We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Wassilioff

Save Saved
You added Hotel Wassilioff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Wassilioff
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Havnegt. 1, Larvik 3290, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Larvik B&B and Inns
Padua, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“average place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights. The hotel was built in 1844 and it's an historical mansion. The interior witness lots of history and memories. The room was just fine with 2 beds and a lovely view of the sea. The only things I didn't like was that the were virtually no sunshades as Norwegian do like the sun at any time! It can be good if you are in wintertime, but in summer this can be a nuisance. Also the TV lacks some other channels out of the locals and the BBC. Don't know about the price as I was invited, but for the expensive Norway I think this must be a good bargain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
4
5
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I think because this is the only option for a hotel in Stavern, they have no competition and it shows. It was OK, but for $300 a night for a back room for three with a dormer ceiling and no recent common area upgrades, it seemed over-priced. But no bed-bugs and a average breakfast.

Room Tip: It is great to stay right in Stavern, but you have to pay for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed with my wife in this hotel for one night. Knowing that Norwegian hotels are expensive, this one is good value for money and staff was very friendly and helpful with all questions. Breakfast was good. Location is great in front of harbour and water. Good, recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This is the best stay I've had i Norway for many years.
We were welcomed by a friendly person at the reception.
Upstairs we got these charming rooms with a nice wiew of the harbour.
Nice beds and bathroom.
Breakfast was good. Although this was the only place where the staff was
hard to get in contact with. I like to say hello or good morning. But the people
working there would not look at you!
We did eat dinner one evening. Very tasty food and friendly waitress.
The people working in the rooms were also very friendly.
So this is a hotel we wish to visit again !
Thank you to Wassilioff for making this two days we will remember with pleasure!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Wassilioff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wassilioff

Address: Havnegt. 1, Larvik 3290, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Larvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wassilioff 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Wassilioff is officially ranked as a 4 star Hotel with beautiful rooms, conference facilities, restaurants, bar and pub. The hotel is situated in Stavern with an extraordinary view to the sea, harbour and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Hotel Wassilioff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Wassilioff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.