We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New with both disadvantages and potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Imam Bonjol, Kampung Utama No.1, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Nagoya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New with both disadvantages and potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Firstly, it's a comfortable place. My deluxe room had a comfortable queen sized bed with many pillows and a soft comforter. The hotel places little touches that are unexpected, like a mobile serving tray for tea.

However, its a little bare in some places. Its ads promise a gym and also tries to sell gym memberships. But when I was there, the gym was not ready- apparently it's a work in progress. The mini bar, room service delivery didn't have anything. It does however have free complimentary coffee and tea. Food is so-so @ meal times. The reception and lounge are quiet (music?) and don't have any life.

I had no problems with the bathroom flooding like some people did. I also appreciate the smoke free lobby and rooms as well as the serenity of the surroundings.

The main minus point is the location. Although it's supposed to be a short walk to the nagoya hill shopping centre, it runs on the road where many cars and motorbikes zip by and as a lone traveller I was truly concerned I would be a victim of snatch theft. I could opt for a cab but that would set me back by a 4 or 5 dollars per trip and frankly it's really necessary after nightfall for me due to visibility. I feel that if it improved its in-house services and added more life and facilities people would have more options. There are no shops nearby and therefore one definitely has to go to the mall for basic needs.

Security and service was gracious. Staff could understand English. However upon reaching they made me wait for 15 mins when my room key couldn't open the door, then abruptly changed my room when they found it was actually occupied (?!). A bit strange over there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Yet again, I stepped my foot on the familiar grounds of Batam. This time round, I look forward to staying at this new hotel that came up recently in the vicinity of Nagoya Hills.

A 50,000Rp taxi ride took me to Nagoya Mansion from Batam Centre. Arriving at the entrance, vehicles went through an undercarriage check before stopping at the lift lobby, right after the security check area. Taking the lift to the hotel lobby, we arrived at the hotel lobby for our check in. Pretty spacious lobby area with comfortable seating and the table for the welcome drinks were at the side, which it seemed, was self-service.

We got upgraded to a suite as we were told that the hotel is full and our booked rooms were not available, definitely no objections there! Located at the end of the corridor, we opened the door to our room. It was a two-bedroom unit and modernly designed. Plenty of space within and bedrooms were rather comfy too. The windows offered great views of the city and the sea.

As mentioned by other travellers, the bathroom does get a little flooded when you shower, but it did not bother me much. However, I did not really appreciate the window beside as it makes me feel kind of exposed. It wasn’t a clear window of course, but well……

Breakfast was rather average and the restaurant was quite small, though most of the staffs were good in their service attitude. You could have your meal alfresco by the pool too. The pool was not huge but they have a lifeguard on duty, which is a good thing.

The hotel is indeed located within walking distance to Nagoya Hills Mall but it may not exactly be easy for those with elderly or child. You will be walking on the road side for a bit, before you thread on a path lined by wild grass and strewn with litter. Then you could either walk on or turn right to a small road leading up to a mosque, then turning out left towards the mall again. Either ways will get you there.

It had been a good experience and while there could be some hiccups here and there with it being new, I think it have the potential to become one of the preferred hotels in Nagoya.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Been reading up on tripadvisor review prior to my check in with the hotel. Got the deal from deals.com for my friend birthday celebration.

There are a mix review of this hotel making me quite worried. Here's my two cents worth of review for the hotel.

Upon check in (9July) the staff were really friendly. Well verse in English. I requested for a King size bed and was given it (I know this should not be used to judge if a hotel is good as it always subjected to availability). 4th to the 16th floor are service apartments and 17th onwards are hotel rooms.

Was being allocated a room on the 17th floor. As I bought the voucher from a deal, I didn't expect the room to be good, but this was indeed a reasonable room.

As it is still in the pre-opening period, renovations works are still going on. Expect to hear drillings if you are staying here. That didn't really affect me thou as it is only going on in the afternoon.

Toilet wise has a weird smell, prolly due to the drainage system but it isn't that bad. Room is spacious good enough for 2 person to be staying comfortably.

