We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“John is a legend!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chaise Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Chaise Guest House to your Saves list
The Chaise Guest House
5 Roker Terrace | Roker, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Sunderland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“John is a legend!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed on 5th-7th June. 8 of us stayed for a trip down memory lane, 1 pre-teen, 2 teenage girls, 3 who would vaguely remember their teens and 2 who would struggle to remember their teens!!

We had rooms 1, 2, and 3 all on ground floor as my mother in law has mobility probs and son on oxygen. Beautiful sea views in rooms 1 and 2. We stayed for two nights and nothing was too much problem for John our host.

Breakfast was lovely and he offers evening meal to suit if you book at breakfast - hard to suit vegetarian teenager who doesn't eat veg and a pre-teen who will only eat sausage and chips! John was from the same area as my mother in law, husband and sister in law and was a font of local knowledge which made our holiday.

A great place to stay, fantastic location with great views, great host, spot on banter with teenagers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    20
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
34
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My in-laws in Sunderland booked this room for us during our visit to the UK. We didnt spend a lot of time in the room but the the time spent was amazing. John really helped with everything and was an wonderful host. The room was clean and the breakfast was good but if this doesn't sell it for you.............................

In a two week trip to the UK, the best picture we took during the whole thing was from our window of the Chaise. My wife caught a perfect picture of the sun rising over the sea.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

A very pleasant and friendly guest house, good service, quiet, clean and well located (yards from the beach and only 1.5 miles from Sunderland city centre) Parking available, excellent breakfast (try the kippers) John is a great host. Sunderland has very few places to stay don't spend to much time searching stay here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a good sea view, rooms at the back have a wi-fi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Based on what it cost for a single room for the night this is very good value for money. I had a sea view room with on suite. Clean and tidy. The host is a friendly bloke. The breakfast is spot on with plenty to choose from. Any questions please ask. Remember this is a low cost guest house so don't expect the Hilton, you get what you pay for, and this is a good quality no frills guest house.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

After long and fruitless surch for a five star hotel I discovered that Sunderland doesnt have one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this is the best place to stay bar none......

Room Tip: Try Newcastle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Accomodation (clean, good)
Staff (friendly)
Location (ideal)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We've stayed at the Chaise a few times when we're in Sunderland visiting our son. It's a well established Guest House in a great location, right on the sea front - but the owner is constantly redecorating, refurbishing and generally keeping the place in tip top condition. Everything is spotlessly clean - and the breakfasts are pretty good. We've stayed at the Marriott just down the road occasionally too - which is good, but for value you can't beat the Chaise. A few more parking spaces would be welcome - but there are plenty of places to park (free) if the Chaise's spaces are all full.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chaise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chaise Guest House

Address: 5 Roker Terrace | Roker, Sunderland SR6 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the seafront at Roker, The Chaise Guest House enjoys an ideal location with perfect sea views. Guests will appreciate the friendly atmosphere and helpful service in this family-run establishment. This Victorian guesthouse offers excellent value for money. Breakfast is included and free parking is available.We have been in business for over 20 years and our initial objective has not changed - to provide excellent service, excellent food and a great atmosphere for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Chaise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chaise Guest House Hotel Sunderland
Chaise Hotel Sunderland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chaise Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.