We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Margaret River Silk Road

Margaret River Silk Road
307 Harmans Mill Rd, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
08 9755 6401
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Metricup
Type: Factory Tours, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Visited this on the way to Margaret River and glad we did. Welcomed by two charming pooches who ran out to meet us.. Presenter was friendly and really interesting, taking us through the stages of silk production. We liked that the silk products are made by ethical means, rather than sweatshop labour. Prices were very reasonable and the products are beautiful. It's two mins off the highway - worth the detour. Lovely business. Recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

A friendly welcome from Red Dog, the kelpie cross started our visit here. Really interesting and informative presentation about silkworms and silk production, from passionate and friendly people. Lots of lovely silk items to buy, at good prices, plus mulberry jams.
We also had devonshire tea at the cafe here. Delicious, fresh, homemade scones and their own mulberry jam. Good coffee too! Pleasant native gardens.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A unique visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

The only silk farm is Australia! Made an interesting break from wineries and fudge factories. Rob and Amanda have set up a great operation, farming silk worms, actually producing their own silk by sending the silk to Laos for spinning, and providing a great educational opportunity in Margaret River. The guides will explain about how the worms grow and produce silk, and have baby worms through to fully mature worms and cocoons to demonstrate this. The gifts in the shop were very reasonably priced and the mulberry jam was delicious. Definitely recommend stopping on the Silk Road.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A break between wineries!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

When you go to The Silk Road, you get an very educational talk about silk production. The enthusiasm of our speaker was undeniable - what a treat! I didn't know much about silk production and now I have a great appreciation for it! The goods available are reasonably priced and would make nice gifts. It's a great stop while touring around the Margaret River wine region.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A Really Interesting and Enjoyable Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

I had always wondered how silk was made and now I know. The owners of thus silk farm are so enthusiastic and clearly enjoy sharing their knowledge and explaining the process of growing the silk worms and then converting the coccoon into silk. There is also a very good range of silk products available to purchase at very reasonable prices. Look out for the mulberry jam, it is just wonderful. A very pleasant change from food and wine in the Margaret River area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaret River Silk Road also viewed

Metricup, Margaret River Region
Margaret River, Margaret River Region
 
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
Yallingup, Margaret River Region
 

Been to Margaret River Silk Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Margaret River Silk Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.