We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peacock Hotel

The Peacock Hotel
Chesterfield Road, Oakerthorpe | The Peacock Hotel - Oakerthorpe, Alfreton DE55 7LN, England (Formerly The Peacock Restaurant)
01773 832088
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Alfreton
Price range: $8 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
286 reviews 286 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

Visited with friends early Friday evening with no booking. Luckily we got a table and were all impressed. 2 steaks (£14 each) and 2 fajitas - all satisfied. Nice atmosphere here, quite busy, good real ales. Attentive and pleasant staff. Will certainly return.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    33
    12
    18
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice mid week meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Great characterful restaurant, nice food selection, well priced, well presented. Nicely arranged tables to allow for that bit of privacy when dining

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Excellent grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Live very close but hadn't been in years. Heard it had new owners and the food was good so gave it a try. I'm a bit of a pie girl and so had the beef and ale pie with chips ( not fries ). Was the best pie I've had at a pub. Fabulously tasty. Chips were great. Highly recommended. Only reason I didn't score it 5 is because the decor looks like it's been done by Liberace and not my thing .

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Normanton, Derbyshire United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Excellent meal with lots of choice for everyone. Extremely good price between 16:00 - 18:00 and the portion sizes are still large. Helpful friendly service. Would definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was at the peacock last week for a meal the food was excellent and plenty of it my wife had a olive and feta cheese starter and fajitas for main could have shared it as there was plenty only problem is getting a drink you have to queue for a while as the bar staff are slow because they are taking orders for food I think that was because it was sunny and a lot of people where sitting outside need a different area to order food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Hotel also viewed

 
Ravenshead, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to The Peacock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peacock Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.