We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful stay beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Brook Estate

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Island Brook Estate to your Saves list
Island Brook Estate
4.0 of 5 Ranch   |   7388 Bussell Highway, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Auckland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful stay beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed the 4 days we had in Chardonnay chalet on island brooke estate. Very private in amongst the jarrah trees. Evan was very accommodating - we had an issue with the water heater (Califont ) and within a few hours a new one was up and running. Evan was very helpful with local tips and recommendations. Went looking for the Roos in the nearby field with camera in hand, went I got back to the chalet on dusk, turns out the Roos had been on the front lawn of the chalet !much to the amusement of our group who decided not to follow me :-)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanHaywood, Manager at Island Brook Estate, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thanks for the review :)
Glad to be of service :)
Cheers,
Evan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with 3 adults in 2 bed chalet. Rooms were neat, modern and well kept. All in all very comfortable and a beautiful setting amongst the Jarrah scrub. Especially enjoyed seeing kangaroos hopping by right outside the chalet. Owners were friendly and very accommodating. Would certainly stay again!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

At night I realized that the forest was full of moonlight. Being a city girl, I had not seen moonlight--without city lights for a long, long time. This place is rustic, charming, and wonderful. We stayed for two nights and I did not want to leave.

The kitchen has all you need to cook meals, prepare coffee or tea, and there is a grill on the patio. There is great privacy. The spa is great. Evan gave us great tips for seeing the area. I would return. Hope to return.

Room Tip: All three are great choices. Very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in the 1 Bedroom Cabernet Chalet for 2 nights over the September Long weekend.
A lovely little secluded & romantic place, 1 of 3 chalets and if you look carefully you can just spot the other 2 chalets away through the bush.
Nice, clean & comfortable self contained chalet in a bush setting. Open plan with everything you need. Reverse cycle aircon, DVD, TV, stereo, Microwave, cooktop, toaster oven, fridge, small BBQ on the patio & best of all a lovely spa in the bathroom! (and yes there was a 'ring' around the waterline after we had finished, but we have noticed a similar 'ring' at every place we have stayed with a spa...)
Fancy a local drop? Evan & the rest of the team were friendly & helpful and more than happy to give us tastings & as guests we received a 10% discount on our purchases. Theo the friendly Weimaraner was also happy to show us his ball fetching skills & he loves a pat! Bindi the little dog was a bit more stand offish...
It may be about 20mins north of Margret river town itself, but don't let that bother you. There is plenty to see and do if you don't mind a short drive. If you fancy a cooked brekkie, but don't want to cook there are a couple of places less than 10mins drive from the front entrance.
We took a Bush Tucker Wine & brewery tour and they picked us up at the cellar door, which co-incidentally was the first stop of the tour!
We would highly recommend this place to stay to anyone who likes the sound of the above, we can't say for sure that we will be back because there is so many other places to see and experience in the south west & we always like to try new things, after hours of agonising & reading reviews on TA! BUT if we had to make a snap decision on where to stay at short notice, this place would be a 'no brainer' to visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes you find a spot that you wished no one knew about just so it remained that secret location you could always keep for yourself. Island Brook Estate is such a place. Three chalets set amongst forest far enough apart to be lost amongst the trees. Waking in the morning to kangaroos bounding around your chalet, birdsong coming from everywhere, is a rare delight. Our chalet was called Chardonnay. Well appointed with everything you need for a self-contained vacation. Just add food. Friendly and helpful hosts. Add a spa with the option to open the windows onto bushland. Comfortable beds. Not much to complain about here and what there is ... well ... you'd have to be extremely picky to have any. All the major Margaret River wineries and attractions close at hand with the Estate located on the main highway.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend of 10/11 May this year and had a great experience. The chalet we stayed in was the Chardonnay and it was great for my family of 2 adults and 2 young kids.

The chalet was clean and the beds comfortable.

A most pleasant stay and I would be recommending Island Brook to my friends and family.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with one of these chalets and the wine's great too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The three chalets at Island Brook are set far apart from each other to afford total privacy and each villa is nestled among native bush.
We were excited when we arrived at the Cabernet Chalet with the setting, the BBQ and chairs on the veranda, the compact but workable kitchen, and the bed was comfortable. The photos on the website are accurate.

The only issue we had was having a candle light spa, then when turning the lights on found a brown greasy ring around the tub and dirty bubbles to the point I had to shower (not to mention the thoughts of eww eww eww) The spa had not been cleaned adequately from the last guest/use.....however as we were staying a second night we mentioned the issue in the morning at the office but there was no offer to clean the spa before our second night - most disappointing.

Overall the chalet is clean and the bathroom is clean too, but I wouldn't stay here for the purpose of using the spa bath.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvanHaywood, Manager at Island Brook Estate, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your review Nonny16. We too are most disappointed with the situation here. Both issues, cleanliness, and the standard of service are our two top priorities with regards to our chalets. Unfortunately this has happened almost one year prior to this review, which means there is little we can do to rectify this issue apart from offering our apologies and assuring that this is not how we like to operate our chalets or business in general.
Regards,
Evan and Vanessa Haywood
Island Brook Estate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Island Brook Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Brook Estate

Address: 7388 Bussell Highway, Metricup, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Margaret River Region > Metricup
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Metricup
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Brook Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Brook Estate is a family owned and operated vineyard and accommodation provider. Our three chalets located to the rear of the vineyard, are surrounded by Jarrah forest, kangaroo, and other flora and fauna. Central location in the Margaret River wine region. All chalets have contemporary quality interiors are fully furnished with flat screen TV, queen size beds, double spa, private BBQ and free WiFi. The ideal quiet get-away for family or couples. Our cellar door is open for wine tasting and sales 10am - 5pm, 7 days. (Occasionally the cellar is closed for some quality family time) 4 star rated accommodation (AAA) 4.5 star winery rating (James Halliday) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Island Brook Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Brook Estate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.