We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
New Dover Road, Capel-le-Ferne CT18 7HY, England
01303 244787
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a great place. Lovely friendly staff and fantastic well portioned food. Good old fashioned pub with small friendly bar and tables to eat at at the back. Definitely going back for more. Loved it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    8
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Called in this lunchtime and chose 2X beef pie. The menue said it may take a while as the meals would be freshly made. However when it came and we dug under the pastry for the meat, it was actually cold,the next piece was very hot. This suggests that it was in fact microwaved as the gravy was very hot. Needless to say we left the meat, ate the veg and left. we did not say anything and at no time did any off the staff ask us if we were enjoying it! Very disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

If you are looking for a nice friendly pub, not too large which serves good homely food at fantastic prices, then you should look no further than the Royal Oak in Capel-le-Ferne. Where else could you get a good lunch for £2.25 and dessert for £1.25 on a Monday or Tuesday? Even on a Wednesday lunchtime you can get an 8oz rump steak and trimmings for £4.99. Then there are the themed nights like Thai and Spanish, all this and a great choice of reasonably price beers....you can't beat it!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

my wife and i had our first meal here and we will be back. the steak was cooked to perfection and the plate was well filled with chips, peas, tomatoes and mushrooms, and the sweet choice was good as well. Lunches monday and tuesday are only £2.25. and £3.99 other days and sunday carvery from £5.95. the staff were so friendy and the customers were as well . drinks are good value for money. good car parking and easy to find makes it all worth while. they have special nights coming up so call to find out and they will be happy to help you. we were told by a few people to go there and glad we did, you will not be disappointed. 10 out of 10 from us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Recommend to all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely visit. Great food, Great Value, Great atmosphere. The staff were really helpful. The place was busy but not once did we feel unwelcome. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Capel-le-Ferne, Kent
Capel-le-Ferne, Kent
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.