We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food in Sunderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paprika - CLOSED

Paprika
46 Frederick Street, Sunderland, England
0191-564 0606
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Best food in Sunderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I've been here a few times since moving to Sunderland permanently last year and this is probably the best food I've eaten here. It's small and intimate and has a limited menu but it changes with what's seasonably available and there is always a decent variety of dishes on offer. The only criticism I could possibly offer up is that we sometimes have slight difficulty deciphering the handwriting on the menu on the blackboard but we always manage in the end and in a way it adds to the fun of the night.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    11
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sunderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I have been here numerous times in the past year for lunches and for evening meals and have thoroughly enjoyed every visit!

The place itself is very small and intimate, but in a good way! Feels like you're eating in someone's front room rather than a restaurant, and the service is always top notch.

The best bit is definitely the food however. On our last visit we had the mackerel and chorizo, and the blue cheese with asparagus to start. Both were beautiful! The mains were smoked cod with vine-tomato sauce, and the rump steak. Both were perfectly cooked and prepared and were melt-in-the-mouth delicious!

We're already planning our next visit in a couple of weeks!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Favourite Restaraunt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We've been going to Paprika for years and love it. It is a small restaraunt and the menu is fairly limited but there is always a vegetarian option and some seafood dishes to choose from. It is very reasonably priced and the food is always outstanding as is the service.

I nearly always get the goats cheese and asparagus starter, the lamb or steak main and the white choc cheesecake for dessert as they are so good but all the dishes are lovely.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Never disappoints”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Been a few times and I was never disappointed. Very small place but food is very good and fresh.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Excellent food at a reasonable cost. Meat always cooked to perfection. White chocolate cheesecake an absolute must.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paprika also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paprika, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.