We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, brilliant staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas to your Saves list
Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas
Lourdas Beach, Lourdata, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place, brilliant staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

To be honest we didnt stay at Ionian apartments but came across them and spent our time popping back for a drink....what can i say Bell is a true asset to her boss nothing is too much for her and really enjoys her job which truly shows. We are planning on going back in june everyone one just had praise for the apartments and loved their stay, you will always get one moaner never happy but i can honestly say 100% that its a fantastic place and Bell definately makes it..... thank you Bell for your kindness and being so helpful......

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    29
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
34
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I am about to leave for my trip back home. It was my first time at the Ionian Sun Apartments and after reading the reviews I did not know what to expect. I am happy to say that I could not fault my stay in any way. The apartments have all you need for a comfortable stay. They are kept clean by a band of very good cleaners. The resort is small and quiet and has some great restaurants.
Now lets have a look at what has been said about Belle. I have to disagree with any of the negative comments about this lady.
Belle works extremely hard, 7 days a week from 10-5 throughout the season. She is helpful and does all that she can to make your stay a great experience.
Some people have said she is rude, which is something I have not witnessed, however I would say to those people look to yourself and think about how you spoke to her. Yes she is there to serve, but she also should be treated with respect. It is rare to come across such a hard working individual in this day and age especially one that goes far and above her normal duties to help everyone. I will be back next year. Thank you Belle and all the team at Ionian Sun. Limone

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We spent a week with another couple in 2 studios at Ionian Sun at beginning of September.

I really was sceptical about the great reviews on Trip Advisor, but I can assure you they were true.
The studios were very well furnished .Fitted wardrobes with plenty of hangers, excellent kitchen area fully equipped, iron and ironing board, free safe and free air conditioning. The apartments were extremely clean and towels and linen were changed every other day !
Bel and Andy were a real asset to the place-nothing was too much trouble for them.

We enjoyed the quiz and the Greek night with a great barbecue and music.
It was a 3minute walk to the beach and the mini market nearby.We tried a different taverna each night and our favourites were the Olive Lounge and Andromeda(in the village 7 euros for taxi each way)and Lorraines Magic garden.. But everywhere we tried was very good and prices not too high !

Room Tip: We had studios and they overlooked the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We have recently returned from our honeymoon at Ionian sun. We were lucky enough to have one of the 2 penthouse apartments which comprises a very large balcony/patio with sofa and sun loungers along with the usual table and chairs. What a luxury to choose to lounge by the pool or in the privacy of the penthouse. The views are breathtaking in the daytime and the stars...... we star gazed late into the night!
The apartment was cleaned frequently by extremely efficient and friendly young women, we were very impressed with the high standard of their work. Breakfast has to be one of Bells marvellous bacon rolls, available from the bar, with a yummy latte. Being our honeymoon I vowed not to cook and Bells breakfast made that possible, thanks! Evenings in the bar are great fun with Andy (and his dangerous but yummy cocktails) with the lovely couples also staying.
Locally we enjoyed fabulous food; Andromeda is a must...especially for Greek night....the best moussaka I've ever tasted! We loved the welcome at Lorraines Magic Hill and her beef stifado is out of this world. Aridas palace also deserves a mention for their amazing sea food and excellent service. Bell and Andy's recommendations should always be taken into account!!!
We shall certainly be returning and will try to save extra so we can ensure we get the penthouse again, without a doubt the best apartments in the complex!
Bell and Andy, you made us feel so welcome and so comfortable...we simply cannot thank you enough for helping to make our honeymoon so perfect! Rest assured you will be seeing us again. All the best, The Wilks's from 82 xx

Room Tip: The penthouse has extra private space in the form of your own patio / balcony with sun loungers and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

we have just returned from a week staying at the ionian sun apartments in lourdas kefalonia. We have been to kefalonia many times and wanted to stay in apatments closer to the beech as lourdas is situated on a hill and we have previously stayed in apartments that required a fair uphill hyke home. We spotted these apartments with thomas cook and were fairly inpressed by most of the reports on trip advisor that it received.

we stayed in a studio that was at the top of a large for want of a better word a small moutain, which required several breathers to get to the top. however aside from that the rooms were very spacious and very clean although quite old particulaly the bathrooms needed in our opinion updating. The maid cleaned nearly every day and provided clean sheets. The balcony/terrace were larger than normal however our sea veiw was blocked by trees, and we did feel that we were living in the middle of a forest.
on previous comments many people found belle and andy helpful and polite, this was not our experience we found belle to be sometimes rude and irritable, and andy the barman was very odd and not very pleasent.
When we visited the pool area was overun with children which was not peaceful at all, we tended to spend most of our most relaxing time on the beech, which was wonderful.

we will not be returning to these apartments anytime soon,certaintly dont go if you want a peaceful relaxing holiday

Room Tip: we stayed in room 53 avoid it does not have any veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had a weeks stay at Ionian sun in August. It is a lovely spot. We toured the island, but had to agree that Lourdas beach is probably the best place to stay on the island. It can get a little busy in the height of summer, but that is nothing compared to other places/resorts around the island.
The choice of Tavernas is a huge plus.
The apartment was lovely. We did stay in one of the penthouses which was booked through Unique Vilas. It was our first time in an apartment. I'm sure that the smaller apartments are lovely, and the reviews state that, but we would not have booked if we had had to stay in one.
The penthouses offered more space and privacy.
Previous reviews said that it wasn't an ideal spot for children and that is why we booked it. Unfortunately, we holidayed in the school holidays and there were many families staying with young children. It kept us well away from the pool!
If you like apartment holidays, I cannot think of a better place.
We would love to return to Lourdas Beach.
We will be booking a 'private' villa next time though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just back from a week of bliss at the Ionian Sun. Our first visit to Kefalonia, and it is an enchanting island. You will need a car - make it a jimmy! Bell went to so much trouble calling car rentals for us to secure one. Nothing was too much trouble. Book your car early if you go high season. The studios are very clean, well maintained and the housekeeping superb. We are already looking at returning next year. A visit to Lorraines is a must, the best food in Lourdas, although Klimatis taverna comes close. Also the taverna on Trapezaki beach makes the best giant beans, what a great lunch! Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Studios are perfect. Balcony with views to the sea and perfect for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas

Address: Lourdas Beach, Lourdata, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Lourdata
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lourdata
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Sun Apartments And Villas Hotel Cephalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionian Sun Apartments and Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.