We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Harmoni Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Harmoni Suites Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Imam Bonjol, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Nagoya
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Visited Batam over the Chinese New Year holidays with the family and stayed here in two separate rooms. Overrall it was OK:

Pros:
- Near Nagoya Hills shopping mall (5 mins walk)
- Friendly, generally helpful staff who speak reasonable english

Cons:
- Rooms look a bit dated
- Swimming pool's water was a little less than tip-top
- Gym equipment was fairly limited and one of the 2 treadmills was out of order

Overrall, a good enough stay if you're visiting Batam; there aren't many international hotels here anyway, and for a local setup, they're pretty ok.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

It was a very comfortable and relaxing one-night stay for our family. It's not a new establishment but the rooms were very clean. Service staff can speak good English and attended to our needs promptly.

Situated merely 5 minutes walk away from the mall, you can get all your shopping, spa and meals settled easily in one place. If you like to visit other places, you can also request for transport arrangements from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maydayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

There are 3 harmoni hotels in batam. Some taxi drivers don't seem to know where Harmoni suites hotel is so it's best to say Harmoni apartments which they are more familiar with.

This is one hotel I truly have the pleasure of staying at. First impressions - lobby was small, cozy and quiet, well, too quiet that my thoughts were "where is everybody?". The usual queue at reception to check in/out were missing, no guests milling about, the sofas were unoccupied and the reception desk was so small that i mistakenly thought it was the concierge desk. Perfect. 

We were the only ones checking in that morning and the hotel was gracious enough to allow us early check in without extra charge. Our room was conveniently located on the same floor as the lobby, I reckon the only thing separating our room and the lobby was a glass wall, with a door of course, which made my smoker friend happy as a lark. Upon inspection of common areas, I was pleasantly surprised by the tasteful decor and nice furnishings. Access to Nagoya Hills Mall is via the back door, one needs to walk 5 minutes along the pavement before crossing the junction to the mall. Seems easy but watch out for fast flowing traffic. When coming back to the hotel via the same back access, press the bell for security to open the door. 

The hotel room was clean and neat despite furniture being a bit dated. Our room overlooked street level hence the curtains were drawn most of the time. I woke up early before sunrise and was wondering why it was still dark even after 7.30am. Mystery solved when my smoker friend went outside the lobby to catch a few puffs and returned to say how hot and scorching the sun was! We had no idea our room windows were tinted.

We hired a local taxi to drive us around  the entire day and didn't stay in the room much except to wash up in between shopping, dining and massage trips. Wifi in room was good and we watched a lot of tv at night. No iron and ironing board in room, you need to call housekeeping for that. We didn't have time to swim in the pool or try the spa. Will save that for a later visit I hope.

Breakfast was a delightful affair. Again,  the usual noisy hotel guests were missing. The dining area has a high ceiling allowing natural light. When i looked up, I could see rows of windows with hanging plants and flowers on trellises. It was such a beautiful setting with only a handful of guests, each taking his or her own sweet time, nobody was in a hurry, no screaming toddlers or wailing babies or long queues at the egg station. All three of us couldn't stop gushing at the tranquil and relaxing ambience, so unlike the usual hotel experience. The breakfast buffet spread, at one glance, seemed to favour Japanese however there were other varieties of Indonesian fare as well Western staples. The vermicelli noodle soup was especially outstanding, just leave the fishballs out, they didn't seem cooked enough. I had double servings as the soup was delicious. 

We forgot to request for late check out and while packing our bags a little after 12noon, the lights went out suddenly, plunging the room in darkness. Only the bathroom light was on and we had to grope our way in the dark - I had to feel around with my feet to search for my slippers. That's a first for us. Despite this incident, it will not deter us from coming back to stay at Harmoni Suites Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank iamtigerlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The actual name of the hotel is actually Harmoni Suites. The staff were friendly and well-versed in English. They were also helpful in helping us to get taxi as well as guiding us to the place we wanted to go; not by standing behind their front desk and pointing out to you where to turn and how to go but brought you out to the gate of the hotel and explaining to you what you'll see as a landmark followed by where to turn.

