We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only worth visiting with kids” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Wildlife Park

Paradise Wildlife Park
White Stubbs Lane, Broxbourne EN10 7QA, England
01992 470490
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6 Attractions in Broxbourne
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come and visit Paradise Wildlife Park, the most interactive zoo in Britain. Based at Broxbourne in Hertfordshire, we are open all year round, every weekday and weekend! The brilliant design of our enclosures means that you can meet some amazing animals face to face! We have a huge collection of over 400 animals including the best collection of big cats on display in Britain. Our cats include: white tigers, white lions, Amur tigers, Sumatran tigers, African lions, snow leopards, leopards, cheetahs and ocelots. We also have penguins, meerkats, monkeys, gibbons, lemurs, zebras, tapirs, wolves, wallabies, reptiles, birds and much, much more! We are unique because you can touch and even feed many of the animals in the Animal Park by purchasing one of our specially prepared animal feedbags. Have fun in one of our five adventure playgrounds, at the daily shows and at the meet the keeper sessions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Only worth visiting with kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I visited the Park while I was on a weekend away. I thought that the entry fee was a little steep for what was actually in the park. We visited off-season which may explain why the atmosphere wasn't fantastic but it ended up being a rather dull day out. They did have some impressive animals inside the park but we weren't convinced by the spaces these animals had to themselves. We did sit in one of the small animal shows with a lizard and a cockatoo which we did enjoy. However, one of the staff members seemed to make a special effort to avoid us when walking around with the lizard, perhaps because we weren't children. This is not somewhere I'd go back to in a hurry, I'd rather save and visit Longleat.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    234
    76
    32
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lots to see and do for families with young ones. Massive play area and free bouncy castle.lots of animals to see.would recommend being at some of the feeding talks as you see the animals close up and learn so much more than the information boards tell you.we had a red panda feeding experience booked as a birthday present so made a weekend of it.we arrived early in the morning and didn't leave until 4pm as there is so much to see.we took our own lunch and if it is sunny there are several places to eat outside.if it is cold and rainy you will be restricted to your car!which isn't a problem as you can come and go all day

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“So much to see and do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have taken my children to PWP for the past 5 years in the summer holidays and we always have a great time. This year was different as I had a 'meet the Red Pandas' experience booked, which proved to be a real treat for me but also it was the first time we had visited in the low season. We were blessed with a lovely bright day so we could still enjoy all the outdoor play areas, the woodland walk and the animal enclosures. We also tried the crazy golf for the first time and I thoroughly recommend it - it is small but perfectly and ingeniously formed and really tested our ability. The animals were very active in the park and there were lots of wild birds chirping in the trees and bushes. A lovely day out.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great family day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We've been here a few times before and it has always been a particular favourite of ours, even before we had our two children.
Now we have the kids, it's even more enjoyable as the park has so much directed at the little ones, including a soft play area, outdoor adventure playgrounds, tractor rides, etc.
our two thoroughly enjoyed it and the whole day was a real pleasure. The lorikeet landing is brilliant, you can feed the birds nectar for £1 which is a real good experience!
The restaurant was quite pricey, but the food was pretty good (the steak burger was tasty, as was the chicken burger, but the price was quite steep at almost £7)
The children's meal was just a plain old pizza (no effort went into it and it was lacking cheese, so basically just a base with lots of sauce on it) with chips on the side, which was fine, but that was almost £5 which is ludicrous. The place was clean and staff were helpful helping us get our double buggy in, etc. children's meals could be better though, more quality items would be good if they continue to charge that amount!
The animals in the park are great and there are quite a variety, very impressive and conditions were good.
Shame the toucans have gone! But they have been replaced with a bat area, which is interesting too!
I recommend this park, we love it and really think it's worth giving it a go if you have young children, as there's so much to see and do here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to get close to the animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Arrived here on a unplanned day out. Had a lovely day walking around the zoo. All the staff seemed very pleasant. There are quite a few animals to see and unlike other zoos you can get quite close to the animals. Difficult to say what the highlight of the day was as there were many nice moments. Liked everything from petting zebras to watching the big cats. A special moment was watching the lion carry its baby out of its bed and wandering around with it, before placing on the floor for all to see. There are not many that can say they have seen a lion that young.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Wildlife Park also viewed

Dunstable, Bedfordshire
Welwyn, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Paradise Wildlife Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Wildlife Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.