We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and spa, very disappointing restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farris Bad Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Farris Bad Hotel to your Saves list
Farris Bad Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fritzoe Brygge 2, Larvik 3285, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Canada
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
211 hotel reviews
Reviews in 192 cities Reviews in 192 cities
271 helpful votes 271 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and spa, very disappointing restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very modern (likely less than 5 years old) and very pleasant. Great architecture, and a very nice spa attached to the hotel, which is free of charge for hotel guests. Front desk staff are very professional, courteous and helpful, housekeepers are quiet, efficient, and pleasant.

Impossible to figure out how to use the thermostat in the room - no instructions (in any language) were provided.

The restaurant was very disappointing - understaffed, cleanliness problems, very laissez-faire service. By all means, stay in the hotel and enjoy the spa... but walk 5 minutes into the village when it is time to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    89
    46
    13
    3
See reviews for
16
139
18
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

When did you last stay in a hotel where you felt surrounded by only beauty, art and soft carpets wherever you turned?
Its among the the best hotels in Norway, and the standards are high, yet never snobbish! The interior is very minimalistic, but even for a maximalist it feels warm, interesting and welcoming. Step down on the beach and have your coffee outside after breakfast and it feels like you might be on a beach in Sri Lanka. Great place to stay for recovering, business or holiday! Still, after 10 -12 nights in the hotel, I never took the time to try out the Spa, which everyone is very enthusiastic about!
Looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: My favourite rooms are the ones with balcony, facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

you can enjoy superb food, use the amazingly big spa for free, or simply relax in your beautiful room (make sure to get a room with sea view).

I was slightly supprised that there where no waterbolier/coffee/tea in the room and som of the toiletries had not been changed since the last guest, so housekeeping could be better. but otherwise , this hotel is awsome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself might not be everyone's cup of Tea, decorated quite minimalistic with cold colors and sharpe edges. I however fund it quite enlightening. The spa area is not oversized compared by the to the sleeping facilities, but it never felt crowned during our stay. We stayed from Tuesday to Wednesday during Easter. We dinned in the hotel restaurant and the menu and food served was satisfying. The selections of expensive wines was impressive, but the low budget/ middle range assortment was clearly not prioritised. I would also like to point out that our waitress did not exactly make us feel comfortable ordering the "cheapest" wine. She clearly need some more practise in hospitality management. But let's face it one does not travel to Farris bad to eat dinner. As for the breakfast this was well assorted and excellent, however one would have preferred been guided to a table and perhaps getting fresh coffee.

The thing that I like the most about the SPA was the sauna and relaxation bath areal placed a bit down the hall from the other facilities. Just walk past the solariums. It had large windows with excellent sea view and even a stairway down to the sea. Bathing in the sea in march is surly underestimated. This was heaven.

I would gladly go back, but perhaps I would try to find a restaurant in the city centre next time. This is a far as I can see Farris Bads weakest link.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Service, room, food, spa, bed. Top score. Good place to stay for both business and pleasure!
I want to return for pleasure next time to test more of the spa. I also appreciated the kind staff of this hotel, from reception to restaurant, smile all over.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This year, our annual seminar was held at Farris Bad. I was very taken with the adventurous architecture, and the beautiful beach-front location. The numerous artworks inside and outside the hotel were also impressive. The rooms were pleasant and the sound of waves lapping onto the beach was soothing as I drifted off to sleep.
Our group numbered approximately forty participants. Checking in and out went smoothly and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The meeting room was spacious, well equipped, and admirably suited to group work.
I myself did not visit the spa facilities, but later envied those who did, and who arrived at dinner glowing and very enthusiastic about the spa.
We had dinner in the main restaurant, in an area that was curtained off. The first course was delicious, as was the dessert. I found he main course of cod, although appropriate to the location, a little disappointing. I feel that fish is not always a good choice when serving large parties.
Breakfast and lunch were excellent - a very wide choice and ever present staff who approached with offers of assistance, those who seemed to be looking for something.

I warmly recommend Farris Bad for seminars and also for other potential guests especially couples - although I would not particularly recommend it for families with small children (the absence of whom actually contributes to the soothing atmosphere).

Room Tip: Request an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is hard to describe this hotel, you have to make the experience your self. The hotel is spacious, clean and very comfortable. The food is outstanding, and they have sushi for lunch, along with a very good selection of seafood and meat. The rooms have nice decor, and very comfortable beds, with large pillows, so you could just stay in bed and relax.

The hotel has a good selection of meeting rooms for conferences, all equipped with the necessary equipment, as projectors, pens, paper, tea and coffee.

The spa was lovely, several pools and saunas, showers and massage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Farris Bad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farris Bad Hotel

Address: Fritzoe Brygge 2, Larvik 3285, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Farris Bad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The last Ice Age lasted 100,000 years and formed the moraine on which Larvik and Norway’s largest beech forest rest. Roughly 10,000 years ago the ice retreated, and water filtered through the gravel beds and formed a pure, nutritious spring.Mineral-rich spring water has poured out in Larvik since the dawn of time. Steeped in nutrients. Health-bringing.In 1843, Karen Linaae established the first spa at this natural spring. In 1880, Dr. Ingebrigt Holm built a new spa. It was frequented by the likes of Ibsen and Bjørnson, Lagerlöf and Hamsun. They stayed here, danced here, and partook in the curative spa. Soon, the effervescent, heath-bringing water from Larvik was known throughout Europe. The story of the new Farris BadIn 1990, Mille Marie Treschow launched the first idea of building a hotel at Barretistranda. When construction started in 2007 it hailed the end to years of negotiations to acquire permission. In 2005 the project was stopped by the Norwegian Ministry of Environment and Chief County Executive Mona Røkke. For ten months, the plans were in danger of being shelved; but after making changes to the drawings, establishing a public beach zone and mobilising a 10,000-signature petition, the plans were finally approved. On 5 March 2009, the new Farris Bad was officially opened with one foot on land and one foot in the sea, with one foot in history and one foot in the future. The hotel has 176 rooms, including 10 ocean suites and 40 spa rooms.The hotel is owned by Mille Marie Treschow and Stein Erik Hagen, each with a 50% share. The total investment is in the region of NOK 350 million. Farris Bad is operated by Choice Hotels Scandinavia AS, the largest hotel chain in Scandinavia with more than 8,000 employees and an annual turnover of over NOK 5 billion.Farris Bad is the first brand name in Norway that Choice has launched as a unique “stand alone” brand. Farris Bad shall therefore be developed as an independent brand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Nordic Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Farris Bad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farris Bad Hotel Larvik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farris Bad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.