We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for airport stay with early flight” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hotelvegen, Gardermoen 2061, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Gardermoen
Villa Rica, Georgia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Ok for airport stay with early flight”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed one night at the Radisson Blu Airport Hotel before an early morning flight. I guess we got a bad taste for the hotel at check-in. The young lady working was less than pleasant when demanding my husband show his Carlson Club Membership Card to check-in. The number was in our reservation and should not have been needed with ID (passport). The hotel bar was cold and not inviting. On the other hand, when the shower would not turn on in the morning (we had a 4 am wake-up call) the front desk came and got us into a vacant room across the hall to shower! The morning front desk staff was outstanding! They did have breakfast starting at 5 am so we were able to get a bite before walking back to the airport for our flight. The walkway from the airport is mostly covered with only a short uncovered portion to get to and from the hotel. If not for the early flight we would have stayed another night in the city.

Room Tip: To be fair, the room was fine. The shower was unacceptable. The check-in staff was horrible and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    369
    196
    68
    34
See reviews for
115
209
109
376
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vinjeoera, Norway
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Have actually stayed at this hotel many times in the past without writing a review. Just a couple of minutes walk after you have collected you bag in arrivals means that it is perfectly placed.
The staff are very friendly and the rooms are comfortable.
Breakfast is a delight with a mind-boggling array of choices.
We ate in the restaurant and cannot complain about the quality of the food. The only downside is the open plan design and the proximity of the bar. When we were there the bar was very busy and there was a lot of noise.
The room was, for my liking, far too warm and dispite adjusting the temperature controls I was unable to stop warm air being pumped in. If you are like me then I recommend mentioning this when checking in.
Otherwise it is the perfect location when travelling though Oslo airport when you have an overnight stay before travelling on.
It is pricy and this may put others off.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed here on a Saturday night, between connecting flights.

The hotel is a couple of hundred meters from the airport exit, so it easy to get to with luggage. It was raining but the hotel approach is via a long covered walkway, which meant only crossing the road was exposed to the weather.

Check-in was fine; lacking a little of the usual Radisson warmth. I wanted to pay with Euros in cash (as I had a pocket full of them) and this was possible but it seemed like a bit of an effort. The moral of the story being don't expect Euros to be a universal currency across Europe, even in those countries that don't have it as their currency. This was in contrast to Iceland, where Euros are as widely accepted as Icelandic Kronur.

I had to request the room upgrade that comes with my Concierge level membership of Carlson Rezidor's loyalty programme, despite having specifically highlighted it on the reservation. The member of staff did look a bit baffled by this but his supervisor provided it without question, upgrading me to a junior suite having booked a business class room originally.

Scandinavian hotel rooms tend to be very compact, with standard rooms often being less than 20 m2, hence why I generally try and go for the highest room grade to get the largest room. As the pics show, the junior suite was a reasonable size - I am guessing around 35 m2 - which was more than enough for a one night layover between flights.

The room was quite well equipped, with a good sized work desk, large flat screen TV (that rotated so you could watch it in the sitting area or in bed), massive wardrobe and both sofa & armchair. The bed wasn't massive but was up to the usual Radisson standard in terms of comfortable mattress and aiding a good night's sleep. The room was also very well double-glazed so there was no noise interruption from planes outside.

The bathroom was compact with a shower over bath but the shower height was adjustable (essential if you are 6'4" tall) and the water pressure was great, with plenty of hot water on demand. The bathroom also had very good lighting, with two strips lights either side of the mirror and a shaving mirror. The toiletries were from the excellent Anne Semonin range.

On the downside, the room hadn't been cleaned fully, as there was rubbish from the previous guest in the bin in the sitting room and the floor looked like it hadn't been hoovered. This may have been because this junior suite was only allocated when I highlighted the upgrade at check-in. It wasn't a massive issue as everything else was fine in the room, so maybe put it down to sloppy housekeeping. In the bathroom, there was no floor mat and the large towels had seen better days; one was threadbare in places. As it turned out, the shower door above the bath was such a good fit that water didn't leak out onto the floor of the bathroom and so there wasn't a need for a mat. No excuse for the towels though, especially in this grade of room.

There was a kettle in the room, in addition to the Nespresso machine, but for some reason it was on the corner of the work desk. It looked out of place, especially when the storage unit in the centre of the room had space in it and that's where the rest of the tea & coffee making facilities were. It looked like the previous guest had left it on the desk after use and housekeeping hadn't put it away.

The climate control was also difficult to decipher. There were no instructions or symbols to indicate the desired temperature and the control unit looked somewhat ancient; in a modern Radisson and this grade of room, digital climate control is an expectation now.

