We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near to shopping complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodway Hotel - Batam

Save Saved
You added Goodway Hotel - Batam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goodway Hotel - Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Pulau Batam, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nagoya
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“near to shopping complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked a room, and it came wout windows. Nevertheless, we spent the whole day outdoors so it was not a prob. Very helpful butler showed us our room,n yes it took us about 10min to reach as ours was the northwing area. Toilet was clean although flush was not working properly. Aircon was not that cooling,we called the maintanence but he didnt show up after 45min so we left the room. Breakfast buffet was okay. Very near to Avava Mall n Nagoya hill mall. Will stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room near hotel reception or you will have to walk a distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    28
    22
    17
    10
See reviews for
20
15
7
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

book 3 rooms for a family trip. Each room with different experience/ambience.

Hotel is undergoing a make-over so kindly request for the new room for a better stay. Unfortunately i had the stay in the old one where not only does it stink but the room has no windows or proper ventilation. Noise level for this room is very bad too as the very next room due to the renovation nextt door. Best if the hotel were to not give this room to guests where the renovation is taking palce.

Service staff wasn't very helpful too. Encountered numerous issue and assistance will take very long(30 mins).Get lockout of our room a couple of times due to the faulty card and each time will have to chase them to send someone asap. It happen for all our 3 rooms too. Something they should look at.

Location is conveniently 10 mins walk away from Nagoya hill. Breakfast buffet is ok. My parents got the new room and it was way better so maybe in the future i think this might be a good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is quite large and located at a walking distance from the Nagoya Hill shopping mall (even if the walking is not interesting at all).
The major problem with this hotel is the bad smell in the corridors and in some of the rooms. Our room was not too bad (even if the bad smell was also there and the carpet was very dirty) but our friends got a room with an excessive smell of smoke. When we raised the issue at the reception, asking for a non-smoking room, they told us that all their rooms are smoking!?!
Probably we got the worst rooms in the hotel, located in the worst part (actually we pick a very good fare). But even looking at the renovated parts the impression is still about a lack of cleaniness.
Breakfast is quite good, even if surprisingly (but not much, having seen this all over Indonesia) the fruit side is poor.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1012 and North Wing in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel has quite a large and grandious feel when entering the foyer. Friendly and relaxed staff, excellent room service, nice pool, restaurant and bar. Short walk to the Nagoya Entertainment District which is a fun night out and short taxi ride to some good eateries. The room service menu is reasonably priced and the food is great.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool can be noisey during the day with kids playing in the pool. Rooms facing the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A very nice, clean and friendly hotel though in need of renovation. Very spacious reception area which is also "smoker-friendly" with friendly staff. Good facilities - pool, sauna, gym bar etc. The room was spacious but no WiFi service available except in the lobby area. A decent selection for breakfast with a small area for non-smokers that was a distance away from the food area. Again very "smoker-friendly". The next morning my Credit Card issuing bank emailed me to confirm if my credit card was used for puchases in Singapore, California and 2 in France that morning. This was the very card I used the previous evening for checking-in and had not used in the previous 3 weeks. The General Manager assured me that this had never happened in the 5 years he had been there and promised to investigate and revert asap.

Room Tip: Pretty quiet especially at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
259 helpful votes 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotels offers excellent value. It is an old hotel and probably needs renovation, but the rooms are spacious and clean, with plenty of plugs, lighting, facilities and good bathroom. The minibar prices are reasonable. The hotel houses a health club with a tropical swimming pool, sauna and hot tub (although the hot tub needs to be cleaned!!). The included breakfast buffet is excellent. The location is perfect, within walking distance to restaurants, convenience shops, bars and the mall. In my opinion, this is the best value in Batam. The staff is very corteous (although they could not find a plug adaptor) and friendly.

Room Tip: If you need a taxi, do not take the hotel taxi, nor the taxis sitting next to the hotel, as they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Went there for 2 nights. The hotel location is walking distance to all this handbags shops also nearby nagoya hill mall. Not much thing to do in Batam itself, but the hotel provide lot of amenities such as swim pool, sauna, jacuzi, gym etc. All of it are functioning and not by the name only. The staff are helpful and response are great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodway Hotel - Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodway Hotel - Batam

Address: Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Pulau Batam, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodway Hotel - Batam 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel Located At The Heart of the City's Premier Shopping & Entertainment District. Nestled in the vibrancy of the famous Nagoya Hill area, Goodway Hotel Batam is located in close walking proximity to the premier shopping and entertainment district. It offers you accommodation with a comfortable, warm and relaxing ambience. Whether you are on a business trip or leisure, we are dedicated to make your stay a delightful and unforgettable one. Goodway Hotel Batam conveniently features 268 rooms and suites along with full amenities, warm personal services and hospitality. As one of the Top M.I.C.E Hotels in Batam Archipelago Island, Goodway Hotel Batam offers you meetings and wedding venues up to a capacity of over 1000 people. Meetings and wedding occasions at Goodway Hotel are fully supported by our catering and banquet team, who will ensure everything you need for an exquisite occassion will suit your taste and budget. Selection of authentic Japanese fare, Indonesian dishes and Asian cuisines awaits you at our restaurants and bars, passionately made by the expert chefs. Goodway Hotel Batam also offers access to the nearby Nagoya Shopping Mall and "Kampong Bule" for night entertainment and other Fast food establishments surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Goodway Hotel - Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodway Hotel - Batam Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodway Hotel - Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.