The room is alright for me though the wifi is way too slow. The TV channels are abundant and beds are comfortable. They even provide a bolster which is the first time happened to me after staying in so many hotels throughout Asia. The room comes with a kitchenette too.

The breakfast is nice though a bit limited. The hotel doesn't has a spa. You have to travel to their sister hotel, the Harmoni Hotel Batam, which is just a 5-min drive away. If the hotel's taxi is available, they'll send and fetch you there for the spa free-of-charge.

The hotel is located near to the famous Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre. Just outside the main gate of the hotel, there's a massage centre fit for the family as well as several eateries. A small convenience store is also located among there.

Overall we are very happy with the hotel and would have no issue staying there again. The only blemish we have is that we were told by the hotel that the taxi which fetch us from the ferry wanted to charge us double the fare of IRP50K because we were late for the appointed time. We explained that the ferry was on time but the immigration was slow with 2 counters opened and thus clearing the immigration took us more than half an hour. We insisted that we will not pay the extra fare 'cos they should know about these issues they have at the ferry terminal and my e-mail clearly stated my ferry estimated time of arrival. The hotel thus decided to waive it off.

The security of the hotel was also good that to enter the rooms area, one need to tap his key card and to take the lift to the higher floors, you'll need to tap the key card as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Walking distance to nagoya shopping mall and convenience store. Full of massage centre surrounding this hotel and hotel do have massage service but will be expensive compare to outside massage centre. Spacious and clean room. Breakfast buffet serve japanese mix western foods and it was awesome. Overall a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovediving123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel very conveniently located near Nagoya shopping mall. The color scheme is kind of dull but still very neatly maintained hotel. Staff was very helpful & supportive in every way possible. I even reached early & they allowed us go check in early at no extra cost. They helped also in guiding way to the malls.

It's in shopping area so away from any beach

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

If excellent service minus less-than-perfect hotel facilities is the one you are looking for, this is the perfect spot.

Staffs are very polite & would do anything they possibly can to ensure your stay is comfortable.
Hotel generally has a beautiful layout, overlooking some minor flaws e.g. toilet floor wet at times, safety deposit box not working

Of course this is a city hotel. So don't expect sandy, prestine beaches.
Rooftops is what makes up ur view.
Located in Nagoya, one of Batam's shopping district, it is easy to move around to various places with the hotel's taxi services.

Overall, it is an excellent place to relax & window shop local products/labels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EonFlux_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nagoya
0.1 mi away
Nagoya Mansion Hotel & Residence
0.0 mi away
I Hotel Baloi
I Hotel Baloi
#1 of 21 in Nagoya
4.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Harmoni One Convention Hotel and Service Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
0.0 mi away
Da Vienna Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grand I Hotel
Grand I Hotel
#16 of 86 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmoni Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni Suites Hotel

Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harmoni Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmoni Suites Hotel, Batam is a 144-room hotel in the city of Nagoya on the island of Batam, Indonesia. Strategically located in the heart of Batam's leading recreational districts in Nagoya and Nagoya Hill Shopping Complex at your doorstep, Harmoni Suites Hotel is the ideal residence for both business and vacation travelers. The hotel enjoys close proximity to major International Ferry Terminals and Hang Nadim International Airport is less than 45 minutes' drive away. All of our guestrooms are exquisitely equipped with in-room kitchenette, which include full kitchen equipments and utensils. Wireless Internet connections is available in every room as well as in all public areas. Guests seeking rejuvenation can pamper themselves with the indulgent treatments at our in-house Dimension Spa. Food & Beverage facilities include a 24-hour full service restaurant, as well an entertainment bar. Banquet facilities are also available in 2 of our newly constructed meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Harmoni Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmoni Suites Hotel Batam, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing