We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motiraj

Motiraj
6/7 Church Lane, Sunderland SR1 3PT, England
0191 565 6916
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 307 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Rang the restaurant 1 hour before we attended on a Saturday night to book a table and fitted us in no problem. Staff were excellent and the food superb. Lots to chose from the wife had sheek kebab while had a duck starter. For mains I had fish jalfrezi while the wife had chicken balti with a great naan bread and rice. First time I have been here and won't be the last.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    23
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Take Away”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have been to the restaurant with friends and the food was very good. On the strength of that I decided to order a take away a few weeks later,the quality ot the takeaway was really very disappointing. It would seem that the same quality of food does not apply to a takeaway meal.I would eat in the restaurant again but I would not order a takeaway from them again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I went with two friends and the food, staff and atmosphere was excellent. It was also very busy on a Thursday, so obviously others know of this great place too. Would advise anyone in the area to go as all round very good and fresh.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Good italian food. Bit pricy as can also get great Indian food close by. Nice staff. Food was fresh. Will be returning. Xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been to the Motiraj on soooo many occasions and it never disappoints us. We have been to many other Indian restaurants in Sunderland but this one really is the best and still going strong despite competitors. We've been going for at least 29 years......service is always prompt.....you always get a warm welcome and the prices are always very reasonable. Pompadoms are light and crispy and melt in your mouth and the bhajis are simply the best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Motiraj also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Motiraj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motiraj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.