We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bonegilla Migrant Experience

The Bonegilla Migrant Experience
Bonegilla Rd | Nr. Wodonga, Bonegilla, Victoria, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Bonegilla
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I believe this is a must to see and it formed part of the Australian history. It was army camp during WWII and it became migrant reception from 1947 to 1971. You can easily spent 1-2 hours there just to go through several buildings or barracks. Staff are very helpful.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Educational”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We visited this centre as this was my husband's first home in Australia. It was so good to see the old areas, such as the commoin kitchen and living conditions. We spent a few hours here exploring all the different buildings, well worth a visit, especially anyone who has had a connection with this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Making of Modern Australia: A Missing Piece of the Puzzle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This living history site is fascinating and only slated to get better. It bears witness to various waves of post WWII migrants, leaving us a potent record of their living conditions as well as their hopes and dreams upon arrival in Australia to build a new life. From the Greeks to the Dutch, the Italians to concentration camp survivors (Dr Karl Kruszelnicki's father was of the latter group and came here with his wife and young son, Karl), Bonegilla excavates the 'bones' of this important part of Australia's heritage.

In total, 320,000 migrants passed through Bonegilla. This does not even take into account the thousands of migrants who passed through the other migrant centres right across Australia - an additional 5 in VIC, 4 in QLD, 6 in NSW, 2 in SA and 3 in WA.

"Block 19" is a misnomer for this centre. It is an extensive rural BLOCK OF LAND 16 kms outside Wodonga on which over 40 ex-WW1 and WW11 army barrack buildings are clustered. Block 19 is the only remainder of the 24 rural blocks of land -  each of which had similar ex-Army barrack building clusters on them. The other 23 have now been destroyed. As an average in the 1950's and 1960's, the 24 blocks at Bonegilla housed 7,400 migrants.

The cacophony of migrant audio experiences emanating from the 'sea wall' encountered en route to the reception centre from the car park is a real pointer towards the future of vibrant Australian installation art commissioned by public bodies. The staff are fantastic. The buildings and many exhibitions are fascinating. The  approach taken of introducing a reflection room where people can reflect on their experience of Bonegilla and the people who passed through it before leaving a message is lovely. 

I thoroughly recommend this experience and am looking forward to returning.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very informative, interesting part of Australia's history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having a family connection with Bonegilla, it was very interesting to visit and see where the roots of my partners family began. Jenny at the info centre, was really helpful. It was very quiet, so we almost had the whole place to ourselves. The exhibits were interesting and informative and it was quite moving to see how the new migrants lived and that this was the beginning of the life of our family here in Australia.
The only downside was the talking wall part of the experience. A wall made up of stories spoken by migrants, but they were all coming out of the one wall at the same time and made it incredibly difficult to hear and understand. Other than that, we really enjoyed the Migrant Experience at Bonegilla.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“migrant history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Husband and I spent hours looking at the displays, there really is a lot to look at if you are interested in the migrant experience. The lady on duty at reception was a mine of information having been there as a child. If you or any of your relatives passed through this establishment I recommend a visit......made me appreciate what my father went through in his early days in Australia.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bonegilla Migrant Experience also viewed

 

Been to The Bonegilla Migrant Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bonegilla Migrant Experience, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.