We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic to your Saves list
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jernbanealleen 33, Sandefjord 3210, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“great location hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Myself & partner stayed here good friday till easter monday,i booked it as the ryanair flight from liverpool was a good price,alas Norway is mega expensive.The taxi fare from the airportnearly doubled due to it being bank holiday tjis is normal practice.The hotel was fantastic breakfast buffet style hot & cold food plenty of choice,also got a free evening meal which was good afternoon on reception area waffles tea coffee &fruit daily. went to the indian resteraunt across the road 2 pints of lager 1 gin & tonic chicken korma,veg curry ,rice & naan bread £101!! expensive!! got the train to Oslo 2 persons £124 had food in a pizza place £70! the prices are high but not to the Norweigans as their salary is in line apparantly they earn from £16 -£18 an hour opposed to our U.K £6.19 i would advise not to go over the easter period as everywhere was closed in Sandefjord it is a stunning place very clean Would reccomend Clarion collection hotel good food nice rooms staff good especially anna

Room Tip: all good we were overlooking front street rooms were comfortable & very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel! Yes, it's quiet here in Easter... Next time you should visit Sandefjord during summer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    58
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
45
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in Sandefjord. It is one of the most, if not the most original hotel I have stayed. The furniture and the enviroment are neat and cozy, but also extremely interesting since the hotel is actually a whaling history museum. Dining and breakfast rooms are also in line with the theme and very pleasant. The evening meal is nothing special, but well presented as a buffet and it certainly server the purpose.
The only minor flaw are the small bathroom towels and the lack of hairdryer in the room.
Like most of the hotels or B&B in Norway, it good value only for Norwegians and their salary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with other travellers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Here you can stay at a great hotel with a touch of the history from the city and its whaling industry. Lots of stuff on display here. See how it was on board on one of the large ships. Norwegian waffles served every day....
Good location down town Sandefjord. with an Indian restaurant just across the street + and good sushi down on the next block, 1 block down from the train station. 10-15 minutes walk down to the docks.
Nice clean and well maintained rooms. Friendly and helpful staff.
Elevator... Doesn't have a pool or a spa though..
The bar in the basement is not recommended, filled up with local drunks....

Room Tip: Less street noise higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your positive review; we're glad you enjouyed your stay here! My friendly staff and I look forward to welcome you again - and remember; we have our own bar in the lobby :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I am on a business trip to Sandefjord (teaching job), unfortunately in the weekend, away from my family. However, the Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic made my stay in Sandefjord a bit more easy to go through. The room I was offered was nice, clean and sizeable. Flatscreen television. I slept well in the bed. Free fast internet, which everyone on business trips evaluate as an important but also necessary asset, at least here in Norway. The staff is friendly and eager to help you, if you have some queries. The breakfast was simple but sufficient. A huge advantage was the possibility to eat some hot food in the early afternoon, between 1800 and 2100, free of charge. Thus, I skipped the trip to someone nearby restaurant. I also attended the training exercise room that the hotel offers for its guests (as the only guest in the evening, as far as I could see). I tried the rowing machine for more than an hour, watching TV, having a nice time. Surprise: The hotel offers free Munkholm beer (non alcoholic) to all guests that are so disciplined that they combine their stay at the hotel with a nice training session. Suggestion to the hotel: Please expand the training equipment list with an elliptical trainer. The assortment of training equipment was a bit too limited, for my taste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your nice review! We are now planning to expand our training eqiupment, hopefully you will find it even better on your next stay. We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very nice , museum like hotel to stay. Good breakfast and very comfy rooms. I stayed there early Dec 12, there was a gluhwein in the reception welcoming you. It was pleasure to see that in a cold Dec evening. Very nice stay !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and our gluhwein ("gløgg" in Norwegian), and look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I always try to use Choice-hotels when I can and this time it was Atlantic in Sandefjord. The hotel is situated in the center of Sandefjord, close to the main church. It is a very nice hotel with excellent service. The hotel is also a kind of museum, with a nice exhibition of equipmetn from the whaling period of Sandefjord.
My room was spacious and nice. They are refurbishing the hotel and I think it will be great when ready.
The basement restaurant where you had breakfast and evening meal(free) was a very nice place, decorated as an old whaling ship. Very special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sandefjord used to be a city famous for whaling.Having checked into this hotel, you will be treated to an exhibition of items related to this industry many decades ago.

THis is my 7th time in Sandefjord, but my first time at this hotel. THis place immediately feels much warmer and more homely compared to the other hotel I have stayed (Don't get me wrong, the other hotel, Rica Park, is good but it feels less warm than this). Rooms are clean and nice, always loved heated toilets floors, which are common here. Great for cold nights! Breakfast is simple and they have complimentary tea time with waffles!

Staff here are friendly and the dining rooms are cozy.

Location-wise, Sandefjord is a small city, you can walk to anywhere within 10-15 minutes max.
THe hotel is located very near the train station.

WOuld love to come back to this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kari-Ann N, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your nice reward - we would love to welcome you to our hotel again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic

Address: Jernbanealleen 33, Sandefjord 3210, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Sandefjord Municipality > Sandefjord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Sandefjord
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic 3.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic is a homely hotel with an excellent location in Sandefjord town centre, 10 km from the airport. The hotel was built in 1914, and has since then played an important role in the history of Sandefjord. This was especially evident during the golden years of whaling, when Sandefjord grew to be the most important centre for whaling in Norway. Naturally they have chosen whaling as their historical theme, and throughout the hotel you will find displays, documents and showcases telling the story of whaling and its impact on the town and community of Sandefjord. The hotel invite their guests to help them selves to coffee and tea at all times, and wafles from 3-6pm. Eveningmeal is included in the roomprice from 6-9 pm everyday. The hotel has 109 comfortable rooms, 2 of which are suites with a fireplace and a jacuzzi bath. All rooms are spacious with minibar, TV, Wlan and private bathroom. Conference facilities The hotel has a total conference capacity of max 285 guests in 8 conference rooms. The largest conference room has a capacity of 90 (classroom lay-out). Recreational facilities You will find a gym, solarium, Turkish steam bath and sauna in the relaxing spa facilities. Location Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic is situated in walking distance from Sandefjord Railway Station and apx. 450 metres from the harbour. Leaving E-18: follow the sign to the railway station, turn right and continue one block towards the center. The hotel can offer indoor parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Sandefjord
Clarion Sandefjord
Sandefjord Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.