We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and rooms, but service standard can be further improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Imam Bonjol, Kampung Utama No.1, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Nagoya
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good location and rooms, but service standard can be further improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Tour agent experience:
I have booked a package with AMW Travel and was told that we will be upgraded to 2 x 2-bedroom suites for 8 adults although the package description stated deluxe rooms. However, thanks to reviews from fellow Tripadvisor's members, I realize that there are only 1 queen-sized bed and 1 single bed per bedroom suite which are insufficient for 8 adults. Hence, I called up AMW Travel and requested for at least extra beds for the 2-bedroom suites, but was told that there will be extra charges for the extra beds. Therefore, I told them that I prefer the original deluxe rooms. After 3 incorrect service vouchers and numerous email exchanges, I finally had gotten a service voucher with the correct passenger's name, correct number of pax and correct room type (4 x deluxe rooms). That was my experience with the travel agent prior to our Batam trip.

Service:
On D-day, after our Batam day tour, we arrived at the Nagoya Mansion Hotel. Alas, the front counter staff assigned us 2 x 2-bedroom suites! The staff appeared occupied and did not seem to care that the rooms were assigned wrongly and kept saying that all other rooms were fully booked. After a long but unsuccessful talk with the staff, we decided to stick with the 2 x 2-bedroom suites as we were all tired and hungry after a long day tour. That is not without asking them to add extra beds for each of the 2-bedroom suite. No extra cost was incurred for the extra beds, but it took the housekeeping some time to bring in the extra beds.

Deposit:
$50 deposit for each room is required and it was kind of weird that they required $150 deposit for 2 x 2-bedroom suites. No negotiation was allowed on the deposit amount, or apparently the front desk staff did not seem to care. I still do not understand how the deposit amount was computed.

Location:
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence is 10-15 minutes’ walk from Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall, and estimated an hour drive from Sekupang ferry terminal. To get to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall, follow the slope downhill from the hotel, turn right when you hit the main road, continue walking until you see the shopping mall on your right. There is a 24-hours pharmacy on the foot of the hill.

Room:
I have to give credit to the room though. Eventhough it was the wrong room type and the single bedroom is kind of small at the allocated 2-bedroom suite, the living room and master bedroom are pretty spacious. It comes with a pantry, where water can be boiled and fridge is provided. In addition, the suite has 2 bathrooms, 1 for the master bedroom and 1 general bathroom located in the living room. There are 2 televisions, 1 in the master bedroom and 1 in the living room. The surrounding of the hotel can be seen from the suite. Another plus point is their bed; it is very soft and comfortable. Amenities such as toiletries and beverages are provided.

However, I do concur with fellow Tripadvisor's members that the rooms are not well-maintained. Although it is a new tower, the fittings seem worn.

Breakfast:
After experiencing service which was less than desired during our check-in, it was a stark contrast at their breakfast dining area. Breakfast is good, if not better than good, with a great variety of selections; cooked food, congee, bread station, fruit station, cereal and fruit juice station, freshly made waffle and omelet station, egg station, and hot coffee and tea.

Their service staffs at dining area were prompt in their service, clearing the used plates and cups with speed. They even serve with a smile, which is a huge redeeming factor at Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence.

Room Tip: - Bring along extra SGD dollar for room deposit. - Do not accept free upgrade from travel agency to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
14
13
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed one night at the hotel booked by the travel agency. We were given a choice of a few hotels but chose Nagoya Mansion because it's a newer hotel. Room was big, but the moment we stepped in, we could smell a strong damp musky smell, which was quite unbearable. We had to call the hotel staff to come in to spray some air freshener.

There are lots of table space in the room, for your luggage and shopping bags, no need to put on the floor at all. The bed is clean and very comfy, love the comfy bed, thumbs up for that. Good hotel security, our taxi has to be stopped for security checks before being allowed to drive in. The taxi driver told us it's a safety check for bombs.

Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and always smiling especially the bell boy on the ground floor. Contrary to what I have read in some of the reviews here, I personally had no problems with them. In fact, their service was really good, ever ready to help us hold the lift door and door and giving directions and assistance. When the staff came to spray air freshener in our room, we forgot to ask him spray the other room too, so had to call him to come immediately after he left, no complaints too.

My only complain was the room was really not well maintained especially the bathroom, quite disappointed, given that it is still a fairly new hotel, and I really cannot stand the damp musky smell. It took a little while, after the aircon is on, before the smell went away. One of the glasses in the toilet was very dirty, there was a stain on it. The toilet, even after flushing, still has yellow water, guess their flush system isn't that good. When we checked in, the toilet roll was already finishing, they should have changed to a new one when new guests check in.

Hotel breakfast was a nice selection of buffet spread. Self service of coffee and tea as well as juices and water are available, but the staff came to our table to serve us coffee fresh from the pot. Now, that's what i called going the extra mile. Breakfast is from 6-10am, so obviously if you want to try their breakfast, go before 10am.

Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall is just a short walk away, we tried walking there, maybe we didnt know of any shortcut, the first half of the walk was quite daunting, having to walk by the side of the road with passing cars, since there was no pedestrian pathway. Luckily, there was a pathway after that for the rest of the walk. It was ok since it's in the daytime and still bright, I do not advise walking there at night when it is dark, for it can be quite dangerous with the passing cars, just my personal thoughts. Took a cab back to the hotel for 25000 rp.

Nice hotel with a good location and good service staff, but maintenance of rooms should be improved. Something should be done about the musky smell too, air freshener is really not a long term solution.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stay here as a couple on 14th June 2013 as part of a 1 day sightseeing tour. The hotel reception is on the 3rd floor and the lady at the reception was kind enough to give us a room on the 17th floor. We have to placed a S$50 deposit although we have already paid everything when we booked the deal and there were no drinks in the minbar.The hotel areas were spacious and the room was reasonably big.There is no bath tub . Upon checking in we made our way to the Nagoya Hill Shopping Center nearby (5 to 10 minutes easy walk)It is just turn right as you exit the hotel and a few more right turns. If you can find the short cut it is only 5 minutes I think.The shopping center is quite big with eateries and shops. You can get your kueh lapis here also.Breakfast was okay with a reasonable spread. Although our ferry was 3.30 pm indonesian time the tour pick us up from our hotel at 1230 and send us to the Harbour Bay ferry terminal. Luckily there were lots of shops and eateries here to while way the time. The nearby Harbour Bay Mall is not fully operational so there was not much to see here.

Room Tip: Can ask for high floor but there is not much of a view here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

There were 5 of us and we got upgraded to 2 BR Suite. Our Suite was big n good. Just that initially flush not working but room service was prompt to fix the problem. One of the toilet gets little flooded while showering as the drain area is abit further, but nt a big issue.. Comfy n clean bed, pillow & room.. Swimming pool was good, 1.5m adult pool & baby pool. Their bbq dinner is 150 000 but we did nt eat there.. Their Bfast was nice n decent.. The Nagoya Hill Shopping centre was a 10 min walk from hotel, have hypermart n other shops.. We took taxi back to hotel at 40,000. Both check in & check out was fast n efficient.. Friendly staffs. We, gals , really had a great time.No complains =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Travelled as a couple and it is the second time we travelled to Batam. It was on a tour basis where we bought the deal at Deal.com.sg. We followed the tour and only check in to the hotel at around 5.30pm (indo time). I did a bit of read up from the reviews before our day of travel. First impression was WOW!! New and unique hotel where the lobby was not at the ground floor. The bell boy was friendly and greeted us in english instead of Bahasa Indonesia. We were amazed! When we reach the lobby and was about to check in, the front desk told us that we have to put a deposit of SGD$50 which we do not know and even our tour guide did not tell us about it. My boyfriend had a talk with him and assured him that we will not call for room services or any services that needs money. After the talk, the front desk only collected SGD $30 from us because thats only what we have. We got the deluxe room at level 17. When we first stepped into the room, the room was pretty big and spacious compared to our previous one. We have a pretty nice view outside our room compared to our previous one which only located at level 2. We saw an ashtray in our room so we thought our room is the smoking room till i saw the smoke detector and told my boyfriend to call the front desk and ask. Since our hotel is 6 months old, the management have not decided which rooms are non-smoking and smoking rooms. The spread of the breakfast is quite good as we went there quite early around 8am (indo time). Their eggs and waffle station have to wait because they do it on the spot. Overall, my hotel stay was SATISFIED!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and overall hated the experience.

