was assured I would be delighted with Charlie's choice, despite never knowingly having eaten pork cheeks before! He was 100% right. It was delicious! SO tender, tasting more like fillet steak than pork, in my opinion. My wife really enjoyed her salmon, which was cooked to perfection.
For dessert, we were guided by the favourite dessert of Alice, Charlies assistant. This I think was called "Mama's cake"? Again, wonderfully rich, but very filling indeed. Water was provided freely, a nice touch, as too often quite a cost can be added by just a few glasses of water in some restaurants. Finally, before leaving we were presented with a shot each of what I imagine may have been freshly squeezed lemon juice with vodka??
So, a fixed price meal for a fraction under 25.95 euros each (+ a delicious white wine, I think around 17euros?) was to us a great night out.
Lulu's concept of a set price for a NOT set menu is in our opinion a winner without doubt.
We were pleased to record our compliments in the guest book.
We will definitely return next year when visiting Malta yet again. Thank you indeed!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food, atmosphere and staff..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Couldn't be better...thank you for such a special meal and a wonderful time hosted by gracious staff and friendly owner. They cater well for a gluten free diet. Must visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lulu Restaurant also viewed

Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Lulu Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lulu Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.