We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pre-theatre meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucianos

Lucianos
278 High Street West, Sunderland, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 314 Restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect pre-theatre meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lively and friendly Italian, food was reliable and good value. Made sure we made it to the theatre on time. Excellent for the price and perfect if you want a quick meal before going to the empire.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    51
    27
    15
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We found the service to be lovely even though it was packed.
The garlic bread, pizza and salmon pasta i tried were lovely.
Very good value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“First class food service and atmosphere ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

From booking table to staff manner service and food delivery and quality first class
Highly recommended will certainly go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A friend and I booked for a pre-theatre meal. We knew it would be busy and allowed ( we thought ) for this. We were seated on time and before we had chance to read the menu, the waiter was asking for our order. When we said we hadn't decided, he said he would come back in a couple of minutes. 2 minutes stretched to 35 minutes in spite of our efforts to catch his eye. When he eventually came over, we gave our order along with the people at the next table who had arrived after us. They were half way through their meal before ours came. The food itself was fine, no complaint there. But by now we were running short of time. We asked for the bill, that took another few minutes and it was obviously not our bill. It was more than double what it should have been. It included starters, mains and drinks whereas we only had mains having bought drinks at the bar when we first arrive at 6pm. We had the distinct feeling that they thought we were trying to pull a fast one and it took another 5 minutes to sort it out. What a good job the show was a few minutes late in starting. As it was, the friend we were meeting at the theatre was kept waiting for us in the cold. We won't be going back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Dimly lit old style italian restaurant quite expensive I had booked a table and stil waited a while to be seated foods okay and staff are okay probably eould not return

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucianos also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Lucianos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucianos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.