We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel with Good Amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Goodway Hotel - Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Goodway Hotel - Batam to your Saves list
Goodway Hotel - Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK DIRECT IDR 455.000++
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Nagoya
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old Hotel with Good Amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

+ An old hotel with a positive location approx 10 mins walk to Nagoya Hills shopping centre. Though the hotel will push for taxi services, walking there is easy and along the road. A short, non-challenging walk leads you directly to the entrance of Nagoya Hill Mall.

+ Hotel receptionist and concierge are pleasant and polite especially the latter. Very helpful with transport and day booking (IDR100K per hour for a 7 seater). Check in and out was efficiently done and little problems.

+ Housekeeping was duly done and punctual.

- - - We booked the Classic rooms which were in NO sense classic, hidden right at the north wing (or the very old wing). Rooms musty with bad smell and no windows (the windows were all hideously bricked up). The corridor was very eerie (We were brought to room 1016 and was unable to get into the room. After a few attempts to change keys walking up and down from room to receptionist - about 250m - the staff told us the management delibrately locked up that room because it is no long available for stay for some reasons and offered us another musty room with a strong religious incense). The rooms were built on the 1st floor (despite 1016), and right below was a dark and abandoned old reception area which we accidentally went down having lost our way. We felt utterly uncomfortable when residing in these rooms despite it being physically clean. Wifi and TV working fine, just that the atmosphere gives you a bad feeling. The walk along the corridor is bad enough give you that eerie feeling. Also we went during the festive season and long weekend, the corridor seemed to be guest-less, just us. The only lights were dim yellow lights with no reachable sunlight.

- Breakfast was ok but the queue for noodle and egg stations can be excessively long. The waiters and attendants managing these stations looked as though they had a bad night and all hostile and unpleasant. Coffee was blant and refills were slow.

+ - Gym and pool was ok, nothing fabulous but well maintained.

- Overall I am not very prone to recommending this hotel especially with stays at Classic rooms. If one has to stay, please select the superior or deluxe rooms with blatant sunlight in the room. The rooms at the north wing are very eerie and made us feel very uncomfortable at night. For more information on this aspect please drop me a personal note.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay at budget or classic rooms. Please use superior or deluxe room. Please DO NOT choose any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    23
    18
    10
See reviews for
20
15
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Paid about USD75/night; stayed 3D2N with my in-laws and 7yo kid. Receptionist spoke reasonably good English. Room is on the 3rd floor, overlooking the pool. All rooms are smoking rooms; no 'non-smoking' rooms.

Furnishings indeed old (as many reviews here stated). Bed is pretty soft and caused me quite bad backaches. Furnishings in the washroom are really pretty old and yellow-stained.

Though Nagoya Hill is about 10 minutes stroll from the hotel, I find it not worthwhile to risk walking through the crazy traffic; paid about Rp50000 for the cab fare per trip to Nagoya Hill instead. Cab fare to Batam Centre Ferry Terminal (BCFT) from the hotel is about Rp85000, as compare to Rp70000 from BCFT to the hotel.

Breakfast for the 2 days are pretty much the same; nothing to compare. Spread is simple but sufficient: eggs station, cereal, pastries, plain rice, noodles/kuay teow, fish/chicken, corn porridge etc.

What I do like is that during the complimentary breakfast, tables are separated into the 'smoking' and 'non-smoking' zone.

In a nutshell, I will probably not return. For a price of USD75/night, I guess there are several other options to select from.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

During a recent visit back to Batam, I wanted to be close to the Nagoya area where I used to live.

I looked at another place first, but it was ridiculously overpriced (might have been due to it being mid Ramadan and related celebrations). So I found Goodway had a reasonable rate and it's basically across the road from the bar area as well as next door to a CBA ATM machine :).. dangerous combination, but convenient.

as per the other reviews, this hotel is a bit dated and could use a lick of paint. I noticed a bunch of guys were doing some cosmetic updating around the reception area one night, so it seems they are doing something with it. But it is still an older hotel.

The room I got looked out onto the pool area and smelt a bit musty. Bed wasn't uncomfortable, but it wasn't all that great either. Wifi was good, minibar was cold and had drinks inside.
I did order room service a few times - it was okay, but the last time I ordered steak and it was inedible. I was just being lazy.. there's a great spot about 6 minutes walk away (Cock and Bull) for a steak (New PLace is also good for food).

I ate in the Japanese restaurant downstairs one night. It was okay.. not sure I would go back

I paid about $50USD per night.

