We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Sunderland

Save Saved
You added Marriott Sunderland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott Sunderland
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Queen's Parade Seaburn, Sunderland SR68DB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Sunderland
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This hotel serves a purpose - The rooms are comfortable, clean and of good size. Just a few small niggles that has bought my rating down to 4. The iron in my room and colleagues of mine was not good enough. The breakfast was poor in my opinion. Some things just feel like they need a bit of a refresh although this isnt a major factor.

The main issue is with wi-fi - to get wi-fi in the room it's extremely pricey. It is a pure money making scheme for the hotel and is ridiculously priced.

Good location for Sunderland and surrounding areas.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunderlandMarriott, General Manager at Marriott Sunderland, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is great to read your feedback regarding the rooms but I am sorry you experienced some issues during your stay. I can assure you these issues have been addressed with my team. In all UK Marriott hotels, WiFi is free in public areas, indeed there is a charge for WiFi in bedrooms which allows you to connect up to five devices. We have recently invested in an upgrade to our system to ensure security, quality and speed .
Many thanks for your valuable feedback.
Warmest regards
Raoul Lemmerling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    127
    51
    15
    6
See reviews for
77
120
13
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stay here regularly. Large rooms and bathrooms and many with a lovely sea view and separate seating area. Hotel is a bit tatty and in need of some repair but the friendly staff make up for that. A wide choice of hot and cold breakfast options but only of a standard quality. You can order freshly made items from the separate menu. Small gym and a small swimming pool. A good choice of restaurants are just a 5 minute walk from the hotel - they don't look very special but are very good. Own car park.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is great - we booked a superior room and the room we were allocated was fantastic and about three times the size of a normal double room ! The sea views are lovely and the bathroom was huge. Well worth paying an extra 20 pounds compared to the normal double room rate. The room was spotlessly clean. When we arrived the reception staff were chatty, very professional and friendly. We went to the bar for a drink and it was a really nice atmosphere and again all the staff were really friendly and the service was very efficient. We only stayed for one night but we are already planning a return visit as the location is superb as we could walk over the road and straight onto the beach.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a very enjoyable weekend at the Marriott in Sunderland. We tend to use this hotel when we stay in the North East as it is perfectly positioned for visiting friends in Sunderland and my home town of South Shields. It never disappoints with great rooms and an excellent breakfast. The atmosphere is always good and being able to walk out of the front door onto the seafront is a big bonus, especially with the recent brilliant weather. We enjoyed pleasant walks along the seafront and found the whole weekend extremely relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff at this hotel can't do enough for you. On arrival at check in we were met by a very pleasant receptionist. We had a lovely large room overlooking the sea which was great. Breakfast was lovely and fresh but most of all I can't praise the staff enough - they were marvellous and made our stay very pleasant. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in the area - it's great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Sunderland Marriott for a family long weekend break and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Staff were extremely friendly and our very spacious, comfortable and clean superior room had fantastic views over the sea. Each morning we opened our curtains to be greeted by the sun reflecting off the water and admired the impressive vista. The buffet breakfasts had a good selection of high quality, freshly cooked hot and cold food. I'd recommend this hotel as a good base for a weekend trip or short holiday as there are many interesting places to visit in the area such as Raby Castle, Beamish Museum, Durham or simply go for a pleasant walk along the quiet, relatively unspoilt sea front.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are well worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

On arriving at the hotel I was immediately welcomed by the excellent reception staff. The rooms are well appointed warm, comfortable and immaculately clean. My room was overlooking the park and sea which was great.
The leisure facilities included a pool sauna, the warmest hot tub I've ever been in and a steam room which at the time of my visit was out of order unfortunately.
The hotel offers a great buffet breakfast and again the staff in the dining room couldn't be more helpful and pleasant
Lots of secure free parking for your car

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott Sunderland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Sunderland

Address: Queen's Parade Seaburn, Sunderland SR68DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Sunderland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunderland's only four star hotel is the Sunderland Marriott. Located on the seafront overlooking the sandy beaches at Seaburn two miles north of the city centre. A full-service hotel offering modern, high quality accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities - many enjoying sea views. The hotel also boasts three luxurious suite style rooms complete with a glazed rotunda overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marriott Sunderland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Sunderland Hotel Sunderland
Sunderland Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Sunderland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.