We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Grand Room - Cold Comfort'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Sunderland
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“'Grand Room - Cold Comfort'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Recently attended a function held in the Grand Room at the hotel. The room was disappointing in that it is in clear need of refurbishment and was so cold that a number of guests found it necessary to dine in their overcoats. The subsequent warming of the hall with industrial heaters did not project the best image nor add to the ambience of the evening. On a positive note the staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our function room at the hotel.

I am sorry that you were affected by the cold whilst attending our hotel. As I am sure you aware this particular evening the weather was extremely bad due to severe gales blowing from the North Sea directly onto the hotel.

This is an extremely isolated incident due to the freak weather that we are experiencing at the moment. The decision to put on the heaters was taken after consultation with the organisers of the event. As I assure you appreciate we had a contingency plan in place and where I accept it may not be synthetically appealing, it was much preferred to being cold.

Once again my apologies for your experience and thank you for bringing the matter to my attention.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    109
    56
    30
    45
See reviews for
64
92
16
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My wife and I eat at the Roker most weekends. We have a good range of food types to choose from either the Italia or Thai or bar food. In over five years of regular eating there we have never been let down. The food and service are so consistently of a high standard we take friends there for social events too. Last evening we opted for a bar meal on our way home from work. The bar was busy and yet we recieved prompt and friendly service as usual. Not only that but the customers around us were treated with the same courteous and professional manner. In particular the senior supervisor demonstrated why she is holding that position. She organised her staff effectively and modelled professional behaviour, giving customers personal attention. This is not something we meet in many other establishments.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you firstly for your custom and we really appreciate your loyalty to our hotel. I am delighted that you find all aspects of our hotel to be consistently good.

I will pass your comments to all the staff involved and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from an evening out with the ladies. Staff a so friendly and welcoming. Very clean and a great variety of wine and offers a very nice house wine at great prices on of the best facities in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable visit to our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again at our hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently visited the Retro Italia restaurant at the Roker Hotel and i would like to say what a thoroughly enjoyable evening was had by all. The party was 4 people and we had a variety of dishes from the extensive menu so had the benefit of 'taste testing' a wide range of dishes.

We had pre-starters of the frshly baked bread and dips, along with a very tasty tomato and garlic pizza. One word of warning - the chili dip is quite hot!!

Starters consisted ranged from mussels to king prawns via meatballs and simple potato skins. All were as well presented you would expect and none disappointed.

Our mains consisted of fillet steaks, pasta and pizza and again the dishes were as appealing on the eye as they were tasty on the tongue. I'm quite fussy and my 'rare-to-medium' steak was absolutely spot on,as was my wife's medium steak. The pizzas and pasta looked very appetising and tasted as good as they looked - or so I was told. Accompaniments were excellent - the chunky chips really are superb.

Only one of the party has dessert but they said it was excellent. Gaelic coffees to round the meal off went down very well.

In addition to the quality of the meal it was a delight to be looked after by very attentive, friendly and helpful staff. They allowed the courses to pass at the perfect pace and were always on hand were they required. top marks to them, some others could learn form them

All in all, an excellent evening out which we're all keen to repeat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to our hotel and to our restaurant. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable experience with us.

I will certainly pass your kind comments to the kitchen team and to also the front of house team.

Once again thank you for your custom and review and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

As regulars of the Roker Hotel, we have always enjoyed the excellent food and superb "party nights" shared with friends. We have recently attended the latest promotional evenings; 2 course meal with disco and live band for £1.00 and can honestly say both the food and entertainment were first class. Delicious soup with fresh bread roll to start with fresh chicken breast in a delicious sauce served with fresh vegetables...if you are looking for good food and entertainment, look no further than the Roker. Thanks to Keith, Tracey and the Team for coming up trumps yet again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am delighted that you had such a great evening with us, whilst attending our "Thank You" event to our loyal customers like yourselves.

I am so happy that you had such an enjoyable experience and we are very appreciative of your continued custom and belief in our hotel.

Once again a huge thanks and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon....

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friends and I booked through Deal Monster for the party night on Friday 1 March 2013. The rooms were fantastic and we had sea views. The hotel itself was lovely, the staff friendly and the party night was a brilliant night out and I would recommend it to anyone. The room was not what I was expecting at all and was above my expectations. The room had tea and coffee facilities, freeview, iron, hairdryer, showing gel, soap, shampoo and also a bottle of wine on arrival.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank yo for your review. I am pleased to read that you had such a brilliant experience whilst attending our recent party and stay offer.

I will pass your kind comments to all staff involved and we look forward to seeing you again at our hotel very soon!

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow,Tyne & Wear
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed at Roker hotel for one night with a deal which included a 3 course meal and entertainment. There was 10 of us in party, 3 rooms were sea view executive suites and 2 rooms were in apartments a few doors down. The hotel rooms were spotless, with a massive bed and lovely bathroom. The apartments were also sea views and each had 2 bedrooms, bathroom and kitchen. The decor in all rooms was very modern and comfortable. The hotel staff were very helpful especially the manager who assisted my poorly friend. Lovely meal on night and even better breakfast, buffet style with plenty to choose from. Would definitely recommend this hotel, probably only thing missing was a leisure club!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KEITH D, Director at BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read that you had such a "great overnight stay" with us.

I will pass your kind comments to all staff involved and we look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel very soon.

Kindest regards,


Mr Keith Donkin
Director
Tavistock Leisure Ltd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel

Address: Roker Terrace, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sunderland
#3 Family Hotel in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Roker Hotel is situated overlooking the North Sea & Roker Pier. Boasting 43 boutique style bedrooms, two restaurants; Tavistock Thai China serving contemporary fusion Asian cuisine and Tavistock Retro Italia, serving modern Italian food in a retro chic envirinment. We also have a large bar which serves traditional local ales along with a large locally sourced bar menu. Our function facility can cater for upto 350 guests, suitable for weddings, corporate dinners, charity events, christenings and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sunderland
Roker Hotel Sunderland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Roker Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.