We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for Norway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans Gaarderveg 15, Gardermoen 2060, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Gardermoen
England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very good value for Norway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

The rooms are simple but pleasant and clean. The breakfast was excellent. With breakfast and internet access included for under 80 euros, this was great value in Norway.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    81
    66
    21
    13
See reviews for
28
36
19
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed here for one night during a seminar. Took the shuttle transport from the Oslo airport, which took some 10 minutes. Friendly and welcoming staff. Nice and clean rooms. Business Center was helpful with my prints. Seminar included lunch, breakfast and dinner. Food were diverse and tasty and the service friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had stayed here a couple of times in the past when between flights at Oslo. It's fairly convenient to the airport and is good value - rooms, breakfast , service etc. all fine. However, the main reason we used to use it was because it had a great swimming pool and as it's in the middle of nowhere the pool was a good way to while away the time with our young children. This year we discovered that the pool has gone! Replaced by expanded conference facilities. The current hotel literature has all references to the pool crossed out. Although their own website no longer refers to the pool, many many third-party hotel booking and information sites carry the old information, so be aware, there is no longer a pool. It's now just another anonymous, functional, efficient, near-airport hotel.

However, we did go round the corner to visit the Norwegian Air Force museum (http://www.flysamlingen.museum.no/) which the children really enjoyed.
Next time we need to stay, however, we will probably go into the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

A short distance fron Oslo Gardermoer airport, but there is a shuttle bus that runs regularly (NOK 60/ one way) between hotel and airport. Cosy room and extremely good breakfest buffet as well as helpful staff. Good value for money if you need to stay by the airport.

  • Liked — Breakfest and service
  • Disliked — Quite far from the centre (if you want to see Oslo) and cost for the Shuttle Bus
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

A typical off-location airport hotel. Our room was of average size with all linen provided and clean and airy. The bus shuttle to the airport runs every 20 mins and takes 7 mins. Cost is 60NKr per person each way. For early flights it starts at 4.30am and a cold breakfast is available in the dining room from 4.00am (hot drinks are provided). The evening meal was a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses (plus a veggie option) and 4 sweets. The staff were helpful and obliging with express checkout, which worked well, and soon sorted out one minor problem. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so do not even think of going out! When we stayed the swimming pool was undergoing a complete refurbishment so was unavailable. No-one could say when it would next be available.

  • Liked — conveniece
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for three nights attending a big congress. I had a very good time. The food was excellent (everything served here is ecological) and its a really large breakfast and lunch buffet. Everything with the congress ran smoothly also and the WiFi was free. The rooms are ok, nothing special, a bit small but what you expect from a hotel. The hotel also has a very large and nice pool, but no fitness center. One thing I also have to comment is the entertainment at the bar. Jeff Abbot - a keytar player - was really good and made it quite enjoyable to stay at the bar until late into the night.

The problem with this hotel is that its in the middle of nowhere. Its around 30 min drive to Oslo and you have to drive a while for restaurants and shops. The bar is ridiculusly expensive - a beer costs around 70 NOK for 0,4 L. I would only recommend this hotel for a one night stay if your plane is late at Gardermoen or if your planning a business meeting and are not to concerned about a buzzing nightlife right outside your door. This hotel is not a good base for experiencing Oslo or the area around.

  • Liked — Business facilities, pool, food, Jeff Abbot
  • Disliked — Location, price
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2005

My wife and I stayed at this hotel while in transit to and from Oslo. We arrived for our first stay at 23:00 and were given a small room (even though we had made reservations well in advance). There were no towels in the room when we arrived but a call to the desk solved that problem. At 23:30 very loud music and singing began. When we called the desk to discover the source of the problem we were told that a band was playing in the bar, two floors below our room, and that it would continue until 1:30. Nothing could be done about the situation since the hotel was full. The next morning, when we checked out, I was told we would have the room gratis because of the problem. However, the problem should not have occurred in the first place.

On our second stay we were given a larger room. It, too, had no towels. It also needed a good cleaning and extensive repairs to the various problems (holes in the carpet, gouges in the tables and woodwork, minimally functioning plumbing).

During both of our stays large business meetings were in progress. Perhaps this is an ideal location for such meetings but it is neither a comfortable nor a convenient place for travellers to stay.

Another matter, possibly beyond the control of the hotel is the 'smokers Siberia' directly outside the front entrance. Anyone entering or leaving the hotel must run the gauntlet of smokers forced to smoke in the open air. Since this is also the place one must wait for the airport bus (50 NKR or about $8.00 per person, each way) one is forced to endure a rather unpleasant experience.

We will not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport

Address: Hans Gaarderveg 15, Gardermoen 2060, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gardermoen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gardermoen
#4 Business Hotel in Gardermoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Oslo Airport is one of the countries largest and leading conference hotels. The hotel has 432 comfortable rooms and suits. The hotel has a large restaurant and a bar. The hotel is located only 8 minutes from Norway's main airport. A hotel shuttle will bring you to and from the airport two/four times every hour. In 2014, we opened the congress center, The Qube, with a total capacity of 6.000 Persons and a total area of 13,000 m2. Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport has a Fitness and relax area. The Food is healthy and tasty, and we do not use palm oil. Welcome to Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oslo Airport
Clarion Gardermoen
Clarion Hotel Gardermoen
Gardermoen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.