We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, great food, service and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mamma italia

mamma italia
stannington grove, Sunderland, England
0191-522-7516
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 297 restaurants in Sunderland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family friendly, great food, service and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We(family of four) called in on the off chance of a spare table on a Sunday lunchtime and were immediately accommodated by a friendly waitress. We ordered drinks followed by starters and mains. Service was faultless, everything arrived in good time, not too long or too quickly, drinks were cold, food was hot with generous portions and good presentation. We shared a desert and the bill came to only £40. The place was full when we left and this just added to the atmosphere a bit more as it was quiet when we arrived. Definitely recommend it and already planning a trip back soon.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    58
    13
    2
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We first visited this restaurant on the recommendation of a friend who lives nearby. We knew the owner from visiting his previous restaurant in the city centre (Amalfi's - now closed unfotunately) and were welcomed like old friends! The restaurant has taken over half of The Ashbrooke (which has also recently had a refurb and is looking very smart) and has been decorated in traditional Italian style. Very warm and cosy, with plenty of tables. The food is fantastic, both the happy hour and specials menu. It does get extremely busy, you are very unlikely to get in without a booking during happy hour or Sunday lunch. Drinks are extremely reasonably priced, with draught beers being brought in from next door if wanted. I have never had a bad meal here (and I've visited a lot!) and would definitley recommend to anyone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

What can I say, delicious food, friendly staff and reasonable price. Only thing is a fillet steak on the menu possibly rossini or with a roqufort sauce and it would make it ideal ! try it !!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mmmmmmmmmm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Been going to Mamma Italia since it opened about 5 years ago. Unsure what last reviewer meant about it recently changing hands it is owned by Pascal and when we were there last Saturday it still was, in fact went for a takeaway tonight and can confirm Pascal is still the owner cos I asked him when he served me. We go there as a couple with our 14 year old and friends whom have a 12 year old usually every Saturday (it is staggering distance to home) which is good when you have had a bottle (or two) of their fine vino. My bloke likes his pints though and drinks Fosters on draft none of that rip off bottled crap that some restaurants serve. The food is fab, plentiful and with a good choice though if you want to mix and match a different pasta with a sauce just tell Pascal or one of his lovely staff and they will sort it out for you. We tend to make a night of it and usually end up being last out, no pushing you out the door cos they want to go home. Yes although we are regulars we still sometimes have to wait for a table even when booked as it gets really busy but the Ashbrooke pub next door (same building) was renovated last year and now makes a comfy area for a drink while you wait. (Kids are welcome and they have a pool table which kids are allowed to play on costs 60p per game). The restaurant also now has free wi fi which again is a plus when you have kids with iPads wanting to go on Facebook to chat with their friends (teenagers don't talk to their friends anymore they just type to each other strange world). You usually have to book and they have a happy hour 5.30 til 7.00 (could be 7.30 not 100% sure). Anyway a great restaurant, free parking and reasonable prices with great staff, just don't book a table at 8.30 on a Saturday night cos that is our time and we want to be able to get a table every week !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“up and coming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Having recently changed hands and gained some very experienced staff from top restaurants in the city Mamma italia serving good quality rustic italian food is on its way to becoming one of the best

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mamma italia also viewed

Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
Sunderland, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to mamma italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mamma italia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.