We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and spa, very disappointing restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farris Bad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Farris Bad Hotel to your Saves list
Farris Bad Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fritzoe Brygge 2, Larvik 3285, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
286 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and spa, very disappointing restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The hotel is very modern (likely less than 5 years old) and very pleasant. Great architecture, and a very nice spa attached to the hotel, which is free of charge for hotel guests. Front desk staff are very professional, courteous and helpful, housekeepers are quiet, efficient, and pleasant.

Impossible to figure out how to use the thermostat in the room - no instructions (in any language) were provided.

The restaurant was very disappointing - understaffed, cleanliness problems, very laissez-faire service. By all means, stay in the hotel and enjoy the spa... but walk 5 minutes into the village when it is time to eat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Tønsberg, Vestfold, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

When did you last stay in a hotel where you felt surrounded by only beauty, art and soft carpets wherever you turned?
Its among the the best hotels in Norway, and the standards are high, yet never snobbish! The interior is very minimalistic, but even for a maximalist it feels warm, interesting and welcoming. Step down on the beach and have your coffee outside after breakfast and it feels like you might be on a beach in Sri Lanka. Great place to stay for recovering, business or holiday! Still, after 10 -12 nights in the hotel, I never took the time to try out the Spa, which everyone is very enthusiastic about!
Looking forward to my next stay!

Room Tip: My favourite rooms are the ones with balcony, facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helgasol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

you can enjoy superb food, use the amazingly big spa for free, or simply relax in your beautiful room (make sure to get a room with sea view).

I was slightly supprised that there where no waterbolier/coffee/tea in the room and som of the toiletries had not been changed since the last guest, so housekeeping could be better. but otherwise , this hotel is awsome!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself might not be everyone's cup of Tea, decorated quite minimalistic with cold colors and sharpe edges. I however fund it quite enlightening. The spa area is not oversized compared by the to the sleeping facilities, but it never felt crowned during our stay. We stayed from Tuesday to Wednesday during Easter. We dinned in the hotel restaurant and the menu and food served was satisfying. The selections of expensive wines was impressive, but the low budget/ middle range assortment was clearly not prioritised. I would also like to point out that our waitress did not exactly make us feel comfortable ordering the "cheapest" wine. She clearly need some more practise in hospitality management. But let's face it one does not travel to Farris bad to eat dinner. As for the breakfast this was well assorted and excellent, however one would have preferred been guided to a table and perhaps getting fresh coffee.

The thing that I like the most about the SPA was the sauna and relaxation bath areal placed a bit down the hall from the other facilities. Just walk past the solariums. It had large windows with excellent sea view and even a stairway down to the sea. Bathing in the sea in march is surly underestimated. This was heaven.

I would gladly go back, but perhaps I would try to find a restaurant in the city centre next time. This is a far as I can see Farris Bads weakest link.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful hotel. Service, room, food, spa, bed. Top score. Good place to stay for both business and pleasure!
I want to return for pleasure next time to test more of the spa. I also appreciated the kind staff of this hotel, from reception to restaurant, smile all over.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NordFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This year, our annual seminar was held at Farris Bad. I was very taken with the adventurous architecture, and the beautiful beach-front location. The numerous artworks inside and outside the hotel were also impressive. The rooms were pleasant and the sound of waves lapping onto the beach was soothing as I drifted off to sleep.
Our group numbered approximately forty participants. Checking in and out went smoothly and the staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
The meeting room was spacious, well equipped, and admirably suited to group work.
I myself did not visit the spa facilities, but later envied those who did, and who arrived at dinner glowing and very enthusiastic about the spa.
We had dinner in the main restaurant, in an area that was curtained off. The first course was delicious, as was the dessert. I found he main course of cod, although appropriate to the location, a little disappointing. I feel that fish is not always a good choice when serving large parties.
Breakfast and lunch were excellent - a very wide choice and ever present staff who approached with offers of assistance, those who seemed to be looking for something.

I warmly recommend Farris Bad for seminars and also for other potential guests especially couples - although I would not particularly recommend it for families with small children (the absence of whom actually contributes to the soothing atmosphere).

Room Tip: Request an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 560CarolC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillehammer, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

It is hard to describe this hotel, you have to make the experience your self. The hotel is spacious, clean and very comfortable. The food is outstanding, and they have sushi for lunch, along with a very good selection of seafood and meat. The rooms have nice decor, and very comfortable beds, with large pillows, so you could just stay in bed and relax.

The hotel has a good selection of meeting rooms for conferences, all equipped with the necessary equipment, as projectors, pens, paper, tea and coffee.

The spa was lovely, several pools and saunas, showers and massage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siutcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Larvik
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Grand Farris
3.7 mi away
Hotel Wassilioff
Hotel Wassilioff
#2 of 5 in Larvik
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
8.9 mi away
Scandic Park Sandefjord
Scandic Park Sandefjord
#2 of 5 in Sandefjord
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Atlantic
20.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
Quality Hotel Tonsberg
#1 of 6 in Tonsberg
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
15.2 mi away
Engo Gard Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farris Bad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farris Bad Hotel

Address: Fritzoe Brygge 2, Larvik 3285, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Vestfold > Larvik Municipality > Larvik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Larvik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Farris Bad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Farris Bad in Larvik, Norway's most exclusive spa hotel for both private guests and conferences. This Spahotel has been in operation since 2009 and has a stunning beach- and ocean view. With us you will find the largest and most comprehensive spahotel in the Nordic region. In our spa area you get treatments and wonderful massages by our talented spa therapists and in our restaurant you will find cuisine made with the best local ingredients and daily fresh seafood. For the complete experience we offer spa facilities and package solutions, both single day and for the perfect weekend. Our romantic bestseller "Time for Love" includes a three course dinner, entrance to the spa, welcome drink in the room and breakfast buffet. Book a romantic weekend for two, a weekend with your best friends or play golf at the golf course nearby . All our hotel rooms are tastefully decorated and our suites were renovated in 2014. Make time for yourself and book yourself into a spa break today! Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Farris Bad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farris Bad Hotel Larvik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing