We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money in a lovley setting. Huge rooms, very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lighthouse Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Lighthouse Inn to your Saves list
The Lighthouse Inn
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   111 Old Dover Road, Capel-le-Ferne CT18 7HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money in a lovley setting. Huge rooms, very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with a family of six before we sailed from Dover to Calais. Enjoyed one huge clean, bright room. Very comfortable bed. Everything brand new. We were so glad that we didn't just go for the Premier Inn in Dover. This place has something very special about it. For a large family looking for value, good quality and a warm welcome I can't think of anywhere we have stayed for better value. Its so much nicer here than in run down Dover and only five mins away. We note the other more negative reviews one of which states that it felt like it was perhaps not ready to open. We stayed in August, and by the time we stayed everything was up and running well. - Did I mention the huge bathroom? Also its a lovely old house, but nothing creepy about it. We would stay again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife an I stayed at the Lighthouse Inn for 2 nights in June. We were greeted by a very nice young lady behind the bar, who then showed us to our room. We had a double room with an en suite and could tell that the room had been recently decorated. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable, we even had a very nice TV in the room.
The first evening we dined in the restaurant, I had a steak and my wife had fish and chips, both meals were absolutely delicious and we both had plenty of food. We originally thought about dining out on our second night but loved the food so much we dined in the restaurant both nights.
The staff were very polite and helpful, offering help with directions and ideas for what to do during our stay.
All in all we had a fantastic weekend and have already booked to come back on our wedding anniversary in September.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Having booked the Inn based on internet pictures and description we were terribly disappointed by our stay. Having driven over 300 miles we were welcomed with conflict and hostility when the hotel had made a booking error and called us liars when we challenged them on their error. The rooms were basic, didn't have fitted showers and were really in need of a make over. I was so disappointed that I wouldn't stay there again if the management offered me an £85 refund to come back to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel is not what it appears on the Internet description. Service from the management was unwelcoming, bordering on rude. Food was average at best and overpriced. Breakfast didn't even include fresh fruit or coffee. The hot water wasn't reliable. We got the impression that the hotel just wasn't ready for business, despite this visit being mid June.
And it wasn't cheap either!

Room Tip: Folkestone is full of hotels. In fact the management even suggested we check out the Holiday Inn as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lighthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lighthouse Inn

Address: 111 Old Dover Road, Capel-le-Ferne CT18 7HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Capel-le-Ferne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Capel-le-Ferne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lighthouse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lighthouse Inn near Folkestone in Kent is located on top of the White Cliffs of Dover in the picturesque village of Capel-le-Ferne. From the hotel's windows you have stunning views of the English Channel and the surrounding Kent countryside. The Channel Tunnel - the undersea rail tunnel linking Folkestone and the French city of Coquelles near Calais and the Port of Dover are nearby. The family run business welcomes you with its comfortable rooms, friendly staff, home cooked English food and a bar featuring a wide selection of beers, international and award winning local wines, many brands of whiskeys and malts, as well as an extensive selection of champagnes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Lighthouse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lighthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.