We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality fresh food and good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wigi's Kitchen

Wigi's Kitchen
Main Street (Triq il-Kbira) | Balluta Bay, Saint Julian's, Island of Malta STJ 1017, Malta
+356 2137 7504
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $30
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Mediterranean, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A little family run restaurant named after Louis, set in the heart of the popular Balluta Bay, overlooking the water as located just above street level. We offer FRESH ingredients, FRESH fish & FRESH meat steaks offering different ideas & recipes complimenting the daily change of the lunch & dinner menu. We offer a 2 hour free parking at the Meridien hotel underground car park. The aim is to make one's meal a memorable one every time one dines at Wigi's!
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top quality fresh food and good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been many times at Wigi's over the last 5 years and I am impressed about the consistency of the quality of the fresh fish and meat. The service is special as the owner and waiter have a very charismatic personality. Many locals go there which makes it very lively. Love it!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    121
    27
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Wigi’s one of my favourite restaurant to visit. Why, because both food and service are of high quality and its location offers fantastic sea view.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We only had a couple of minutes to eat a quick lunch before rushing to a meeting, knowing our situation when booking a table one of the gentle staff offered to take our order over the phone and luckily made it on time. It was the fastest lunch ever and the meat was ever so tender and tasty. Pity we had no time for more. My colleague was impressed too. Well done Wigi's, you shall be seeing us again.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“29th December misery....the day after the night before”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Contrary to my post of Dec 28th, and perhaps i was too eager in giving a write up but, i have to retract most of the comments due to being terribly sick the following morning.
I had vomit and diarrhea from 8am til 3pm and can only attribute this to the steak i ate barely 12 hrs earlier. Looking back now, when they brought out the steaks to choose from, there was no shine or gloss to them and i can only assume the steaks were not refridgerated enabling bacteria to gather.
Im sure this restaurant appeals to many and i hope im not putting people off but perhaps check the fresh meats for that shine you should expect before you decide to eat it.
Needless to say due to my experience i would not visit again nor could i recommend, sorry.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“By far the best restaurant in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stylish, family run trattoria in an excellent location, very popular with the locals. Staff make you feel right at home, and great daily specials freshly prepared by the chef. You can rest assured that whatever you choose is not going to disappoint you. It's the kind of place that you can go to repeatedly, be it lunch or dinner, and you know that you will be back soon! Well done to the charming owners and keep up the good work......

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wigi's Kitchen also viewed

 
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
Saint Julian's, Island of Malta
 

Been to Wigi's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wigi's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.