We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-Rated Hotel/Residence” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence

Save Saved
You added Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Imam Bonjol, Kampung Utama No.1 | Batam, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Nagoya
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Over-Rated Hotel/Residence”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

At first, we were happy that we thought we got a good place at a good value for a 4-star hotel. Yes, the location is near Nagoya Mall but you need to walk about 10-15 minutes from the road and up the hill. So you need to prepare a good shoes for that if you don’t mind walking. Reception is on another level so you need to go by lift.

Room over-all is ok, like they got a comfortable pillow and bed. Air Con is ok. BUT the toilet finish has to be looked into. The door jamb, walls of the toilet needs some finishing. I suggest too to bring your own toiletries.

Buffet Breakfast is ok, got choices but the BBQ DINNER being offered is a BIG NO NO! Food is not worth paying. The dinner starts at 7pm but at 8pm, food was already finished & got very few choices and they don’t replenish right away. BBQ Foods were almost half-cooked. The juice was tasteless. We were also been misled of the price. When we arrived in the afternoon on our first day we saw the price on their whiteboard located at the Ground lift entrance, the rate was RP50,000++/person and so we invited our friends from another hotel to have dinner with us but unfortunately when we’re about to get our bill, we were surprised that the bill became RP150,000++/person. The restaurant manager was not even apologetic nor accommodating even though we explained our side that we all (5 of us) saw the rate was on RP50,000 , he just said that probably it was accidentally erased (but in 2 locations the rate were both the same - RP50,000++/person.

He even boasted that their hotel/restaurant is a 4-star hotel at that. But the funny thing there was he spoke to one of his staff thru their radio (in their local dialect – good thing some words can be understood) to check and correct the prices and after that he asked my husband to let him check again the rates written outside, lo & behold the price became RP150,000++/person (which you really can notice that “1” has been added for the spacing was very obvious) while the other whiteboard the numbers left were “3 0’s that obviously “50” was erased.

I would say, if the interior needs more improvement then STAFF needs to improve their customer service as well to be called a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    18
    7
    9
See reviews for
15
16
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been there with my significant other on 06 April and 07 April. First impression of the place is that it a new place on a hilltop and they are currently still very new in their operations. The lobby is located at the 3rd storey. When i checked in, the staffs were very polite and the surroundings of the lobby is very clean. We were required to give a SGD$50.00 upon check in so that if we ordered any room services, they would minus from that amount as our credit card details was not with them. As it was raining heavily with a growling stomach, we decided to eat at the restaraunt after checking in to the hotel room. At the restaraunt it was very empty as it was just me and gf and another couple. The food was good though not very fantastic but still palatable. Price wise it is reasonable not very expensive. We proceeded back to our hotel room and was very happy with the cleaniness of the hotel room and the layout. Even though we couldn't change to a queen size bed room due to an oversight on my side, the staff were kind enough to inform me politely which was great.

Fast forwarding to breakfast next day, the restaraunt was packed with people but we managed to find ourselves a seat. Food wise it was not bad, not much of a variety as it ranges from seafood fried rice, beehoon, sausages, samosas, salad with mock ham, cereal, bread, fresh orange juice and milk, steam chicken. The part that i need to queue for the food was the egg as the staff had to cook it on the spot and they have 3 different egg dishes mainly: sunny side-up, omelete and scramble eggs. Overall the dishes were ok. Check out timing was 12pm and we had a great time at batam. Amenities wise, they don't really have much as they are currently still new. Swimming pool is not very big, massage services are not available yet but they do have weekend BBQ party at the restaraunt which have bands performing late at night. Overall do not expect alot of amenities as they are currently still in their soft opening stage and not many services are available as of yet. I might come back again to this hotel but I will prefer to come back when the hotel amenities are more developed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Got back yesterday after spending 2 nights at Nagoya Mansion Hotel. Writing this review to help those who are desperately looking for one (I was the desperate one just a week before going Batam). Check-in was quick with friendly receps. (set aside sgd50 for deposit) Got a room at 19th floor. Not much of a view as our window faces the 2nd Tower of the hotel.

What I like:
- 4 pillows (2 normal sized, 2 big - may be too soft)
- Good working condition of air-con (was really cold at night as it started to rain)
- Great shower pressue and temperature
- Small issues in the room but was assisted and resolved very quickly
- Hotel provides metered new 6-seater taxi for hotel guest! - To Nagoya Shopping Ctr Rp. 30,000 ; To Megamall Rp. 40,000. [ Other taxis that runs on the roads without meter charged us the following rates when returning to Hotel - from Nagoya Shopping Ctr Rp. 40,000 ; from Megamall Rp. 50,000]
- Clean pool
- Wider choices of buffet breakfast on a Sunday morning

Some things to take note:
- Toilet bowl water seems yellowish after flushing but no weird smell so dont worry!
- Orignal coke sells at Rp. 22,000 per can (after tax/charges) - reason I say Original is because when you dine out, stalls/restaurants usually provides local version of coke which seems less gassy and much sweeter
- Not exactly walkable from Hotel to Nagoya Shopping Ctr as you would need to walk along the roads which can be quite dangerous (saw other guests walk in groups though but I strongly advise taking a taxi)

To sum up, Nagoya Mansion is a hotel with very friendly staff, always smiling when made eye contact. Very helpful and hope Hotel maintains this high level of service standard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Management screwed big time with my reservations & all they could say was "oh... I have to take care of many other reservations" (what a stupid excuse!)
They lied about the walking distance to the mall in nagoya hill, claiming it to be just a 3-min walk but it was actually a 10-15 mins sweaty walk on hilly road.
The gym is literally EMPTY! No point bringing along your exercise shoes. Very dark & quiet surrounding with no amenities around. No shuttle service provided and you have to use taxi service everytime if you dont wish to be drained out for having to walk to the main road.
Watching tv was like watching ju-on horror tv in the movies, you cant find a clear channel to watch & try calling their maintenance to rectify it. By the time they try to do something about it you are just about ready to check-out.
The air-con leaks the whole night & by the time I got up in the morning the rubbish bin that i put underneath was already 3/4 full of water.
It was a total let down for us all & we will never come back to this hotel as there are plenty of options out there in batam.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

One of the best location in Batam. Hotel is new, clean and best of all, service is also excellent. If ure hungry and craving for cheap local food, there's a stall right outside of the hotel serving some good decent mee goreng. There is also a 24hrs clinic/pharmacy beside the hotel.

The famous Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre is also around the corner which will take you about 10 minutes by walking. If u have the time, take a cab down to Jalan Bunga or BCC Hotel for their local food and shopping.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sumatra
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

the location is nearby the biggest shopping mall only 3 minutes walking distance it's call nagoya hill shopping center. me and family is really enjoy our holiday on this hotel thereafter will come back again soon

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and consisted of 2 bed rooms, living room is very good have 3 Tv in each roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Kampung Utama No.1 | Batam, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29444, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO NAGOYA MANSION HOTEL AND RESIDENCE Nagoya Mansion Hotel Residence is the newest iconic on the island , the first to offer Residential, Hotel and Lifestyle facilities in one environment. Other facilities are available to support your business and leisure activities include Meeting Rooms, Restaurant, Juice Bar, Food park, Bar, Swimming pool, Mini Mart, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence Batam, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.