We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay during the winter for a weekends running competition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco

Save Saved
You added Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Port de Cap d'Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Cap d'Ail
Hextable
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay during the winter for a weekends running competition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

A friend who works in the area1 wk out of 6, who stays at this location said we should all (6 of us) stay at this hotel during the Course Du Soleil half marathon event (weekend 2/3/4th Feb 2013).

We arrived early evening Saturday, booked in easy enough. Very friendly staff. Rooms well appointed, clean, tidy with a requested sea view (4th floor). Key card system which operates the electric in the room.

Bar - phewww - very expensive but free nuts!

Staff and room service was available 24 hrs. Naturally, due to it being February, the pools were closed but we were lucky with the weather and used the outside seating area following our run on the Sunday. It was a pleasant 15 min walk from the start / finish line in Monaco port (so many BIG boats), where you will find many great bars. The rest of the town in a little more of a walk BUT the hotel permitted a transfer bus service, booked to order, which was a great way to get deep into the town, then walk back.

TV's had a clear BBC service, and should you have wanted cable connection for any laptop it was there. Free WiFi though. We didn't touch the minibar for fear of the need for a small mortgage!

Breakfast was extensive, freshly cooked (omelets to order), fresh fruit galore, tea coffee etc.

No matter what time we got in there was always a smile from the staff.

The only niggle was that the plug socket in room 414 in the entrance was just hanging free (dangerous if we had used it).

Would most certainly stay there again when I bring the wife.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the sea for the views. Book the transfer bus for free. Avoid the bar (expensive)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    181
    88
    31
    11
See reviews for
82
175
21
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful five night stay at the Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco where we celebrated my husband's 60th birthday. We found the staff to be exceptional and certainly went that extra mile to make our stay enjoyable. The room was well appointed and very clean, with a balcony overlooking the marina which was perfect. The restaurant and food were very good and the bar also. Our thanks go in particular to the reception team who were knowledgeable and extremely helpful, especially Jon. The hotel has a shuttle service you can book to take you to local areas and this runs throughout the day and into the evening, otherwise it is cheap to use the bus service which runs frequently. We visited Eze Village which is perched on a rock and worth seeing, about 20 minutes by bus. There is lots to see in Monaco and places we visited were the Palace Changing of the Guard, Car Museum and Saint-Devote Church as well as popping into the Casino! Local restaurants we tried within walking distance were Amici Miei and Beef Bar and both were very good. All in all a very enjoyable holiday and we look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

The staff are very friendly, the room was fantastic. We have stayed here twice, and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is very close walking distance to Monaco Port. They also have transport to take you around to the Casino.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that view the Port, a little more expensive, but impressive views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just returned from Monaco. We have stayed with a Greek group in Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco. No words may describe the beauty of that property. Friendly, smiling, helpful staff at reception, at restaurant & bar. Congradulations as well for the housekeeping. The ladies took care of my room so well. Large variety at the breakfast buffet. Spacious rooms (I felt in love with that bed!). I had the room 909 what a nice view!

Many thanks Mr. Siegfried and team for making our holidays memorable!.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were excited to be in Monaco but disappointed in the hotel. It reminded me of a 70's hotel battered by the salt seas. The pool was tiny and although outside did not take advantage of the ocean. The dock area is nice to see the yacht but the hotelvwas simply not up to pare with the area or cost

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in the summer and we expected a much nicer hotel. The main issue was that the AC was not working and we were told this is normal in the summer at this property. It made the rooms feel very muggy and humid. The hotel staff was not very helpful in getting this resolved. I did contact Marriott after our stay and they were very helpful in compensating us for the trouble.

The hotel is in a good location to access other areas in the South of France. We took several day trips from here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel itself is okay, nice view of the port.

I will say there is a reason why the isn't many photos of the fitness suite, it is very dated and you would struggle to get much from it, I think it is just there to say the hotel has a fitness suite, very disappointed with it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco

Address: Port de Cap d'Ail, 06320 Cap d'Ail, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cap d'Ail
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Cap d'Ail
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casting a serene reflection upon the Cap d'Ail harbor on France's Cote d'Azur, the Riviera Marriott La Porte de Monaco captures the spirit of Monaco. It's a magical place, where you can lose yourself in its fragrant breezes, profound beauty and international allure. As one of the premier hotels in Monaco, you'll be introduced to a superior level of service and amenities. Elegantly appointed accommodations beautifully blend extraordinary comfort with welcome features such as high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco Hotel Cap d`Ail
Cap d Ail Marriott
Marriott Cap D'ail
Marriott Riviera La Porte De Monaco France/French Riviera - Cote D'Azur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Riviera La Porte de Monaco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.