We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than i expected!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harmoni Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Jl. Imam Bonjol, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nagoya
Melaka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“more than i expected!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

went here for a short holiday with my family.
the staff here all very polite n helpful.
had a wonderful surprise requested by my wife for the hotel management.
even had a cake n complimentary drink upon check in to my room.
would highly reccommend this hotel as the location of the hotel is juz a 5 min walk to nagoya hill mall.
lucky plaza is also a 5 min walk if u like to buy electronic items.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    26
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
11
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We book 4 rooms date 16-18 March for 12 pax.

Less then 5 mins walk (back door) to Nagoya Hill, Pizza Hut and etc..

Less then 100metre to 7eleven and massage place..

Back door selling durian cakes there are a total of 7 different style of durian cake (back door of the hotel) - 50k per cake.

Ok back to hotel review -

Very well trained staff with awesome smiles n customer service from all the staff.. Yes all from front desk, to room service, cafe staff, gym staff, security staff and also the drivers..

Was warm welcome with an excellent customer service . Check in was smooth..
Manage to get all four rooms in the same level with all the different views.

Our room was located at level 2, it's was awesome to be able to view the cafe from our rooms.. N the most importantly.. It's not even noisy... I mean you won't be hearing the sound of the plates of people chatting.. Awesome right ..

Wifi was excellent.. Very strong wifi.. Room was awesome comfortable to fit 2adults n 2 kids.. Hotel lobby.. Room.. And cafe was sparkling clean.. Room service was prompt..
Toiletries.. Mineral water.. Condiments was provided... There is a fridge.. There is also a kitchetted, two headed stove, rice cooker, plates, bowls, cups, bed toaster, it's really feels like you are at your own kitchen home.. N most importantly it's sparking clean...

Toilet was even awesome, all are working fine. Clean bathtub.. Clean toilet bowl.. Everything is very very clean. No stains on towel..

Breakfast rate for kids - SGD 10.
Breakfast range was awesome.. There are cereal.. Egg station .. Sandwich station.. Local foods - noodle n rice, porridge and dessert porridge..
Japanese style food...
Fruits too - local fruits
Variety of drinks..
Comfortable sitting area smoking n non smoking corner was separated.
Tea n coffee was refilled by customer service staff who will go to each n every guest.. Plates was cleared from table all automatically without having to call them..

Level 7 is where the gym, sauna n pool(indoor).. It's two storey.. 1st story will be the gym and there is an instructor (very friendly always with smile), the 2nd level will be the pool. Awesome pool with nice view during the night. The water is cold.. Well it's at night.. The sauna can fit 4pax.. Locker n shower facility provided..

Overall I shall say well done Harmoni Suites.. Keep up the good work.. The price of the room per night really matches to the level of service provide.. Facilities provided and the smiles provided.. It's not easy fall you to provide a good service to all my 12 paxs.. N so far NON of them have any complain.. Well done!!!

I am very sure that I will be visiting you all again .. Really fall in love with the People and hotel if Harmony Suites.

Pls note that harmoni suites is a HOT SELLing cake hotel.. Lolxxx, do care to book in advance ...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Apartments turned hotel.... maybe it'd work but, well, it'll need a change of attitude by the staff....

A contract is a contract people... if you offer me and then confirm to me room type X then you had better damn well provide room type X or better!! and I'm totally not interested in the excuse that another guest chose to extend...... it's your job.... let me just repeat that really slowly,...... it is your job.... that's what hotels do.............. to please your guests.... guess what....? that's called hospitality... and guess what....? it's worth waaaaaaay more than the $$ of a room/night...

At least the Harmoni Suites Hotel has one switched-on and knowledgeable executive staff member... Very many thanks Vera for your personal service and handling the situation.....

Very average linen.... even worse pillows............ not 4-star by any stretch of the imagination...Let's say 3-star trying......

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited Batam over the Chinese New Year holidays with the family and stayed here in two separate rooms. Overrall it was OK:

Pros:
- Near Nagoya Hills shopping mall (5 mins walk)
- Friendly, generally helpful staff who speak reasonable english

Cons:
- Rooms look a bit dated
- Swimming pool's water was a little less than tip-top
- Gym equipment was fairly limited and one of the 2 treadmills was out of order

Overrall, a good enough stay if you're visiting Batam; there aren't many international hotels here anyway, and for a local setup, they're pretty ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a very comfortable and relaxing one-night stay for our family. It's not a new establishment but the rooms were very clean. Service staff can speak good English and attended to our needs promptly.

Situated merely 5 minutes walk away from the mall, you can get all your shopping, spa and meals settled easily in one place. If you like to visit other places, you can also request for transport arrangements from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

There are 3 harmoni hotels in batam. Some taxi drivers don't seem to know where Harmoni suites hotel is so it's best to say Harmoni apartments which they are more familiar with.

