We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemonfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lemonfield Hotel to your Saves list
Lemonfield Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Sea Lane, Seaburn, Sunderland SR68EE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Sunderland B&B and Inns
scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

myself and partner,stayed at the lemonfield for a weekend in july. we found it to be a very enjoyable stay nothing was to much trouble for the very friendly couple that are the owners, Rooms were to a very high standard and breakfast was all freshly cooked,really carnt understand the previous review,would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
24
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2009

stayed at this hotel for a couple of day's and what can I say, it couldn't be faulted, my partner is VERY particular as far as cleaniness is concerned and even he couldn't find anything to complain about, the owners were friendly and informative, the room was great, breakfast excellent , will definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. What a great place. Can't understand previous review. Very quiet so had great sleep. Had a lovely room. Bedroom and bathroom spotless, tea and coffee, tv etc. Excellent freshly cooked breakfast in a well presented dining room. Hosts very helpful nothing to much bother. Will certainly use again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2008

We stayed at this 'hotel' for 2nights in March. I don't know how it was allowed to call itself a hotel as it really is only an average B&B. We booked directly with the owner Gary through email. He requested our credit card details through email to secure the room. I didn't really want to send our details through email so I suggested a deposit by cheque. He agreed and asked for half the cost, which I duly posted on. When we arrived Gary opened the door, but never opened his mouth, even to smile. He handed us the registration form and then uttered his first words, which were, 'my credit card machine is broken so you cant pay me that way'. We said we had intended to pay cash. I think because I wouldn't email him my cc details, he felt we didn't trust him personally, but surely he knows its not a safe way to do business!
Anyway the place was certainly not a hotel, the room was tiny and badly in need of a refurbishment. Ensuite looked liked DIY job. Bed very uncomfortable and quilt cover looked like it needed a wash uggh! Breakfast was good enough though and served by a very cheery lady, whom I assume was Yvonne, Garys wife. Definetly would never stay here again,although it was in a very nice location. Gary did thaw out the next day and gave us good directions and advice for the soccer match. Seaburn is a lovely spot and I definetly would return, but would splash out for the Marriott.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — A basic B&B mascarauding as a Hotel.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunters40, Owner at Lemonfield Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2008
Just noticed this review.
Lemonfield Guest accommadation is regulary checked by the tourist board and is given a 4 star rateing which is one of the highest in the area. No complaint was made on arrival, during or on departure regarding cleanliness etc. We have an excellent reputation for service and comfort and many, many happy guests return.
Please note we are not the Marriott Hotel but this is reflected in the price you pay. You can't stay in the Marriott for £48:00 per night including breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lemonfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemonfield Hotel

Address: Sea Lane, Seaburn, Sunderland SR68EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Sunderland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Sunderland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemonfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a beautiful family run guest house overlooking the seafront at Seaburn, which has an excellent reputation for service and comfort, and a good location for all seafront events and stadium concerts. This large 20th Century house offers excellent accommodation for all from the single travelers to families, with FREE Parking and FREE WIFI. The guest house caters for all, Single, Twin, Double and Families. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, En-Suite, colour TV, double glazing and central heating. Being on the seafront some rooms have picturesque sea views. All prices include a full English breakfast with a choice of cereals and fruit juices. Restaurants and pubs are only a couple of minutes walk, the Marriott Hotel is less than a minute away, and the metro station is only a 10 minute walk. Ground floor en-Suite rooms are also available as is a superb 'Barley Twist' four-poster with en-suite and sea views, for that special occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lemonfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemonfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.