We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOTHING GOOD TO SAY” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roker Lodge

Roker Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Roker Lodge to your Saves list
Roker Lodge
15 Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Almeria, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NOTHING GOOD TO SAY”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have to say I have stayed in many hotels in my lifetime and this was just about THE worst experience ever! I can safely say I have been in all types of room in this hotel and all of which are as bad as each other. As for the Roker 'Lodge' DO NOT EVEN BOTHER!!! We booked well in advance for a weekend away and when we arrived they had messed up our reservation so they gave us two seperate rooms. The first we couldn't complain much about, but the second, which was classed as a double room was disgusting. It was in the attic of the Roker lodge and there was not enough space for one person to move in it let alone two. And dont even get me started on the bathroom. Before we went up the receptionist had told us to call reception with any problems, when we picked up the phone it didnt even work. It was also boiling hot with very little air circulation available due to one tiny window. We trekked back down all of the stairs carrying all of our luggage, back out onto the street and into the main hotel to complain. They then apologised and gave us a key for a room in the main hotel. We walked down and swiped the key card to get into the room only to find someone elses stuff already there. Thank god for them that we were nice people, because if it had have been some one else they could have been robbed. So we trekked back through the maze of corridors and stairs to reception where they apologised again and gave us another room key. We started to think 3rd time lucky...this was not the case. We got to the 3rd room and it was acceptable although it backed out onto the kitchen and opening the windows didnt give any air at all. It was clean, compared to the other rooms. We began to get ready as we had an appointment at 7pm but the room just kept getting hotter and hotter. We called reception who said they would bring a fan. It was tiny. A handheld fan would've done more. Eventually we called back down and said we couldn't stay in there as it was like a sauna and the windows weren't helping at all. They sent someone up to collect our stuff who informed us that there are a few rooms in that area of the hotel that are very hot because the heating pipes actually run through the rooms and are under the windows boxed in. When we touched it it was as hot as a radiator. Finally we got back down to reception and all that was left was 2 single rooms. We had booked for a room for all of us which had been cocked up and now we were being separated again. The single rooms however were the nicest of the ones we had seen, albeit a premier inn would have better quality to be quite honest. SERIOUSLY disappointed and not sure I will ever trust Best Western hotels again and neither should YOU!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
8
9
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is more or less an annexe of the Roker Hotel, which is a Best Western hotel. It's seafront location certainly helps make it more attractive. There is no separate reception and guests are directed to a buzzer, which connects with the main reception in the Roker. It would be helpful if there was simply a notice asking guests to go there in the first place. However, the receptionist was friendly, efficient and helpful. The room, overlooking the sea, was spacious, the bed was large but creaky, the en-suite was okay, except the loo didn't flush (a maintenance man came to fix it). For a hotel fronting on a main road, the hotel was surprisingly quiet.
Breakfast was served in the Italian restaurant that is part of the main hotel. The food was very good and there was plenty of choice. The staff were all helpful,friendly and professional.
It's a fairly basic sort of place, thought the main hotel is decidedly more luxurious. But, for the price we paid, booked via Lastminute.com, we felt we had good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed at the Roker Lodge with 2 friends for the Rihanna concert in June. We paid £120 b&b for all 3 of us which I thought was great value for money!! Most the staff we met, especially Ian & Heather, were brilliant!!

Our room was great... it was massive! Only down side was the light above the mirror in the bathroom didn't work so we were all fighting over the mirror in the bedroom!! The room was tastefully decorated... plain and neutral without being too boring!

We ate in the bar as the Italian restaurant had too long a wait for the concert... the food was out of this world!! I would say it was probably one of the nicest meals (and cocktails) I've ever had!! The team in the bar were great also!! There was a trainee taking our food order and he was spot on and smiley!!

The next day when we checked out they kept our luggage for us as our train wasn't until in the afternoon... they even wrapped us burgers up to go to eat on the train!!

