We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to kill a couple of hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monkwearmouth Station Museum

Monkwearmouth Station Museum
North Bridge Street, Sunderland SR5 1AP, England
(0191) 567 7075
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 23 attractions in Sunderland
Type: Specialty Museums
Attraction Details
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great to kill a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited with a school group of 6year olds. The children thought it was great! There is lots to do for both young and old alike. Staff are very knowledgable and helpful. It's a great place to visit for a couple of hours out. Will visit again soon with my own children

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“nice n free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

i took my neice to this after my newphew has been a few times as he likes trains. It is a nice museum. toilets were large and clean. the man who works there was usefull and a nice man

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Take the along for the story telling morning, we had a fun time. We planted sunflowers and it was all free.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I haven't been here since the refurb .but was pleasantly suprised by the kids zone and heritage and historical offerings. Grear for a free hour or so for any age train enthusiast

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A fantastic free museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Not much is free in life, but this is. It's a museum to the trains that used to stop along there (not the metro) and all things transport. Very interesting indeed.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monkwearmouth Station Museum also viewed

 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Monkwearmouth Station Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monkwearmouth Station Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Monkwearmouth Station Museum to your Saves list