First day room was not ready at check in time. So me and my partner went out for a day trip. We arrive at 6pm and initially got a room on the 20th floor. When we went up, we got a shock when we found the room was already occupied and that my access card could actually open the door. Went down to the registration counter to be greeted by an unapologetic staff. The staff doesn't seem to know what to do and they keep pushing our issue to thier other colleague. They checked in 4 other people until I got feedup and raised my voice to ask for attention and get us a room. They finally gave us a twin room but we had originally requested for a queen bed. I ask them that I wanted queen bed and they just said "only have twin" then left us on our own. I would have accepted the twin bed if they serve us with more hospitality. By the way there was another couple who had the same problem as us. They also walked into a room which was occupied.

Anyways the room doesn't have a chain bolt on the door so I got concerned that another guest can just walk into our room if the staff mixed up rooms again.

Hygiene was pretty bad at the breakfast buffet. They never clean tables with a cloth and I could still see grease and bits of food on the tables. They place clean utensil on the dirty table without any napkin. Felt so grossed out. I had to wash my cutleries just to be sure. Food kept running out and staff take ages to refill.

The only consolation was that the hotel is new so facility was still acceptable. Ill never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nagoya hotels

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

There were 6 of us as friends and were supposed to be given 3 Deluxe Rooms. Instead, they offered 1 deluxe room and upgrade us to a 2 bedroom suite at a new Tower A. It was the first day the Tower A was opened. There was no quality check. The 2 Bedroom suite has 1 super single bed and 1 queen size bed. Impossible for 4 adults to sleep. The room windows has no curtain. We request for change to 2 Deluxe rooms instead.

The new deluxe room was even more disappointing. When I shower, the place was flooded. We called engineer and found the seal to the drainage was not opened. Then, the aircon was not working. We called the engineer again and he meddled with the controller and it was fine. In middle of the night, the aircon stop automatically twice. My friend and I had bad headaches and shoulder pain due to lack of oxygen. Also, the bathroom has no towel hooks installed. Toilet bowl water was brownish yellow. The sofa was shaky considering a new Tower.

Following day, we feedback to the Manager-on-duty. He apologize and say the are in a trial and run period and he is not in authority to do anything for us. We requested to at least provide a complimentary transport service to Nagoya mall. We waited for 20 minutes and no transport provided. We left and decided to take a taxi which was ready available within a minute. Very disappointing. We feel we shouldn't be the guinea pigs to be tested for trial and run, we paid for the hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Kampung Utama No.1, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern comfort awaits guests in Nagoya Mansion, a 5-minute stroll from Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. The luxurious property boasts an outdoor pool, spa and a restaurant. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the building.Nagoya Mansion is a 10-minute drive from Harbour Bay Ferry Terminal and a 30-minute drive from Batam Centre Port. Hang Nadim International Airport is 45 minutes' drive away.Fully air-conditioned, rooms are fitted with fine bedding and warm lighting. In-room comforts include a flat-screen satellite TV, minibar and a fridge. Shower facilities and toiletries are provided in the en suite bathrooms.Luggage storage facilities and daily newspapers are available at the 24-hour front desk. Staff can arrange car rental and airport transfers upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence Batam, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.