We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get me out of here...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hans Gaarderveg 15, Gardermoen 2060, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Gardermoen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get me out of here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

...is the title of the Nordic Choice Hotels advertisement book found on the desk, and actually reflects my thoughts exactly.
We were placed here as part of flight delay. The rooms were ok. Surroundings borings. Major disappointment was the buffet we were given for dinner. Halfdried bread, pasta with terrible sauce, various cold dishes with poor levels of cuisine. One hot dish with bland tasting meatballs in nondescript orange sauce.
Rather surprising they did not use this opportunity to showcase their kitchen and thus advertise positively to potential new customers.
Impression now is just... get me out of here!
Hoping our plane will be repaired shortly...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear,

I am not glad to read about your experience and I really do appologize.

We allways trying to make sure everyone is more than satisfied and leaving the hotel with a great feeling. Regarding to your feedback about the buffet I will check this up asap too see if something was wrong that evening.

We really want you to come back to our hotel so we can show you we are much better than your latest experience. When you are coming back to Gardermoen, please contact us and we'll make sure that you are leaving us with another experience.

Best Regards,
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    72
    56
    17
    11
See reviews for
26
34
17
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Good service and nice rooms. Close to Airport and also Oslo. Easy to find. Nice bar and restaurant. Nice people in the resepsjon.Nice breakfast in a nice restaurant.Everything worked perfect at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear,

Thanks for the great feedback. It seems like just everything was as you wanted, that is the kind of feeling we allways want our guests to leave the hotel with.

Wish you a great summer,
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

It looks like a mid west motel, somewhere in Oklahoma perhaps? The shuttle bus charges you a ridiculous amount, the stench from a ton of fragrance candles in the entrance almost made me choke and made me wonder what they are trying to hide- I could probably have cleaned graffiti from a building with the shower head and the bed covers where probably really cool in 1985. The staff is friendly and doing their best of a miserable property, Clarion is supposed to be the better option when choosing between the Comfort and Clarion brands. The Comfort Runway hotel is just next door and some rooms offer a view of the runway which can be pretty cool. I would suggest you opt for Comfort if you fancy shuttle buses that charge you money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear,

We are glad that you been well taken care of by our service crew!

Regarding to your feedback about the property we are at the moment looking for options to paint the property to get a better first impression from our guest. We are allso working on a daily basis to improve our inside to get the best experience to our guests.

Thanks for you feedback and hopefully we will have you here one more time to prove that we are Gardermoens first choice!

Best Regards,
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta, Norway
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Service was very good, but the room was too hot, we didn't get much sleep with two small children 2 and 0 years. Tried to open window, but outside was to noisy with the tourist buses, and tourists and drivers shouting and laughing loudly. NOT recommended for families with small children.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear,

I am glad to read that you where satisfied with the service you got from our fantastic service crew.

I am not that glad to read about your almost sleepless night with your family. Regarding to the heat we are looking on a solution on this, we have rooms that are more customizable for familys and you should have been given one of those rooms.

We do appologize for this experience and want you to write and e-mail to: therese.barnstrom@choice.no so we can give you a good deal for your next visit at Gardermoen and show you our hotel from the right side.

Best Regards,
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Our room lacked the sofa bed our reservation stated we would have, and the best the front desk volunteered to do was bring in a cot which they then forgot to do. There was also a convention of truck drivers there who were so loud from 2-4am,despite our complaints to the front desk, that we gave up sleeping and ordered room service, which they didn't have the decency to comp us. The location next to the airport was great however and the food was exceptionally good, particularly the free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear,

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and your thoughts about our great location is music in our ears.

Regarding to the disturbing noise from the Event at the hotel this should not give you the experience that you had. We are so sorry for this. We are used to have both individual guests and big events and one of our strenghts is to combine this and give every single guest a good experience. I will check what happend this evening and why you have been disturbed.

Hope to see you here again so we can give you a great experience thru the whole visit.

Wish you a great Summer,
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Clarion Hotel Oslo Airport is a couple of kilometers away from airport arrival/departure hall, so you need to take shuttle bus, which leaves just outside of arrival hall and costs 75 NOK. Tickets can be bought from driver or from automate at bus stop. Bus schedule can be found from internet.
Hotel is U-shape 4 floor wooden building, so the room windows are facing each other or airport runways or other hotel next to that one.
As I have understood, there are regular and premium class room. As mine was business trip, I have stayed in regular double room, which was quite small, but clean and equipped with most important things. Hotel room met 3-star hotel standards, nothing fancy, but enough for conference stay. Positive: it was possible to open windows and even though airport was nearby, it wasn't noisy. Not so positive: During big events, music and noise can problem, as conference rooms occupy lower floor of the hotel. Also there were no decent toiletries in bathroom - again the the 'one-in-all' soap bottles on the wall.
Breakfast and lunch were great - lots of space, lots of options, excellent quality. Wifi was free and with OK quality. There are tracks for running and walking nearby - so good option for those who like to get some fresh air.
All in all, not bad option, but definitely not my favorite in Gardermoen area.

Room Tip: Right wing (from the entrance) might be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear,

Thank you for the positive and constructive feedback.

We are glad you enjoyed our breakfast and lunchbuffet and that you overall experience was good.

But we want to be great rather than good so your constructive feedback about the shampoo and noise from the bar will help us to be even better. Thanks for that!

Hopefully you'll try us out one more time so we can show you that we are the hotel who should be your number one at gardermoen.

Best Regards,
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bjorli, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Excellent facilities - rooms, food, conference facilities, the location but most of all - the staff.....the service they give and the entire attitude and way of putting the guest in the center - as a former hotel manager I can only say: This is top!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Therese C, Chef at Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi,

We really appreciate your feedback and we are glad that you liked our resturant and our location.

Hope to see you soon again.

Best Regards
Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport

Address: Hans Gaarderveg 15, Gardermoen 2060, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gardermoen
#3 Business Hotel in Gardermoen
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gardermoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Oslo Airport is one of the countries largest and leading conference hotels. The hotel has 432 comfortable rooms and suits. The hotel has a large restaurant and a bar. The hotel is located only 8 minutes from Norway's main airport. A hotel shuttle will bring you to and from the airport two/four times every hour. In 2014, we opened the congress center, The Qube, with a total capacity of 6.000 Persons and a total area of 13,000 m2. Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport has a Fitness and relax area. The Food is healthy and tasty, and we do not use palm oil. Welcome to Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Oslo Airport
Clarion Gardermoen
Clarion Hotel Gardermoen
Gardermoen Clarion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Congress Oslo Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.