We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emergency accommodation at the airport in Oslo” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Motel & Apartment

Airport Motel & Apartment
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Motel & Apartment to your Saves list
Airport Motel & Apartment
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tunvegen 3, Gardermoen 2060, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gardermoen
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Emergency accommodation at the airport in Oslo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Emergency accommodation at the airport in Oslo reminiscent workers hostel. Rooms small and austere, but clean. Compared to other prices, but very friendly. For quick sleep while waiting for the next fly is sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    21
    12
    10
See reviews for
12
13
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

This place is over-priced, fairly clean (carpets were clearly well-used), uncomfortable/old beds and pillows, and not cheap to get to via public transportation from the airport. The photos on Bookings.com make it look modern but it is not. Put it this way... it works but avoid it if you can. To be fair, the guy who checked us in was friendly and breakfast was good (clean there.)

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

I reserved at the Airport Motel because I had a flight leaving the following morning at 0610, so I had to be at the airport by 0500. Mission accomplished, but it was the most expensive hostel room in the world and not worth it.
The check in staff was terrific, everything else is not worth the high cost and inconvenience. It's expensive for the very simple and crumbling furniture in the room. It's not that clean either. I watch the cleaning guy come and basically be done with cleaning the room in just 2 minutes, not enough. Gardermoen is barely a village, more a cluster of airport motels and hotels without a supermarket or any entertainment, so if you want to do anything in Oslo don't stay here; instead, take the regular more reasonably priced NSB train and stay in Oslo. I was aware of the high local bus transportation cost and skipped it by walking. Surprisingly, walking is very doable with dedicated footpaths connecting all the way to and from the airport terminal.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk. The German check in clerk on daytime duty is kind, charming and smart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Sadly, I used Booking.com to make the reservation, but only because it wasn't on Trip Advisor. Having searched free WiFi and free breakfast in the morning, this place came up. It seemed efficient and close to the airport, so we would just go into downtown Oslo and look around. Because I didn't have a cell phone that worked in Norway, we were told to take a shuttle and it would drop us off. First off the S44 is the shuttle, but it costs 70NK for an adult. The 855 bus to Maura costs 30NK to take the city bus and it drops you pretty close. The shuttle drivers don't tell you about the cheaper costs, obviously. So after taking the expensive shuttle to inquire about the free WiFi and breakfast, even though I can see on my reservation it's that Wi-Fi is 70NK for 24 hours and 70NK per person to breakfast!! What a rip off. I will say the family rooms are pretty nice, there's a frig and there's a community kitchen with an oven and sunk to use. The bathroom are typical small Scandinavian bathroom. They do leave you sheets and comforter covers with pillows, 2 towels per person, but no wash cloths to wash your body. They do not apply any toiletries, so make sure to bring your own. The train is 170 NK for the express train into Oslo, takes about 25 mins or less, take the NBS train it costs 180NK and takes a little over a half hour, but I'm not really sure I understand the why the difference, however children under 16 years are free on all shuttles, buses and trains. There are better places to stay that offer free WiFi and free breakfast.....however if you're going to be visiting for a week or more and you want to cut costs by making your own food...then maybe this is the place for you and your family. I will say, I've never met ruder people than Norwegians. I will say, if you're female and you flash a smile you may very some sort of deal, but on the whole pushy, rude and not the friendliest of folks. Norway is super expensive and everything they can squeeze out of you they will! Nevermind they're one if the richest countries in the world with their oil drilling....you think they'd have money enough to allow visitors some deals, but sadly they over price everything there! Maybe backpacking with a tent I'd the cheaper way to go.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

the room was very basic for the price; there was an empty fridge, you had to make up the bed yourself, it was not cleaned on a daily basis, the room was very small for a twin room, so for 2 people it was ok if you want to sit on each other's lap all the time; only 1 chair while there were 2 beds

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingussie
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Our flight landed just before midnight and we were in time to catch the last bus from the airport to the motel. Don't even think of trying to walk despite the 70NKr fare each way. We checked-in very late (a positive) but found our room was cramped, with poor mattresses (sheets were clean and laundered) and iffy cleanliness and fittings.

Early the next morning I showered (flooded bathroom) and then had a cup of tea (another positive) before catching the bus back to the airport/railway station.

The room cost 600NKr- not very expensive for an airport motel in Norway but we had to add another 280NKr in bus fares. This takes the cost close to the price of other airport hotels.

The motel is just about OK for a very brief stopover but next time we will look at other, more expensive and closer, hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Motel & Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Motel & Apartment

Address: Tunvegen 3, Gardermoen 2060, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Ullensaker Municipality > Gardermoen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gardermoen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Motel & Apartment 2*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Airport Motel & Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Motel & Apartment, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.