I think this place is fine for a weekend if you aren't too fussy and don't stay in the hotel other than to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I really love this hotel. I came here for many times. Old but still elegant. The room size is large enough, elegant and luxury. Even its old, but it still displays a luxury hotel, we can see from the elegant lobby, (they offer a karaoke room in the lobby). Nice swimming pool +jacuzzi, even we can understand it's been aged. The staff, bell-boy, room-service, everything is well. And the food? Very complete breakfast..delicious meals. You wouldn't disappointed of their breakfast meals. At dinner time, I usually order Sup Buntut for my dinner, superb. I can't resist to order again in the next visit. Four star facilities with cheap price.

Room Tip: Make sure they didn't put you in room which is very far from the lobby/ lift (wings its very far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Been here for three nights. The room look old, and dark. Maybe, they should paint it with brighter colour. The breakfast was good, wifi was fast, and located near Nagoya downton. We just can walk to reach hang out places.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We went for a day tour in batam and everything goes well even till the doorstep of the hotel as the staffs were nice and friendly. Only when it comes to check-in as we booked a total of 5 rooms with 3 rooms having additional beds but one room given to us was actually occupied. We just can't figured it out how and why the receptionist will have an extra key to an occupied room! It was only when we went back down to the counter that they provided us with another key to the next door of the occupied room but we rejected it as the corridor was literally having a row of people sitting there where we find it unsafe so we insist of changing our room to another level. However, the receptionist insist us that they no longer have any vacancy rooms but upon our bugging they reluctantly gave us a room key to another level and told us that we cannot change the room anymore. Nevertheless, we went to the room but was pleasantly surprised to find a stretch of smell in the room with aircon switching on to the coldest temperature and sensing it suspicious we decided to leave the room empty throughout the night! I won't denied that the other 4 rooms given to us were pretty good with one being sort of like a renovated room looking beautiful and cosy though plus the 3 single beds room given was rather spacious only that the liners of all beds in every room were slightly stained. Moreover, the breakfast was great with many varieties of food to choose from and the pool was good for having both adult and children height but the gym was a little old designed without aircon. Now, the wifi as only 2 out of the 4 rooms we gotten were able to surf the net as the other 2 rooms was totally unable to connect and it was a little disappointed as it was written that there's wifi under the amenities which we were all looking forward to using during our stay. Overall, it was okay to stay if you are only there for a night!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We booked 2 Deluxe rooms on Vesak holiday for my in-laws and us 2 adts+ 2 chds. Arrived at about 1130am and the recept says rooms were not ready so we went out for lunch and some shopping. Came back about 230 recept says deluxe were fully booked so they free upgraded us to Junior Suite for both rooms!! It was gorgeous and bed was big enough to fit me,husband and 2 kids with some space left! There was bathtub. Wifi password was given to us upon check-in. For in-room and also lobby. Didnt work well at first so tried a few more times then it was okay. Pool was good not that big but kiddy pool was next to it. Breakfast was great! Many varieties. Mix of western and asian. Egg station was great. Kids breakfast was 40000 (Sgd5) which was cheap for what you're having. Check out was fast. No hassle. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodway Hotel - Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodway Hotel - Batam

Address: Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodway Hotel - Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel Located At The Heart of the City's Premier Shopping & Entertainment District. Nestled in the vibrancy of the famous Nagoya Hill area, Goodway Hotel Batam is located in close walking proximity to the premier shopping and entertainment district. It offers you accommodation with a comfortable, warm and relaxing ambience. Whether you are on a business trip or leisure, we are dedicated to make your stay a delightful and unforgettable one. Goodway Hotel Batam conveniently features 268 rooms and suites along with full amenities, warm personal services and hospitality. As one of the Top M.I.C.E Hotels in Batam Archipelago Island, Goodway Hotel Batam offers you meetings and wedding venues up to a capacity of over 1000 people. Meetings and wedding occasions at Goodway Hotel are fully supported by our catering and banquet team, who will ensure everything you need for an exquisite occassion will suit your taste and budget. Selection of authentic Japanese fare, Indonesian dishes and Asian cuisines awaits you at our restaurants and bars, passionately made by the expert chefs. Goodway Hotel Batam also offers access to the nearby Nagoya Shopping Mall and "Kampong Bule" for night entertainment and other Fast food establishments surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Goodway Hotel - Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodway Hotel - Batam Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodway Hotel - Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.