This is one hotel I truly have the pleasure of staying at. First impressions - lobby was small, cozy and quiet, well, too quiet that my thoughts were "where is everybody?". The usual queue at reception to check in/out were missing, no guests milling about, the sofas were unoccupied and the reception desk was so small that i mistakenly thought it was the concierge desk. Perfect. 

We were the only ones checking in that morning and the hotel was gracious enough to allow us early check in without extra charge. Our room was conveniently located on the same floor as the lobby, I reckon the only thing separating our room and the lobby was a glass wall, with a door of course, which made my smoker friend happy as a lark. Upon inspection of common areas, I was pleasantly surprised by the tasteful decor and nice furnishings. Access to Nagoya Hills Mall is via the back door, one needs to walk 5 minutes along the pavement before crossing the junction to the mall. Seems easy but watch out for fast flowing traffic. When coming back to the hotel via the same back access, press the bell for security to open the door. 

The hotel room was clean and neat despite furniture being a bit dated. Our room overlooked street level hence the curtains were drawn most of the time. I woke up early before sunrise and was wondering why it was still dark even after 7.30am. Mystery solved when my smoker friend went outside the lobby to catch a few puffs and returned to say how hot and scorching the sun was! We had no idea our room windows were tinted.

We hired a local taxi to drive us around  the entire day and didn't stay in the room much except to wash up in between shopping, dining and massage trips. Wifi in room was good and we watched a lot of tv at night. No iron and ironing board in room, you need to call housekeeping for that. We didn't have time to swim in the pool or try the spa. Will save that for a later visit I hope.

Breakfast was a delightful affair. Again,  the usual noisy hotel guests were missing. The dining area has a high ceiling allowing natural light. When i looked up, I could see rows of windows with hanging plants and flowers on trellises. It was such a beautiful setting with only a handful of guests, each taking his or her own sweet time, nobody was in a hurry, no screaming toddlers or wailing babies or long queues at the egg station. All three of us couldn't stop gushing at the tranquil and relaxing ambience, so unlike the usual hotel experience. The breakfast buffet spread, at one glance, seemed to favour Japanese however there were other varieties of Indonesian fare as well Western staples. The vermicelli noodle soup was especially outstanding, just leave the fishballs out, they didn't seem cooked enough. I had double servings as the soup was delicious. 

We forgot to request for late check out and while packing our bags a little after 12noon, the lights went out suddenly, plunging the room in darkness. Only the bathroom light was on and we had to grope our way in the dark - I had to feel around with my feet to search for my slippers. That's a first for us. Despite this incident, it will not deter us from coming back to stay at Harmoni Suites Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The actual name of the hotel is actually Harmoni Suites. The staff were friendly and well-versed in English. They were also helpful in helping us to get taxi as well as guiding us to the place we wanted to go; not by standing behind their front desk and pointing out to you where to turn and how to go but brought you out to the gate of the hotel and explaining to you what you'll see as a landmark followed by where to turn.

The room is alright for me though the wifi is way too slow. The TV channels are abundant and beds are comfortable. They even provide a bolster which is the first time happened to me after staying in so many hotels throughout Asia. The room comes with a kitchenette too.

The breakfast is nice though a bit limited. The hotel doesn't has a spa. You have to travel to their sister hotel, the Harmoni Hotel Batam, which is just a 5-min drive away. If the hotel's taxi is available, they'll send and fetch you there for the spa free-of-charge.

The hotel is located near to the famous Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre. Just outside the main gate of the hotel, there's a massage centre fit for the family as well as several eateries. A small convenience store is also located among there.

Overall we are very happy with the hotel and would have no issue staying there again. The only blemish we have is that we were told by the hotel that the taxi which fetch us from the ferry wanted to charge us double the fare of IRP50K because we were late for the appointed time. We explained that the ferry was on time but the immigration was slow with 2 counters opened and thus clearing the immigration took us more than half an hour. We insisted that we will not pay the extra fare 'cos they should know about these issues they have at the ferry terminal and my e-mail clearly stated my ferry estimated time of arrival. The hotel thus decided to waive it off.

The security of the hotel was also good that to enter the rooms area, one need to tap his key card and to take the lift to the higher floors, you'll need to tap the key card as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harmoni Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni Suites Hotel

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Give yourself a break from the daily stress of work and spend some time exploring Indonesia. Immerse yourself in the unique nightlife of Batam with its popular nightclubs, karaoke lounges, and restaurants. Delve into the rich culture of this Indonesian island while staying in the comforts of a homey and cozy apartment. Seek sanctuary at Harmoni Suites Hotel.Situated in the city of Nagoya on the island of Batam, the Harmoni Suites Hotel is the perfect second home for both business executives and vacation travelers visiting Indonesia. Catering especially to long-staying visitors, Harmoni offers accommodations that are casual and comfortable as well as easy on the pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Harmoni Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni Suites Hotel Batam, Indonesia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.