We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Not-so-Goodway experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Goodway Hotel - Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Goodway Hotel - Batam to your Saves list
Goodway Hotel - Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SEASONAL OFFER IDR455.000
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nagoya
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Not-so-Goodway experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

I booked through the internet. And I needed to pay 10% of the total bill. It's very common, isn't it? But what really made me upset was the front desk officer said, we couldn't get any deduction of the total bill from what we've paid in the internet. It goes to the provider and they said the hotel didn't get any of it.
It's not the money that matters, but more to how they dealt with it.
One more thing, the front desk officer asked us to upgrade the room to the 66 dollars one with additional SGD 5 on top of what we've booked.But they gave us the dusty room that seemed seldom being used.
The luckiest thing was we only spent one night there and move to a better hotel which is nearer to the mall.
Definitely won't recommend this hotel and won't go back as well...
They need to improve a lot of things. Because they charged more like the local phone calls, they charged expensively compared to what I've been charged from the other hotel. Taxi fare? The same... everything for me is overcharged...
Really, not so goodway for me... Very different with the hotel's name...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    30
    21
    11
See reviews for
22
18
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed there for 3D2N in Apr 09 on a long weekend getaway from Singapore. Nice service, pleasant staff, clean rooms & 2 mins walk to Nagoya where all the bars are located. All in all, enjoyed my stay there. In-house hotel Thai-Chi strong massage is highly reccommended.

Stayed April 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

Stayed there with my friends for a 2D1N short trip, overall had enjoy my stay.

Cleaniness - Generally okay, but there were unexplained stains and cigarette butt holes on the bedsheet and pillows which leaves us abit disturbed. Also, the shower head is rather rusty. Other than that, the hotel is quite clean by normal standards.

Location - the location is pretty good, and it is just a 3 minute walk from a cheap and good massage parlor (SPORT MASSAGE CENTRE)! A short walk to Nagoya Hills Shopping Mall too, though we would prefer to cab there. Near the vacinity there is also a 2 storey Mcdonalds (24h) and KFC that would be good for late night hunger.

Service - OK only. Could be better, feels some of the staffs are abit rude. There was once I was at the counter with another male Caucasian tourist who was also checking out. The female counter staff know I have been standing there for a long time even before he was there yet she chose to help him out first, and the tourist had to tell her I came first before she turned to attend to me.

Security - Tight, had to enter a barrier everytime someones enters into the Hotel. We did not use the safe in our room after reading much reviews about break-ins, and my friend has also specially requested for rooms facing the street. (Rooms facing swimming pool are apparently more prone to break ins)

Food - The breakfasts are alright, but not exactly fabulous. I would still prefer the local street food. However they do have super cheap porridge buffets in the evening for dinner at about $3SGD per person.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

I went to Batam for a short getaway and my trip consists of a full day packaged tour and 2 days free & easy. Hence, i stayed in the hotel for 2 nights. Some experiences to share;

1. When i first came to the room, the smell was terrible and the room was stuffy. Had to turned the aircon to the lowest temperature possible before I can actually feel the cool air.

2. The window grill was not locked. As i was staying on the second floor, any local 'spiderman' will be able to invite himself in from the window. Do note that you do need to lock that before you leave your room.

3. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk to Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre, however, i was travelling alone and i found those alleys a little worrisome.

As i am a simple traveller, i think this hotel has met my basic needs. The staffs were friendly and always willing to help. More importantly, the Nasi Goreng served at the restaurant was delicious.

  • Liked — Food
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2008

I attended an SSPC Course in the hotel and stayed there for 6 nights. The first room they gave me had some problems with some bathroom leak. But the manager on duty immediately moved me to another room. I would suggest for you to ask for a room in front of the building instead of the one viewing the pool. I read the review about the robbery at the hotel room near the pool and saw where a thief might enter. Plus the view is better from the room facing the front of the hotel. They have an awesome buffet in the morning and lunch (since the course was also in the hotel). The gym was decent enough, open air. The girls did not seem to mind wearing skimpy attire. The bad part is neither did the men, who had their shirts off. There is no designated non-smoking area. So the room I got sometimes smells like smoke coming from the room next door or the hallway. And the Sports Massage place, like beside the hotel was great. And they had KFC and McDonald's walking distance too. High-speed internet in the room, just bring an adapter for the plug (220v).

  • Liked — Buffet and Gym
  • Disliked — No designated for non-smoking areas
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I just came back from Batam. My stay there was very good.
Staffs are friendly and helpful. In house breakfast and food is not bad. Security in hotel is good. The hotel is 15mins walk to Nagoyah hill shopping centre. Its better to walk, 2mins cab ride costs 40,000rp. All other shopping centres eg: D C mall and a new City Square shopping centre are about 10 -15mins drive. Must try City Square, very big and more shops than D C mall.
Must go to Mega Mart at Batam ferry terminal. Hair saloon with foot,hand,scalp massage are available. Hair cut, colour highlighting and washing costs only 170,000rp. Located at 2nd floor beside Konika photo shop. It is Popular among the locals.
Spa is available at hotel. For a proffesional massage go to Sport massage & Spa. It is on the right side building outside the hotel,last offfice in the row. Night life row of pubs located across the road. There is also a wine bar in the hotel.

  • Liked — Spa &Shopping
  • Disliked — non
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

The most unimaginable things happened to me. My room was broken into and the Safe box was being decoded. My family and I lost about 15K singapore dollars worth of valuables including a rolex watch. The theif had broken in from the balcony and the door of the balcony is spoil. The Hotel refered the matter to the police and refused to let us make call back to singapore limiting 1 phone calls for the 4 of us. They even tried to shift the blame to us saying that we are the theives. This is the worst case that can happen to anyone. This news is being published on their newspaper on the 9th july 2008 edition on the 2nd page. what a terrible experience.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — no safety in the hotel even in ur own room! beware! we stayed inside room 1115 and 1117
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodway Hotel - Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodway Hotel - Batam

Address: Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodway Hotel - Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel Located At The Heart of the City's Premier Shopping & Entertainment District. Nestled in the vibrancy of the famous Nagoya Hill area, Goodway Hotel Batam is located in close walking proximity to the premier shopping and entertainment district. It offers you accommodation with a comfortable, warm and relaxing ambience. Whether you are on a business trip or leisure, we are dedicated to make your stay a delightful and unforgettable one. Goodway Hotel Batam conveniently features 268 rooms and suites along with full amenities, warm personal services and hospitality. As one of the Top M.I.C.E Hotels in Batam Archipelago Island, Goodway Hotel Batam offers you meetings and wedding venues up to a capacity of over 1000 people. Meetings and wedding occasions at Goodway Hotel are fully supported by our catering and banquet team, who will ensure everything you need for an exquisite occassion will suit your taste and budget. Selection of authentic Japanese fare, Indonesian dishes and Asian cuisines awaits you at our restaurants and bars, passionately made by the expert chefs. Goodway Hotel Batam also offers access to the nearby Nagoya Shopping Mall and "Kampong Bule" for night entertainment and other Fast food establishments surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Goodway Hotel - Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodway Hotel - Batam Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodway Hotel - Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.