Overall, even though there were a few niggles not worth mentioning, it was an excellent stay and I would definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The main reason we stayed here was for a function so we didn’t need to catch taxis after a big night out.
We stayed in the lodge part of the Roker which is right next door to the Best Western.
The staff on the reception are helpful and friendly especially when we weren’t happy with our room, they were happy to put us in another room with no trouble.
The lodge is very dated and needs new beds especially, but most of the rooms are very large and the front rooms have a beautiful view of the ocean.
The water pressure in the shower is very slow but I found this in most accommodation in the UK during our visit.
Breakfast was included in the room rate but after the 1st morning, we didn’t go back again and ate elsewhere. The bacon was pre-cooked, very hard and heated up when you ordered. The eggs looked like they were pre-cooked also and I couldn’t eat any of it except the toast as that was set up for you to do yourself.
The lodge ground level rooms are good as there is no lift and the stairs are steep if you have alot of luggage or have had alot too drink lol but the disadvantage is when people come back to their rooms late at night and slam the entrance front door which can be heard very loudly through these rooms.
There are many comments on here about the fights and loud noise from the Roker next door with the music and people out in the carpark after it shuts but we honestly didn’t have a problem with that at all.
There are many B&B’s along the water front in Sunderland and no shortage of Guesthouses to choose from so we would probably look elsewhere next time but would go back to the pub inside the Hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We came down to Sunderland for three nights for North East Live and booked to stay here a few months ago. We originally phoned to book in to the Roker Hotel however it was fully booked and the staff on the phone suggested we stay in the Lodge which they own. We agreed and booked into the lodge thinking it would be of the same standard as the hotel. We could not have been more wrong. We were given the keys to our rooms from a unfriendly receptionist who seemed in a hurry to get rid of us. The Lodge is a couple of buildings down from the hotel and upon seeing the exterior I knew it was not of the same standard. We went inside and our room was awful, it was so dirty, looked like it hadn't been cleaned in months. We went back to reception and asked if we could move into the hotel but there was no rooms available so they moved us to another room in the lodge which was no better. The shower was filthy and they sent someone round to clean it, however, none of the marks on it would come off. There was a light not working, stains on the bed covers, and stains from glasses which had been on the bedside table. Those are just a few of the problems with the room. We also had a door which had a massive gap and would be very easily broken into. The room was the worst I have ever encountered and we actually decided to find another hotel and stay there instead. I would not recommend staying in the lodge to anyone, it was awful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked a family room via booking.com.it was a month of November ..cold in Sunderland.central heating was not working but they moved us again in another room and gave us a heating fan.it was strong so no more cold.loved the outside view from my room.breakfast restaurant was lovely too.overall value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I made same mistake as previous reviewer. I booked through Hotel.com and was under the impression i was staying in the Roker Hotel. Upon arrival we found we were staying in the lodge. It looked shabby from outside and we were in the 1st room an the left and that was not much better. It was a family room, had 2 double beds and 2 single beds.Ceiling above 1 bed looked ready to fall down, only 1 light on wall worked, there was an old arial cable ( a good meter long) lying on floor, 1 of the windows when closed still looked open and you could see outside, there was atleast a 2cm gap at bottom of the bedroom door, which im sure would be a serious fire hazzard, nails hanging out the back of the wardrobe and to top it off, you had to be 6ft to reach the little light string in the bathroom. Considering this was classed as a family room, it was not very child friendly. Luckily my kids are teenagers but had they been toddlers, i would not have stayed there and as it was only for 1 night and we were visiting the theatre, it was just to sleep in. We got up and went for breakfast, the room looked lovely but the food, well the sausage looked raw and im certain it was when i tried a bit, hence i left it. The beans were cold, the bacon looked raw... We were very dissappointed with our stay here. I know it only cost £80 for the 4 of us but we thought we would have a treat from our usual Premier inn or travelodge stays. Next time IT WILL BE A PREMIER INN OR TRAVELODGE, even they are better than this place and a hell of a lot cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roker Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roker Lodge

Address: 15 Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Sunderland
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Roker Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roker Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.