I ate dinner in the restaurant which was superb. I was expecting a standard airport hotel restaurant, serving bland food devoid of soul. What I got was a wonderful three course meal. Starter was smoked salmon, which was two thick pieces, almost like salmon steaks. The smoked flavour was deep, rich & intense - a million miles away from the David Dickinson coloured farmed rubbish that is sold in UK supermarkets. It was worth the trip to Oslo just to experience proper smoked salmon.

Main course was the burger, with potato wedges and chili mayo. Again, this was way better than I was expecting: the burger was dense & meaty and well-seasoned. The accompaniments of coleslaw, gherkin and pickled onion were delicate and light. The potato wedges were crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. The burger was one of the best I've eaten, up there with Kitzens restaurant at Radisson Blu Plaza in Helsinki.

Dessert was panna cotta with cloudberries. The panna cotta was good but the dish was lifted to excellent by the cloudberries. Cloudberries are a Scandinavian speciality and taste wonderful - neither sweet nor sour but rather a distinct, almost slightly smokey taste.

Service was attentive and professional. The restaurant had a very homely and welcoming atmosphere, even though it was almost empty when I arrived for an early dinner. As it filled up, that atmosphere increased. Top marks to whoever designed the layout of the restaurant.

With a large glass of local beer, the bill was £61 Sterling converted. In Norway everything is expensive - the beer alone was £10.08 Sterling converted - and so comparing the cost with the UK is difficult. Yes, the cost is more than you would pay for the same type of meal in the UK. It was more than I've paid for comparable meals in Scandinavia, which reflects the fact that it's an airport hotel with a captive market. Having said that, it was a very good meal and I enjoyed it.

Overall, this is a reliable and solid airport hotel that gives you most of what you would expect from the Radisson brand. It did feel a bit like the hotel wasn't trying that hard, which is perhaps understandable when you have a supply of guests right on your doorstep. However, this is no reason not to go that extra mile in terms of adding-value to the guest experience, as it is what Radisson's 'Yes I Can!' ethos is all about.

I'm sure many guests rock up here and don't care - they just want a bed for the night. However, I chose this because it is a Radisson and felt that their usual values were a little lacking: a little warmer welcome, a little more attention to detail in the room, would have been appreciated. I was going to give the hotel 3 circles but the quality of the dinner in the restaurant elevated that to 4 circles.

I would stay here again on a stopover between flights although with Oslo city being 30 miles away from Oslo Gardermoen, there isn't really that much of an alternative.

Room Tip: Go for the largest room size you can, as standard rooms are very compact.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We were fortunate enough to get a complimentary upgrade and the room was wonderful. Staff were polite and helpful when needed. The large free breakfast buffet is always a bonus.
I liked that we could easily hop on the train to go downtown (which was $110 US roundtrip) and be right at the airport for our flight the next day. Prices as usual for norway are spendy. 2 chicken ceasar salads (no bread), 1 soda and 1 beer. $89 US dollars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
448 reviews 448 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stay here quite often and enjoy the hotel for its close proximity to the airport.. a very short walk to the terminal building. The Gym is very good. the rooms are clean and comfortable, no complaints there. The reception staff and courteous and helpful. I cannot say the same for the F&B personal. I was address by a colleague on the rudeness and ignorance of the F&B staff and took no notice, until I met with some of the staff, they definitely are either managed by fear or there are all very unhappy and have no respect or cutesy for the hotel customers. I would suggest not dinning in the hotel and finding something elsewhere. As for the rest of the property, its all what you would expect from a Radission.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A very short walk from the airport and perfectly comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is indifferent. Conference facilities not so good and a rather odd lack of toilets in the public area. Rooms are OK but nothing special

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen

Address: Hotelvegen, Gardermoen 2061, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gardermoen
#3 Business Hotel in Gardermoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo places guests right next to the airport terminal and offers direct access via a covered walkway. In addition, bus and train stops are only 100 metres from the hotel. Five hundred guest rooms and suites provide deluxe comforts, including complimentary high speed wireless internet and coffee and tea provisions, perfect for relaxing after traveling all day. Meeting delegates and event planners will be impressed with the 31 well-equipped rooms that comprise the spacious conference facilities located near the terminal. The Super Breakfast Buffet served at Toot's International Restaurant. A la carte dinner options at AfterGate. On-site Fit4Flight wellness centre equipped with a sauna, solarium and golf simulator with a selection of 32 virtual golf courses ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Rezidor, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen Hotel Gardermoen
Radisson Gardermoen
Gardermoen Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Airport Hotel, Oslo Gardermoen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.