We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dr. Holms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dr. Holms Hotel to your Saves list
Dr. Holms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Timrehaugveien 2, Geilo 3580, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Geilo
Lokeren
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

One of the best hotels I've ever experienced! Beautiful hotel room with impressive view; nice place, friendly people and delicious food!!!!!! A place to remember!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
37
53
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

There is NOTHING significantly interesting about Geilo in the Summer ..... if you are going to see the sights of Norway this location should be a 1 night stopover if you are looking for a good rest. Hiking is not scenic and no other Summer action is easily accessible.
The hotel is old, but well kept up and historic. The rooms are not real fancy, but are clean and well kept. Buffet food for breakfast and dinner are very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the front side of the hotel that faces the RR tracks that is 3rd floor or highe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We booked an independent Christmas holiday to Dr Holms and had a wonderful time from beginning to end of the experience.We found that the usual packages were too inflexible with dates and length of stay for what we needed, so decided to do it ourselves, and saved ourselves a lot of money in single room supplements, and were able to choose our own flight times, and how long we wanted to stay.Needless to say booking so far ahead meant that our plans changed unexpectedly, and the hotel were able to juggle our revised dates with no problem.

We booked early on in the year, and were guaranteed the 2010 price for our 2011 stay, and we booked the half board package over Christmas - a real bonus. We had also arranged our own flights to Bergen with the low cost Norwegian.com airline and train from there up to Geilo.

A lovely lady from the hotel met us at the station, and took us round to the hotel where we were checked in to double and single ensuite rooms on the 3rd floor. Both had views over the town and the Vestlia ski area so was rather nice. We had all our meals at "our" table in the restaurant and enjoyed 3 course dinners and a wonderful buffet breakfast each morning. We also had the fabulous Julbord dinner on Christmas Eve which pleased my seafood loving travelling companions no end.

The hotel was very comfortable - and the Christmas decorations were magnificent.

Skiing wise, my husband enjoyed trying out the cross country trails, and my daughter tried just about every alpine sport during her 5 one hour lessons... and like her dad is now a keen cross country skier. The Ski school was almost next door to the hotel with a full ski area to play with for the more experienced skier.

This was our second Chrismaas in Geilo - and it won't be our last. And Dr Holms will be our hotel of choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the hotel - the views are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

You feel at home at this hotel from the handshake at the reseption desk, all thru the bar to the fitness/spa center. With a location at the foot of the mountain range Hardangervidden you are tempted to engage in all sort of outdoor activity, but the view from the bar balcony urges you to stay put and let your eyes explore the valley.
This is a hotel with soul and history, and the peronell are part of it.
The small indoor pool and spa senter is cosy, even though the staff where unable to turn on the tyrkish bath, and gave no answers to whether one should wait og just give it up. And the spa is closed on sundays!
And the food at the restaurant Brasseriet is a disapointment. The fish is plat and liveless and there where no water with the wine. The local cheeses at the dessert meny where interessing, and are recomended. It surprises me that a high cost hotel serve coffee of this low standard. Bring your own.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I drove from Oslo to Bergen and we stopped along the way in Geilo. The hotel was charming and historic. We had booked a room in the "old" English-style wing. The room was comfortable, quiet and had a nice view over the valley. There are nice paintings in the hotel lobby and the dining room. Breakfast was very good, they had locally made organic cheese. The bar is full of memorabilia. There is a picture showing famous Austrian skier Günther Mader on his way to winning his 1st world cup slalom in Geilo on 2 March 1986. Also, it shows a picture of Italian Alberto Tomba winning the 1990 slalom.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Dr. Holms has become somewhat of an institution when it comes to mountain resorts in Geilo. From the outside it looks stunning, but on the inside it's like an old and worn labyrinthine experiment. The rooms differ dramatically in size, and mine was unfortunately tiny.

The restaurant was okay, and the staff was nice, but the food was hit and miss the three days I spent at the hotel.

The only unanimously positive thing about the experience was the wellness area that included a swimming pool, a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room.

I would think twice before staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The hotel is nicely looking outside, but inside it shows that the hotel is getting old.
It is a little worn done. Food in the diner is good, but a little deserted.
The spa is in desperate need of refurbisment. The spa has perhaps been a nice thing for the hotel, but a now close to being an embarssement.
The treatments at the spa is on the other hand very good.

Service in the reception was good, but a smile would not hurt.

Room Tip: Going to stay at Vestlia next time..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dr. Holms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dr. Holms Hotel

Address: Timrehaugveien 2, Geilo 3580, Norway
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Buskerud > Hol Municipality > Geilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Geilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dr. Holms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dr Holms Hotel - for your comfort and well-being. Dr Holms Hotel has been a source of recuperation, comfort and well-being since the beginning of the 20th century. Dr Holms is situated in the heart of the beautiful mountain scenery, and is a starting point for inspiring and exciting adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dr. Holms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dr Holms Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dr. Holms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.