We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above my expectations......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harmoni Suites Hotel

Save Saved
You added Harmoni Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Jl. Imam Bonjol, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Nagoya
Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Above my expectations......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The actual name of the hotel is actually Harmoni Suites. The staff were friendly and well-versed in English. They were also helpful in helping us to get taxi as well as guiding us to the place we wanted to go; not by standing behind their front desk and pointing out to you where to turn and how to go but brought you out to the gate of the hotel and explaining to you what you'll see as a landmark followed by where to turn.

The room is alright for me though the wifi is way too slow. The TV channels are abundant and beds are comfortable. They even provide a bolster which is the first time happened to me after staying in so many hotels throughout Asia. The room comes with a kitchenette too.

The breakfast is nice though a bit limited. The hotel doesn't has a spa. You have to travel to their sister hotel, the Harmoni Hotel Batam, which is just a 5-min drive away. If the hotel's taxi is available, they'll send and fetch you there for the spa free-of-charge.

The hotel is located near to the famous Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre. Just outside the main gate of the hotel, there's a massage centre fit for the family as well as several eateries. A small convenience store is also located among there.

Overall we are very happy with the hotel and would have no issue staying there again. The only blemish we have is that we were told by the hotel that the taxi which fetch us from the ferry wanted to charge us double the fare of IRP50K because we were late for the appointed time. We explained that the ferry was on time but the immigration was slow with 2 counters opened and thus clearing the immigration took us more than half an hour. We insisted that we will not pay the extra fare 'cos they should know about these issues they have at the ferry terminal and my e-mail clearly stated my ferry estimated time of arrival. The hotel thus decided to waive it off.

The security of the hotel was also good that to enter the rooms area, one need to tap his key card and to take the lift to the higher floors, you'll need to tap the key card as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
7
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Walking distance to nagoya shopping mall and convenience store. Full of massage centre surrounding this hotel and hotel do have massage service but will be expensive compare to outside massage centre. Spacious and clean room. Breakfast buffet serve japanese mix western foods and it was awesome. Overall a pretty good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel very conveniently located near Nagoya shopping mall. The color scheme is kind of dull but still very neatly maintained hotel. Staff was very helpful & supportive in every way possible. I even reached early & they allowed us go check in early at no extra cost. They helped also in guiding way to the malls.

It's in shopping area so away from any beach

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

If excellent service minus less-than-perfect hotel facilities is the one you are looking for, this is the perfect spot.

Staffs are very polite & would do anything they possibly can to ensure your stay is comfortable.
Hotel generally has a beautiful layout, overlooking some minor flaws e.g. toilet floor wet at times, safety deposit box not working

Of course this is a city hotel. So don't expect sandy, prestine beaches.
Rooftops is what makes up ur view.
Located in Nagoya, one of Batam's shopping district, it is easy to move around to various places with the hotel's taxi services.

Overall, it is an excellent place to relax & window shop local products/labels.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed few weeks at Harmoni Suites and I can say that the facilities are old: a broken chair in my room; the bathtub tap didn't work; the bathroom floor was continuously flooded; etc.

The good things are the staffs kindness and ability to communicate in a good English.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

If you are coming from elsewhere in Indonesia, this place will seem expensive. However, it is primarily aimed at Singaporean travelers and thus is very cheap by those standards.

With that in mind, you're looking at about $50/night depending where and how you book. For that you are getting a beautiful hotel with elegant lobby and interior, quiet, and nice. The staff is attentive and gracious and speaks perfect English.

The location is 5 mins walk from Najoya Hill Mall, the premier shopping attraction on Batam. It is also about equidistant from the other main centers of the northern part of the island so you are nicely situated. This is a city hotel so if you're looking for a beach resort, head on over to Nongsa.

Transport is easy with everyone honking at you trying to give you a ride. There are also minibuses.

There's a pub in the hotel and a restaurant. I only tried the free breakfast buffet and while the setting is very nice, they were out of many things by 8am and didn't replenish.

The rooms are fantastic and a relief from staying in Singaporean broom closets at twice the price (or more). Crisp, clean sheets, cable, free wi-fi, mini fridge, nice bath, hair dryer.

I loved this hotel.

Room Tip: They all have pretty ugly views so maybe just choose one not on the busy ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Harmoni Group has 3 accommodations on Batam Island – Harmoni Hotel, Harmoni Suites and Harmoni One. While the 1st two are located quite close, along Jalan Imam Bonjol ( approximately 5-10 minutes drive ), Harmoni One is in Batam Centre.

This review is for Harmoni Suites – it is also known to be located in Nagoya.

The hotel’s location is within walking distance of amenities – plenty of shops next to the hotel itself. A mere 5 minutes walk across the main road and you will arrive at a huge open air food court area – they even have a stage ( although there was no performances when I was dining there ). There are plenty of stalls around which should cater to majority of the taste buds.

The hotel itself is nice; the staffs were rather pleasant and helpful. Checking in was quick and efficient. At the centre of the hotel is the restaurant / coffee house area. It is sort of an open concept area whereby the balconies on all floors are facing this area. Therefore, even if you are on the top most floors, you can see the restaurant from the floor balcony. Due to this huge open space area, the air can be pretty stale, and most importantly, it takes tremendous amount of air conditioning to keep the area cool and pleasant. I dread to think what would happen if the air cond fails.

The hotel building is relative square in shape. Try to get the rooms above the main lobby – this is facing the main road, or the ones to the right as you enter the lobby – this is facing the parking area. The ones on the left ( like mine ) is facing another building, and if the level is high enough you can see the rooftops. From my room, I can see the occupants on the next building attending to their washing in the morning, and hanging up their washed clothes on the rooftop. Not quite a pleasant view, and also for privacy purposes.

The room is pretty small, but cozy. There is kitchenette in the room, with the basic utensils. You will have a kettle, 2 cookers, a microwave, a fridge, some pots and pans etc. So if you need to heat up some take away meals, or do simple cooking of instant soup, for example, it can be done easily.

Wood is extensively used for the furniture – even the headboard has a wooden crafted on it. The chairs are also of wooded frame. Similarly, the built in cabinets are all with wooded frame and doors. Perhaps, this is to reflect the local architecture. Personally, I quite like the idea of this sort of conditions / arrangements rather than the modern type of furniture with plenty of glasses and metals. Somehow the decoration inside the room was cosy and pleasant. The sort of ambience which I found is quite welcoming. The air conditioning was cool and quiet. The toilet has a bathtub with good water pressure.

The breakfast spread is pretty good, plenty of choices to fulfill guests requirements. Not as extensive to some of the 5 stars hotels, but it is more than enough with a number of varieites.

I have been to Batam a few times prior many years ago and have stayed in various hotels, but I will stay at this hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms lower floor, nearer to the coffee house - can get free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harmoni Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmoni Suites Hotel

Also Known As:
Harmoni Suites Hotel Batam, Indonesia
Address: Jl. Imam Bonjol, Nagoya, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nagoya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 hotels in Nagoya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Give yourself a break from the daily stress of work and spend some time exploring Indonesia. Immerse yourself in the unique nightlife of Batam with its popular nightclubs, karaoke lounges, and restaurants. Delve into the rich culture of this Indonesian island while staying in the comforts of a homey and cozy apartment. Seek sanctuary at Harmoni Suites Hotel.Situated in the city of Nagoya on the island of Batam, the Harmoni Suites Hotel is the perfect second home for both business executives and vacation travelers visiting Indonesia. Catering especially to long-staying visitors, Harmoni offers accommodations that are casual and comfortable as well as easy on the pocket. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Harmoni Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harmoni Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.