We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, Nice and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodway Hotel - Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Goodway Hotel - Batam to your Saves list
Goodway Hotel - Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SEASONAL OFFER IDR455.000
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Nagoya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good service, Nice and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was staying here a few years back. Old hotel but good maintainence. The room was big come with bathtub. From hair drier to safety box they provided. The food is nice but rather expensive. The free breakfast was good too. Many choices. This Hotel last time was Mandarin hotel. Used to be cemetery. But so far.. Nothing happen to me during the stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    25
    20
    10
See reviews for
20
16
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel is just a 10-15 way away from Nagoya Hills.Ideal for light travellers who need to purchase shampoo,conditioners & such.Even though it was on the day of eid, we manged to get our massage & spa done. The single beds were comfortable enough for two so family with a child need not request for extra bed.As it was full house, when I requested for a blanket, was given bedsheets instead. There is attached balcony to the deluxe room,so smoking guests sharing rooms can have their private space. Wifi connections could be improved as signal keeps getting distruped.And no data usage possible in the toilets.Then again, we were there for a holiday :) .
When I checked out and was concern about my ferry schedule, reception merely pointed the ferry schedule & mentioned I should check when I was at the ferry terminal.Understand this is not the reception job, but I was expecting a far better customer service & empathy from a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Request for a room with a pool view.There's a wifi connection @pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

+ An old hotel with a positive location approx 10 mins walk to Nagoya Hills shopping centre. Though the hotel will push for taxi services, walking there is easy and along the road. A short, non-challenging walk leads you directly to the entrance of Nagoya Hill Mall.

+ Hotel receptionist and concierge are pleasant and polite especially the latter. Very helpful with transport and day booking (IDR100K per hour for a 7 seater). Check in and out was efficiently done and little problems.

+ Housekeeping was duly done and punctual.

- - - We booked the Classic rooms which were in NO sense classic, hidden right at the north wing (or the very old wing). Rooms musty with bad smell and no windows (the windows were all hideously bricked up). The corridor was very eerie (We were brought to room 1016 and was unable to get into the room. After a few attempts to change keys walking up and down from room to receptionist - about 250m - the staff told us the management delibrately locked up that room because it is no long available for stay for some reasons and offered us another musty room with a strong religious incense). The rooms were built on the 1st floor (despite 1016), and right below was a dark and abandoned old reception area which we accidentally went down having lost our way. We felt utterly uncomfortable when residing in these rooms despite it being physically clean. Wifi and TV working fine, just that the atmosphere gives you a bad feeling. The walk along the corridor is bad enough give you that eerie feeling. Also we went during the festive season and long weekend, the corridor seemed to be guest-less, just us. The only lights were dim yellow lights with no reachable sunlight.

- Breakfast was ok but the queue for noodle and egg stations can be excessively long. The waiters and attendants managing these stations looked as though they had a bad night and all hostile and unpleasant. Coffee was blant and refills were slow.

+ - Gym and pool was ok, nothing fabulous but well maintained.

- Overall I am not very prone to recommending this hotel especially with stays at Classic rooms. If one has to stay, please select the superior or deluxe rooms with blatant sunlight in the room. The rooms at the north wing are very eerie and made us feel very uncomfortable at night. For more information on this aspect please drop me a personal note.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay at budget or classic rooms. Please use superior or deluxe room. Please DO NOT choose any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Paid about USD75/night; stayed 3D2N with my in-laws and 7yo kid. Receptionist spoke reasonably good English. Room is on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool. All rooms are smoking rooms; no 'non-smoking' rooms.

Furnishings indeed old (as many reviews here stated). Bed is pretty soft and caused me quite bad backaches. Furnishings in the washroom are really pretty old and yellow-stained.

Though Nagoya Hill is about 10 minutes stroll from the hotel, I find it not worthwhile to risk walking through the crazy traffic; paid about Rp50000 for the cab fare per trip to Nagoya Hill instead. Cab fare to Batam Centre Ferry Terminal (BCFT) from the hotel is about Rp85000, as compare to Rp70000 from BCFT to the hotel.

Breakfast for the 2 days are pretty much the same; nothing to compare. Spread is simple but sufficient: eggs station, cereal, pastries, plain rice, noodles/kuay teow, fish/chicken, corn porridge etc.

What I do like is that during the complimentary breakfast, tables are separated into the 'smoking' and 'non-smoking' zone.

In a nutshell, I will probably not return. For a price of USD75/night, I guess there are several other options to select from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

During a recent visit back to Batam, I wanted to be close to the Nagoya area where I used to live.

I looked at another place first, but it was ridiculously overpriced (might have been due to it being mid Ramadan and related celebrations). So I found Goodway had a reasonable rate and it's basically across the road from the bar area as well as next door to a CBA ATM machine :).. dangerous combination, but convenient.

as per the other reviews, this hotel is a bit dated and could use a lick of paint. I noticed a bunch of guys were doing some cosmetic updating around the reception area one night, so it seems they are doing something with it. But it is still an older hotel.

The room I got looked out onto the pool area and smelt a bit musty. Bed wasn't uncomfortable, but it wasn't all that great either. Wifi was good, minibar was cold and had drinks inside.
I did order room service a few times - it was okay, but the last time I ordered steak and it was inedible. I was just being lazy.. there's a great spot about 6 minutes walk away (Cock and Bull) for a steak (New PLace is also good for food).

I ate in the Japanese restaurant downstairs one night. It was okay.. not sure I would go back

I paid about $50USD per night.

I think this place is fine for a weekend if you aren't too fussy and don't stay in the hotel other than to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I really love this hotel. I came here for many times. Old but still elegant. The room size is large enough, elegant and luxury. Even its old, but it still displays a luxury hotel, we can see from the elegant lobby, (they offer a karaoke room in the lobby). Nice swimming pool +jacuzzi, even we can understand it's been aged. The staff, bell-boy, room-service, everything is well. And the food? Very complete breakfast..delicious meals. You wouldn't disappointed of their breakfast meals. At dinner time, I usually order Sup Buntut for my dinner, superb. I can't resist to order again in the next visit. Four star facilities with cheap price.

Room Tip: Make sure they didn't put you in room which is very far from the lobby/ lift (wings its very far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Been here for three nights. The room look old, and dark. Maybe, they should paint it with brighter colour. The breakfast was good, wifi was fast, and located near Nagoya downton. We just can walk to reach hang out places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodway Hotel - Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodway Hotel - Batam

Address: Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodway Hotel - Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel Located At The Heart of the City's Premier Shopping & Entertainment District. Nestled in the vibrancy of the famous Nagoya Hill area, Goodway Hotel Batam is located in close walking proximity to the premier shopping and entertainment district. It offers you accommodation with a comfortable, warm and relaxing ambience. Whether you are on a business trip or leisure, we are dedicated to make your stay a delightful and unforgettable one. Goodway Hotel Batam conveniently features 268 rooms and suites along with full amenities, warm personal services and hospitality. As one of the Top M.I.C.E Hotels in Batam Archipelago Island, Goodway Hotel Batam offers you meetings and wedding venues up to a capacity of over 1000 people. Meetings and wedding occasions at Goodway Hotel are fully supported by our catering and banquet team, who will ensure everything you need for an exquisite occassion will suit your taste and budget. Selection of authentic Japanese fare, Indonesian dishes and Asian cuisines awaits you at our restaurants and bars, passionately made by the expert chefs. Goodway Hotel Batam also offers access to the nearby Nagoya Shopping Mall and "Kampong Bule" for night entertainment and other Fast food establishments surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Goodway Hotel - Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodway Hotel - Batam Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodway Hotel - Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.