Called to request for extra bath soap(housekeeping) and bottle opener(room service). The staff was unable to communicate in English, lucky enough I do speak minimum Beharsa so be prepared. I love the bed, its soft and nice to sleep in! Location being near to Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre, about 10mins by foot. Breakfast is good but I expected more variety which it lacks in.

Might stay in this hotel again after their renovation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Tour agent experience:
I have booked a package with AMW Travel and was told that we will be upgraded to 2 x 2-bedroom suites for 8 adults although the package description stated deluxe rooms. However, thanks to reviews from fellow Tripadvisor's members, I realize that there are only 1 queen-sized bed and 1 single bed per bedroom suite which are insufficient for 8 adults. Hence, I called up AMW Travel and requested for at least extra beds for the 2-bedroom suites, but was told that there will be extra charges for the extra beds. Therefore, I told them that I prefer the original deluxe rooms. After 3 incorrect service vouchers and numerous email exchanges, I finally had gotten a service voucher with the correct passenger's name, correct number of pax and correct room type (4 x deluxe rooms). That was my experience with the travel agent prior to our Batam trip.

Service:
On D-day, after our Batam day tour, we arrived at the Nagoya Mansion Hotel. Alas, the front counter staff assigned us 2 x 2-bedroom suites! The staff appeared occupied and did not seem to care that the rooms were assigned wrongly and kept saying that all other rooms were fully booked. After a long but unsuccessful talk with the staff, we decided to stick with the 2 x 2-bedroom suites as we were all tired and hungry after a long day tour. That is not without asking them to add extra beds for each of the 2-bedroom suite. No extra cost was incurred for the extra beds, but it took the housekeeping some time to bring in the extra beds.

Deposit:
$50 deposit for each room is required and it was kind of weird that they required $150 deposit for 2 x 2-bedroom suites. No negotiation was allowed on the deposit amount, or apparently the front desk staff did not seem to care. I still do not understand how the deposit amount was computed.

Location:
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence is 10-15 minutes’ walk from Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall, and estimated an hour drive from Sekupang ferry terminal. To get to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall, follow the slope downhill from the hotel, turn right when you hit the main road, continue walking until you see the shopping mall on your right. There is a 24-hours pharmacy on the foot of the hill.

Room:
I have to give credit to the room though. Eventhough it was the wrong room type and the single bedroom is kind of small at the allocated 2-bedroom suite, the living room and master bedroom are pretty spacious. It comes with a pantry, where water can be boiled and fridge is provided. In addition, the suite has 2 bathrooms, 1 for the master bedroom and 1 general bathroom located in the living room. There are 2 televisions, 1 in the master bedroom and 1 in the living room. The surrounding of the hotel can be seen from the suite. Another plus point is their bed; it is very soft and comfortable. Amenities such as toiletries and beverages are provided.

However, I do concur with fellow Tripadvisor's members that the rooms are not well-maintained. Although it is a new tower, the fittings seem worn.

Breakfast:
After experiencing service which was less than desired during our check-in, it was a stark contrast at their breakfast dining area. Breakfast is good, if not better than good, with a great variety of selections; cooked food, congee, bread station, fruit station, cereal and fruit juice station, freshly made waffle and omelet station, egg station, and hot coffee and tea.

Their service staffs at dining area were prompt in their service, clearing the used plates and cups with speed. They even serve with a smile, which is a huge redeeming factor at Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence.

Room Tip: - Bring along extra SGD dollar for room deposit. - Do not accept free upgrade from travel agency to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel booked by the travel agency. We were given a choice of a few hotels but chose Nagoya Mansion because it's a newer hotel. Room was big, but the moment we stepped in, we could smell a strong damp musky smell, which was quite unbearable. We had to call the hotel staff to come in to spray some air freshener.

There are lots of table space in the room, for your luggage and shopping bags, no need to put on the floor at all. The bed is clean and very comfy, love the comfy bed, thumbs up for that. Good hotel security, our taxi has to be stopped for security checks before being allowed to drive in. The taxi driver told us it's a safety check for bombs.

Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and always smiling especially the bell boy on the ground floor. Contrary to what I have read in some of the reviews here, I personally had no problems with them. In fact, their service was really good, ever ready to help us hold the lift door and door and giving directions and assistance. When the staff came to spray air freshener in our room, we forgot to ask him spray the other room too, so had to call him to come immediately after he left, no complaints too.

My only complain was the room was really not well maintained especially the bathroom, quite disappointed, given that it is still a fairly new hotel, and I really cannot stand the damp musky smell. It took a little while, after the aircon is on, before the smell went away. One of the glasses in the toilet was very dirty, there was a stain on it. The toilet, even after flushing, still has yellow water, guess their flush system isn't that good. When we checked in, the toilet roll was already finishing, they should have changed to a new one when new guests check in.

Hotel breakfast was a nice selection of buffet spread. Self service of coffee and tea as well as juices and water are available, but the staff came to our table to serve us coffee fresh from the pot. Now, that's what i called going the extra mile. Breakfast is from 6-10am, so obviously if you want to try their breakfast, go before 10am.

Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall is just a short walk away, we tried walking there, maybe we didnt know of any shortcut, the first half of the walk was quite daunting, having to walk by the side of the road with passing cars, since there was no pedestrian pathway. Luckily, there was a pathway after that for the rest of the walk. It was ok since it's in the daytime and still bright, I do not advise walking there at night when it is dark, for it can be quite dangerous with the passing cars, just my personal thoughts. Took a cab back to the hotel for 25000 rp.

Nice hotel with a good location and good service staff, but maintenance of rooms should be improved. Something should be done about the musky smell too, air freshener is really not a long term solution.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stay here as a couple on 14th June 2013 as part of a 1 day sightseeing tour. The hotel reception is on the 3rd floor and the lady at the reception was kind enough to give us a room on the 17th floor. We have to placed a S$50 deposit although we have already paid everything when we booked the deal and there were no drinks in the minbar.The hotel areas were spacious and the room was reasonably big.There is no bath tub . Upon checking in we made our way to the Nagoya Hill Shopping Center nearby (5 to 10 minutes easy walk)It is just turn right as you exit the hotel and a few more right turns. If you can find the short cut it is only 5 minutes I think.The shopping center is quite big with eateries and shops. You can get your kueh lapis here also.Breakfast was okay with a reasonable spread. Although our ferry was 3.30 pm indonesian time the tour pick us up from our hotel at 1230 and send us to the Harbour Bay ferry terminal. Luckily there were lots of shops and eateries here to while way the time. The nearby Harbour Bay Mall is not fully operational so there was not much to see here.

Room Tip: Can ask for high floor but there is not much of a view here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There were 5 of us and we got upgraded to 2 BR Suite. Our Suite was big n good. Just that initially flush not working but room service was prompt to fix the problem. One of the toilet gets little flooded while showering as the drain area is abit further, but nt a big issue.. Comfy n clean bed, pillow & room.. Swimming pool was good, 1.5m adult pool & baby pool. Their bbq dinner is 150 000 but we did nt eat there.. Their Bfast was nice n decent.. The Nagoya Hill Shopping centre was a 10 min walk from hotel, have hypermart n other shops.. We took taxi back to hotel at 40,000. Both check in & check out was fast n efficient.. Friendly staffs. We, gals , really had a great time.No complains =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Kampung Utama No.1, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfort awaits guests in Nagoya Mansion, a 5-minute stroll from Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. The luxurious property boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a restaurant. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building.Nagoya Mansion is a 10-minute drive from Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal and a 30-minute drive from Batam Centre Port. Hang Nadim International Airport is 45 minutes' drive away.Fully air-conditioned, rooms are fitted with fine bedding and warm lighting. In-room comforts include a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar and a fridge. Shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms.Luggage storage facilities and daily newspapers are available at the 24-hour front desk. Staff can arrange car rental and airport transfers upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence Batam, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.