We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goodway Hotel - Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Goodway Hotel - Batam to your Saves list
Goodway Hotel - Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SEASONAL OFFER IDR455.000
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Nagoya
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I chose this hotel for two main reasons. The first is cost and second is central location in Nagoya. This is not a new hotel however, it is well maintained. Staff is very friendly and helpfull. Traditional Indonesian food. However, no pork surved in this hotel. Many resturants in the area and there are 2 malls also close by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    31
    32
    21
    12
See reviews for
23
18
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
SGP
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is the sign beside the main entrance of the hotel. I can only imagine the number of complaints they got from guests before they put up the sign.

I got a junior suite for the space. The room is big, but the furniture is a little dated and the room feels more like a 1 star extended stay america type. the toilet was not exactly the cleanest but still usable

Breakfast was quite bad. Perhaps its the holiday weekend, and the lack of staff. A boy not more than 14 years old was cooking the eggs and managed to killed everyone's impression of eggs. But he is not to blame. he is clearly not old enough to work.

We left a wallet in the safe and checked out. Went to the shopping mall and realised and came back to the hotel. Told the receptionist. She called housekeeping and we had to wait 10 min in the lobby before we could go upstairs. Once upstairs, the wallet was found and the money intact. However, we realise that the staff looked really nervous. thats when i realise the money while there has been moved from one compartment to another. The staff clearly removed the money from the wallet and had to put it back as we came back. thats when we realised why we needed to wait 10 min in the lobby.

There are plenty of hotels out there with better service and hopefully more honest. this is clearly not a four star hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay here??
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Service was great and everyone smiles and welcomes you. The Taxi were always on hand and take us anywhere we like. Not Far from Singapore so spent a few days there via Ferry.The Breakfast was big and varied and we went over Chinese Holiday and was busy but there was always room for us in the breakfast room. Its a good location for spa and massage palaces. Lots of tourists from Singapore pop over for few days. Batam is old and outdated city but the shopping malls are great and with bargin prices.

Room Tip: The service was good here. The Hotel was near to a lot of shopping malls and spa and they were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

What a joke this hotel has become. July was my second and last stay at Badway Batam. I e-mailed this hotel more than 6 times to confirm my booking as i was arriving late. They neglected to reply. They also never replied to the customer survey i submitted last time. ( the manager insisted he would reply answering some questions I had for subsequent visits ). We booked the deluxe room this time. The only difference was a flat screen tv, a balcony with a sliding door which wouldn't lock and clothing from the previous guests. Wardrobe shelves were dusty, The mould, stains and poor plumbing is just the same as in the superior rooms. In fact, the lesser standard room we had last time seemed to be bigger. I complained to the reception as the balcony door wouldn't lock, the bed was sandy feeling, the towels stained, and the toilet had water stains, poo stains and dirt stains. The wall over the bath recess was extremely mouldy and had rusty water stains running from the ceiling. Water squireted from the side of the corroded shower rose onto the toilet, We were ridiculed by management about the state of the bathroom " of course the bathroom is dirty, the room hasn't been made up yet". Then, when we showed them the state of the toilet and walls, no apology was made. The mattress protector had numerous urine and other bodily fluid stains on. No offer of help to take our luggage out to the car was offered by staff. This hotel is definately not of a four star standard. I have been in better 2 star hotels and had better service from hotels of no stars

Room Tip: book a room in another hotel is my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

3 nights, 3x times towels only when asked for.... Answer: We have not enough, the towels are with the cleaner! My deposit box was defect, even after asking after check in and on the next morning, replacement on the last day only!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2nights and we had a good sleep because the bed was so big and comfy ^^
It's an old hotel but clean and well maintained, friendly staff, breakfast is so-so, and it's around 10mins walking distance to nagoya mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

I went to batam with family and stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The building was old but stiil good condition. It was located at the center of the city. Many public places could be reached from here. We rent a car with the driver to bring us to some shopping centre, restaurants, and others spots. The hotel was quite comfortable and the people was nice and really helpful. The pool was not so big but it has sauna room and gym. Overall, we enjoyed our time in here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goodway Hotel - Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodway Hotel - Batam

Address: Jalan Imam Bonjol No. 1 | Batam Island, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Goodway Hotel - Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Hotel Located At The Heart of the City's Premier Shopping & Entertainment District. Nestled in the vibrancy of the famous Nagoya Hill area, Goodway Hotel Batam is located in close walking proximity to the premier shopping and entertainment district. It offers you accommodation with a comfortable, warm and relaxing ambience. Whether you are on a business trip or leisure, we are dedicated to make your stay a delightful and unforgettable one. Goodway Hotel Batam conveniently features 268 rooms and suites along with full amenities, warm personal services and hospitality. As one of the Top M.I.C.E Hotels in Batam Archipelago Island, Goodway Hotel Batam offers you meetings and wedding venues up to a capacity of over 1000 people. Meetings and wedding occasions at Goodway Hotel are fully supported by our catering and banquet team, who will ensure everything you need for an exquisite occassion will suit your taste and budget. Selection of authentic Japanese fare, Indonesian dishes and Asian cuisines awaits you at our restaurants and bars, passionately made by the expert chefs. Goodway Hotel Batam also offers access to the nearby Nagoya Shopping Mall and "Kampong Bule" for night entertainment and other Fast food establishments surrounds the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Goodway Hotel - Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodway Hotel - Batam Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodway Hotel - Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.