We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angelo's Ristorante

Angelo's Ristorante
48 West Sunniside, Sunderland, England
+44 191 565 4888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 315 Restaurants in Sunderland
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited Angelos before going to a show. Superb food, great service and a nice, relaxed atmosphere. Really enjoyed it. Worth a visit. Particularly liked their Angelos beer!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    18
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

First time visit with group of friends playing catch up. Food was excellent as was the service. Staff polite, friendly & very obliging. Expected to be all squashed in as Italians tend not to leave much room between tables but this was not the case. Ambience was extremely pleasant. We were able to sit and finish our meal with a couple of drinks in the very comfortable bar area without feeling we were overstaying our welcome. Would certainly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I visited this restaurant with family for lunch,happy hour menu was available. choice excellent,plenty to choose from including child's menu. Food and service great all well presented.Waitress very pleasant and friendly even took time out to talk to my granddaughter.Cannot wait for return visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Poor service, bland, over priced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

On arrival, went to bar for own drinks, nobody took name of booking or offered menus, we had to find some ourselves. Took ages to order, staff totally disorganised, nobody appeared to be in charge. Food came with elements missing or substituted, our complaint resulted in offer of a discount.... £2!!! Terrible customer service, definitely would not return, far better places for value, service and better produce elsewhere. Needs someone to reorganise and sort chef.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East UK
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited on a busy Friday night with a group of friends...about 10 of us. No special occasion, just a catch up.

The restaurant is away from the main, busy area of the town in a stylish side street in an old period terraced property. The interior was fine, nice to see lots of period features, high ceiling, original plaster coving etc.

On arrival, we sat in a small bar/waiting area and it was clear we wouldn't be approached by staff other than to let them know we'd arrived for our booking, and drinks were to be ordered ourselves at the mini bar area - no waitress coming over and taking orders for us. We were shown to our table before all the party had arrived, which I didn't like and given the menus. Waitresses seemed friendly enough, but clearly 'going through the motions' with no real warmth or interest in us. No explanation of any specials, soup of the day - nothing. Orders were taken with no smile.

I felt the menu was rather boring, with nothing jumping out at me as being exciting. I ordered:

Starter - Portobello mushroom filled with Gorgonzola cheese, caramelised red onions and a crisp slice of Pancetta, served on a bed of salad leaves & sweet cherry tomatoes, dressed with Balsamico at £6.95. The mushroom was very small and tasteless, far too much of the red onions and there was no crispy pancetta! I left most of this.

Main course: Fillet steak pan-fried topped with goat’s cheese, served on a bed of sautéed red onions, with a red wine sauce. I ordered this medium rare and it was cooked well.The onions were not sautéed red onions but shallots. It came with carrots, broccoli (fine, but very boring) and chewy over cooked tiny roast potatoes - possibly cooked earlier and reheated.

Dessert: Chocolate torte from the display fridge. This was very nice, but obviously bought in and not made on the premises.

Wine: Fairly priced at around £16 a bottle and both the rose and white were rather nice.

The speed of the service was fine, if done with total apathy. We weren't in any hurry, and were in the restaurant from 7.30pm until 11pm. The general feeling was that the food was totally bland and boring, and the restaurant very average. Wouldn't come back here for that reason. I see from the reviews that is a common theme here, and we would definitely agree.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angelo's Ristorante also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Angelo's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angelo's Ristorante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.