We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food to die for at an amazing price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Bistro

Borneo Bistro
160-162 Hylton Road, Sunderland SR4 7XU, England
01915659505
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 307 Restaurants in Sunderland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Chinese, Caribbean, African, Filipino, International, Thai, Asian fusion, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Food to die for at an amazing price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

After having take-out from here before, we decided to come for a buffet lunch. Forget your bog standard chain buffet restaurants, this is in a league of its own. The staff are really friendly, the place is absolutely spotless and it has a really good cafe vibe. The food... what can I say? Lip smacking, mouth watering, super tasty! Wow! Eat as much as you want for £7.50! Beat that!!!!! No wonder its number 1. Just wish it was open on an evening, but trade was roaring so they probably don't need to!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    26
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing place, first class food and service, you must try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

The food and choice from Borneo is great, I usually get noodles, curry and beef in oyster sauce as i can't handle spice and its delicious, there really is something for everyone. The prices are so affordable and portions massive for takeaways. The staff are first class and Kevin the owner makes every visit personal and always has time for a chat, if you are from Sunderland you defo need to try this place, you can eat in or get takeout, which suits me great, thanks Borneo for being so good :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Work near this place and can't rate it high enough. Food is good and for someone as fussy as myself there is plenty choice. Price is just right too. Staff are helpful and friendly. There is also a good range of english food too. Give it a try.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“FOOD WITH FLAVOURS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Delicious beef redang, red Thai chicken curry, Best ribs. Choice amazing, quality first class. Price great.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, authentic, quality food, excellent friendly service!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

After wanting so badly to visit for quite some time having read and heard such raving reviews; my Mam and I finally visited today! We held off until 2pm to build our appetite and allow the lunchtime rush to die down. We were warmly greeted by the owner Kevin who asked if we had been before and explained the set up to us. This is a self described cafe though that does not serve justice as the quality of the food is as good or better than any restaurant! You get a choice of 1 or 2 mains plus sides but for a little extra money (just £7.50 each) we opted for the eat as much as you can option to try all of the wonderful delights! They serve hot and cold drinks, milkshakes and slushes, probably wise if you like the more spicy dishes on offer! The owner is happy to describe each dish and offer recommendations based on the popularity and whether you like spicy or milder dishes; the food is then served to you at the buffet station, much more hygienic and a reduction in waste! We were surprised to see how many people came in for take out whilst we were in with the owner knowing the regulars very well, remembering the usual orders! The owner is well travelled and has the countries he has visited drawn on the roof and has obviously acquired a genuine passion for beautiful food. The chef produced some excellent dishes from around the globe and we were given a fresh plate each visit! The food was nice and hot and looked as good as it tasted, no pressure to hurry and leave, quite the opposite with the owner sharing his story in-between plates. There are plans to expand into next door to create more seating space, currently 6 tables of 4 and a few window seats. This expansion will be great for the business especially at peak times ad you can also get a full English breakfast and with close proximity to the hospital, I could see it getting very busy! I would thoroughly advise anyone to go and visit, you shall not be disappointed and will find yourself planning your next visit before you have closed the door behind you!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Borneo Bistro also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Borneo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.